We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fun for fishing but watch out for hidden charges”
Review of Zauo Shinjuku

Zauo Shinjuku
Ranked #35 of 1,820 Restaurants in Nishishinjuku
Price range: $26 - $44
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Shinjuku / Nakano / Suginami
Description: 『 Let's enjoy fishing 』 Fished by yourself is an exceptional taste. Still eat fish fishermen landed on the ship! It is a restaurant you can experience such presence! If you catch the fish yourself, it's cheaper!? We can fish for our own fish and eat it fresh at a discount price. We hope you will use this system to enjoy fishing and eating fresh, flavorful fish!
Reviewed February 7, 2019

Fishing is fun, food is good and the atmosphere is charged. Great place to go with friends or kids, especially when you can sit on the boat.

Just watch out, while it says fishingrods are free and you only pay for the bait (which we didnt use at all) they still added 3 X 100Y + tax to our bill and we had to push back to get it removed - not a lot of money considering how much you pay for food there but leaving a bad aftertaste nevertheless.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JonasTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 26 of 287 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2018 via mobile

Kids gonna love fishing their own food. Traveler should reserve the boat seating area for kids to fully enjoy the fishing experience. Fish the Silver Sea Bream and have them prepare each fish in 2 ways of your choice. Our children fished 2 Sea Bream and we had them prepare sashimi, grill and congee, it’s wonderfully delicious. We also had lobster sashimi and grill spiny snail.

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank Vargas20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2018 via mobile

We were here for the fun of catching our own fish for dinner. I was skeptical that we ever can get our dinner on time was we are so late when arriving at the Resturant. We have 3 ways to cook the sea bream fish - Half half sashimi and gilled, also a miso fish head.
It was fun and we have a good sake toast too.

Date of visit: December 2018
2  Thank PamelaCheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2018

For a fun food experience, Zauo is a place to check out. You can order a la carte menu items or choose to fish for your food. They have special packages in which you purchase a number of tickets. The type of fish you want to catch will cost a certain number of tickets. You let one of the staff know, they will collect your tickets, and you go fish in the designated spot. If you catch a fish, you can't throw it back, so if you snag a more expensive type fish than anticipated, you have to pay for it. This isn't too much of a concern since the staff is really helpful in making sure you only hook the type of fish you paid for (they use nets to steer the fish in certain directions, etc.). Also, there aren't that many varieties to choose from, and they are all separated in the tank by sections. Once you have your fish, you can choose to either have it grilled, sashimi, sushi, boiled, and/or tempura style. From catching to cooking, it may take about half an hour to almost an hour, depending on how fast you can hook a fish.

My husband and I went during the weekday for a late lunch, so the place was not very busy. The staff was generally courteous and friendly, although there were one or two members who looked really out of it and didn't smile once. I ordered an a la carte seafood hot pot, and my husband tried out the fishing option, which came with the fish cooked to his taste along with sides of udon soup, a bit of tempura, a few slices of sushi, and a bowl of rice. Altogether, our bill came out to about $50USD. Overall, give this place a try if you are looking for something fun to do for your meal in Shinjuku!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JN0128
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2018 via mobile

Had such high hopes for Zauo but was extremely disappointed. The fishing is really not fishing - you are expected to foul hook fish trapped in small baskets. The quality of the cooking was poor. The tempura was not thin and crispy, it was more of a standard batter. We had 4 mackerel and 1 sea bream and they were all disappointing in taste. Lots off food provided but all not enjoyable. Was supposed to be a highlight of our trip but turned out to be the worst. Would not recommend !!

Date of visit: November 2018
3  Thank NelsonTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zauo Shinjuku also viewed

 
Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku
 

Been to Zauo Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.