We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$57
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/29/21
Expedia.com
$60
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/30/21
FindHotel
$43
View deal
Hotels.com$60
Priceline$51
getaroom.com$70
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,007)
Filter reviews
2,006 results
Traveler rating
543
972
346
82
63
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
543
972
346
82
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar love hotels the club lounge the red light district golden gai economy room minute walk walking distance small room modern hotel train station other hotels robot restaurant never felt unsafe late at night on the small side convenient location
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 2,006 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2019 via mobile

Travelling around Japan and this was our first stop. Was disappointed by the room on arrival as it was unbelievably small. Information on our itinerary from our travel agent described the room as superior double and I would say that was not right. Rooms was comfortable clean and tidy however. Staff were a little abrupt and not as friendly as I’ve found in other places and hotels across Japan so far. Never asked if we needed anything or any questions. Did not like that the bathroom was frosted glass facing onto the room when using the toilet in the night when the light came on it shone into the bedroom and woke disturbed my partner. Not sure what it’s not just a wall to save this. Ok for a few nights but couldn’t have coped with longer as too small. Probably wouldn’t stay here again when we return. Area is not the best pet of Tokyo. If you approach the hotel from the front at night lots of people trying to get you into bars. Coming from behind you avoided this.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank AdamSte
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shinjuku-granbell, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Shinjuku Granbell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2019

Dear Mr./Ms. AdamSte

Thank you for the review during your stay.
There are many room types in this hotel. Since there are also bigger rooms, please refer to the hotel official website when you consider of staying here next time.
To become a hotel where be able to respond the expectation, all the staffs keep doing their best.
I appreciate your consideration.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2019

The staff here are despicable.
They overcharged us by $250 AUD, we continuously had to tell them and the man on reception was so arrogant, argumentative and rude, until we got booking.com on the phone to his manager.
He demanded we pay $600AUD and he would refund the $850AUD in full. 10 days later we have paid both and still not had the $850 refunded. We’ve emailed and called every single day and had no response.
DO NOT STAY HERE.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
3  Thank laurynwood51
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shinjuku-granbell, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Shinjuku Granbell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2019

Dear Mr./Ms. laurynwood51

Thank you for the review during your stay.
I am very sorry for not being provided you a comfortable time here.
Since you made the reservation after check in one more time, you might have been given a false impression that you were charged too much. However, the refund procedure has been completed, please wait a little bit.
In addition, I responded to your e-mail. Did you not received it?
In this case, I will re-send it.
To become a hotel which can respond the expectation of the guests, all the staffs keep doing their best.
I appreciate your consideration.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2019 via mobile

Staying in Shinjuku most lively part of Tokyo. Well located hotel with relatively big room - for standard in Tokyo. Not in the main road and only few minutes from metro station in quiet part. English speaking staff. Surrounded by many restaurants, entertainment places, karaoke bars and shopping options.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank Tomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shinjuku-granbell, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Shinjuku Granbell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2019

Dear Mr./Ms. 543tomasg

Thank you for a lot of positive review.
All the staffs are happy to hear it and it very encourages us
As you said, this location has excellent access to metropolitan are. In addition, there is less noise and it is nice place to have relaxed sleep. Many people evaluates that point.
All the staffs keep doing their best to be able to provide better service.
I hope that you will choose Shinjuku Granbell Hotel again and I am looking forward to seeing you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2019 via mobile

This hotel was reasonably comfortable for the week that I stayed there. I was in an economy single which was obviously small which I had expected. The only issue there was I was not able to open my suitcase unless I put it on the bed. I was travelling with family but had my own room and the hotel was able to accommodate us all to be in rooms close together. Pretty clean however the decor was a little bit worn/outdated but not bad. The location was convenient being only a short walk from underground and metro stations. It was also easy to find great places to eat, not far from the hotel. I didn’t realise before booking that this hotel was in the “red light district” of Shinjuku, however it was not really an issue, didn’t not seem unsafe, only kind of seedy and some of the streets were obviously less than picturesque. Overall I was happy with the hotel and found the price to be fairly reasonable for my experience with the hotel.

Date of stay: July 2019
Thank victoriakcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shinjuku-granbell, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Shinjuku Granbell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2019

Dear Mr./Ms. victoriakcg

Thank you for many positive review.
All the staffs are happy to hear it.
In this hotel, not only small rooms, there are many type of rooms including big rooms.
Please refer to the pictures on the hotel official website.
To be able to become a hotel where all the guests can satisfy with, all the staffs keep doing their best. I appreciate your consideration.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2019 via mobile

Hotel is located in one of the best spots in shinjuku, with the golden Gai bar district only a few minutes walk away and the hotel being centrally located within a short walk to busy shopping districts and great food. Hotel is clean, rooms are good value for money and buffet breakfast with good selection of American/Asian food. Hotel lobby staff could be a little more accommodating but other than that would definitely stay again. Was not any issue being close to many love hotels in the area - wouldn’t really call it a “red light district” as never saw any workers etc.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 981ashleel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shinjuku-granbell, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Shinjuku Granbell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2019

Dear Mr./Ms. 981ashleel

Thank you for many positive review.
All the staffs are happy to hear it.
As you said, this location has an excellent access to the metropolitan area. On the other hand, there is less noise and you can have a quiet rest. This is the point which many persons evaluate.
All the staffs keep doing their best to be able to provide better service.
I hope that you will choose Shinjuku Granbell Hotel again and I am looking forward to seeing you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews