We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$47
View deal
Booking.com
$57
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/28/21
Agoda.com
$44
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/30/21
Hotels.com$47
Priceline$51
getaroom.com$71
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,006)
Filter reviews
2,006 results
Traveler rating
543
972
346
82
63
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
543
972
346
82
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar love hotels the club lounge the red light district golden gai economy room minute walk walking distance small room modern hotel train station other hotels robot restaurant never felt unsafe late at night on the small side convenient location
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 2,006 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2019

We stayed in a standard double in August. The room was fine- cosy, but big enough for two of us and all our luggage. The aircon was excellent- if anything a bit too cold. We didn’t have amazing views on the sixth floor, but they were good enough. The big plus of Granbell is the rooftop bar, and we frequented it for local beer and cocktails every night. This is where you can get your views :)

Breakfast was fine, Spaghetti and noodles were excellent.

If I came back to Shinjuku, I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Victoria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shinjuku-granbell, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Shinjuku Granbell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2019

Dear Mr./Ms. Victoria T

Thank you for many positive review during your stay.
All the staffs are happy to hear it.
The view from the restaurant on 12F or from the bar on 13F is very popular among the guests.
I am relieved to hear that you could enjoy the time there.
We keep doing our best to be able to provide better service.
I hope that you will choose Shinjuku Granbell Hotel again and
I am looking forward to seeing you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2019

We got the basic room so it was expectedly small, cramped even. Though we didn't really mind as we're out exploring almost the entire day and would only return to our room to shower and sleep. On the upside, the room is kept immaculately clean and we always get a fresh supply of towels, pajamas, toiletries, and water. The wifi is good and accessible everywhere in the hotel. The downside, I feel, is the breakfast spread which is by no means impressive. I thought it was rather basic and you'd find better options outside. And you will because the location is super convenient - there's a ton of restaurants and cafes in the area and walking distance to the Shinjuku train station. Speaking of location, one would actually say that it's kind of a red light area as there are short-time hotels (love motels) nearby and some night clubs, too. But despite that, you don't really feel unsafe. Not at all. We went up the rooftop bar which gives you an awesome view of the urban landscape below, but sadly, we find the cocktail drinks not up to par. The hotel staff is friendly and accommodating and there is a brochure/magazine stand at the lobby where you can get maps, leaflets, and magazines to help you navigate the city, especially if visiting for the first time. Also, they have a currency converter cash machine (I dunno what it's called, okay? hahaha) at the lobby where you can exchange your foreign currency with JPN yen if you are ever in need of quick cash. Though there's ATM aplenty located inside the Family Marts and 7-11s in the area, so withdrawing cash is also not a problem.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrsvickyaltaie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shinjuku-granbell, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Shinjuku Granbell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2019

Dear Mr./Ms. mrsvickyaltaie

Thank you for a lot of positive review.
All the staffs are happy to hear it.
As you pointed out, though this hotel is surrounded by red area, this location is very quiet and very convenient to go to the metropolitan area for sightseeing.
As for breakfast, since precious opinion has been given by you, it will be used to improve the menu.
We keep doing our best to be able to provide better service.
I hope that you will choose Shinjuku Granbell Hotel again and I am looking forward to supporting your trip in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2019

Very good hotel. I think the price is really high. The breakfast was very good for salty thinks, less for sweet (in short, just small croissants and two jams). You'll do breakfast with love songs so that after you'll want to go to bed again. They have two old washing machines and one almost broken dryer, all inside a really really hot room. For that price I was expecting much more attention to details.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Maps694349
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shinjuku-granbell, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Shinjuku Granbell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2019

Dear Mr./Ms. Maps694349

Thank you for a lot of positive review.
As for menu of breakfast and for washing/dryer machines, improvement will be considered to be able to respond your expectation based on your precious opinion.
I hope that you will choose Shinjuku Granbell Hotel again and I am looking forward to seeing you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2019 via mobile

Travelling around Japan and this was our first stop. Was disappointed by the room on arrival as it was unbelievably small. Information on our itinerary from our travel agent described the room as superior double and I would say that was not right. Rooms was comfortable clean and tidy however. Staff were a little abrupt and not as friendly as I’ve found in other places and hotels across Japan so far. Never asked if we needed anything or any questions. Did not like that the bathroom was frosted glass facing onto the room when using the toilet in the night when the light came on it shone into the bedroom and woke disturbed my partner. Not sure what it’s not just a wall to save this. Ok for a few nights but couldn’t have coped with longer as too small. Probably wouldn’t stay here again when we return. Area is not the best pet of Tokyo. If you approach the hotel from the front at night lots of people trying to get you into bars. Coming from behind you avoided this.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank AdamSte
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shinjuku-granbell, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Shinjuku Granbell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2019

Dear Mr./Ms. AdamSte

Thank you for the review during your stay.
There are many room types in this hotel. Since there are also bigger rooms, please refer to the hotel official website when you consider of staying here next time.
To become a hotel where be able to respond the expectation, all the staffs keep doing their best.
I appreciate your consideration.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2019

The staff here are despicable.
They overcharged us by $250 AUD, we continuously had to tell them and the man on reception was so arrogant, argumentative and rude, until we got booking.com on the phone to his manager.
He demanded we pay $600AUD and he would refund the $850AUD in full. 10 days later we have paid both and still not had the $850 refunded. We’ve emailed and called every single day and had no response.
DO NOT STAY HERE.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
3  Thank laurynwood51
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shinjuku-granbell, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Shinjuku Granbell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2019

Dear Mr./Ms. laurynwood51

Thank you for the review during your stay.
I am very sorry for not being provided you a comfortable time here.
Since you made the reservation after check in one more time, you might have been given a false impression that you were charged too much. However, the refund procedure has been completed, please wait a little bit.
In addition, I responded to your e-mail. Did you not received it?
In this case, I will re-send it.
To become a hotel which can respond the expectation of the guests, all the staffs keep doing their best.
I appreciate your consideration.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews