We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Google
Ways to Experience Shinjuku Golden Gai
from $102.03
More Info
from $186.35
More Info
from $17.90
More Info
from $77.05
More Info
Reviews (2,224)
Filter reviews
2,224 results
Traveler rating
982
754
365
87
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
982
754
365
87
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tiny bars cover charge narrow streets most places bar hopping walk around night life fun night tourists drinking tokyo yen nightlife district sake
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,240 - 1,245 of 2,224 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Just my favorite place ever! Drinks, cute little bars and fun to discover new places. This is the perfect place to start an evening!

Date of experience: August 2013
Thank Elin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

This area is one of the only parts of Tokyo that is not completely "modernized". It is charming, and worth a visit just to walk around and peek into the tiny bars even if you don't drink or you have children. We looked for bars without cover charges, and went to two. One was clean and modern inside, and we had draft Kirin beers ($8/each). The other was Rock & Roll themed with concert memorabilia and classic concerts on the TVs. We had a homemade tea-flavored sake and a homemade plum wine (all drinks are $7). Both drinks were good. We also enjoyed short chats with both of the bartender/owners, who were very nice and welcoming. The highlight of our night was a stop for ramen just down the road! Ask the bartenders for recommendations (which they will happily provide), or look for the place with the longest line!

Date of experience: July 2014
Thank Alissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This alleyway of bars is worth a visit to check out the culture and drink with the locals. Some have a cover charge so beware.

Date of experience: June 2014
Thank Tania T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stumbled across this area in shinjuku and loved it. It's a block of narrow streets crowded with shop fronts that have been turned into tiny bars. Each has its own theme from jazz to hard rock. Some enforce a cover charge but others are free. It's an interesting place for a drink.

Date of experience: July 2014
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Loved these streets with their 200+ tiny bars all stacked on top of one another. We very nearly missed it but a friend of ours took us the night before we flew home. It's kind of intimidating, but you just need to be brave and walk in your chosen bar. Most of them seem to have cover charges of about 1000 yen, but this is understandable considering how small they are (they couldn't survive if groups of tourists just came to nurse a solitary beer for 4 hours....). Make sure you pick one that looks like it welcomes foreigners, as some prefer locals or Japanese speakers due to their regular clients. We started with a great bar - it had a "welcome foreigners" sign outside which clinched it for us, and was New Mexico themed. The proprietor had excellent english and we had a good chat over a few beers. Then we headed to Bar Bran, which is upstairs on one of the outer most streets, and has cats your you to admire if you pay the 1000yen per head cover charge. Drinks aren't cheap, but you're paying for a unique experience, and we were offered snacks for free. We ended up drinking whiskey with a salaryman who wanted to practise his english, which was an awesome experience!

Date of experience: June 2014
6  Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews