We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
$63
View deal
Booking.com$79
Hotels.com$63
Priceline$63
eDreams$79
travelup.com$86
FindHotel$64
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,593)
Filter reviews
2,593 results
Traveler rating
973
1,302
254
49
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
973
1,302
254
49
15
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,506 - 1,511 of 2,593 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Had a great experience at Best Western Shinjuku Astina Hotel in Tokyo. Great Service! The entire staff were very welcoming and accommodating to our every need. Would not mind staying at this hotel again.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connector402676
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights, sept 30th to Oct 3rd, at the beginning of our 21 day Asia trip!!! Great hotel!!! Location was convenient for the metro and airport bus limo and it was bustling all the time but rooms were small and quiet.

As mentioned before, area is a bit shady and we were uncomfortable sometimes with the people hanging out at bars on the same street trying to get us to go into their establishment.

Would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YOW88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Thank you for invited me to share my feeling for this hotel.

As we are the first time to visit Tokoy, your staff ,specifically Yuko,are very kind and polite.

Yuko introduced the transportation methods with website and suggestion to us before we arrived Tokyo. She makes my plan more easily.

Besides, the room, toilet(3/F) and restaurant (3/F) are very cleanliness and tiny.

Thank you for make us have a confortable resting place.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Excursion400598
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Best Western Shinjuku Astina in Kabukicho-1 wins the most points for its location, roughly 8 minutes' walk from the central transit hub of Tokyo. Although the neighborhood is a combination of London's Soho and Victoria areas, in Tokyo this brings all of the good and none of the bad.

The hotel is adequate if no-frills. The "Executive Lounge" is one long meeting table with 8 chairs and a free coffee maker; there is no business center, gym, pool, or spa. The television has one channel in English (CNN), and an unnecessarily complicated pay-TV system. Make no mistake: the hotel is squarely a Best Western (not Plus or Premier, either!), but it is perfectly 3-star.

The worst part of our stay experience was the hotel restaurant, Stella. We had both daily breakfast buffet (included in the room rate) and lunch buffet there, and they were borderline-disgusting. I had to force myself to find something nutritious each day, and was grateful that previous visits to Japan had given me a taste for miso soup and rice in the morning! I would have preferred to have the money for breakfast back in my pocket and purchase from the 24-hour convenience store on the ground floor -- which is exactly what we did.

The hotel has a convoluted system (designed to keep the cash in its account) whereby unused breakfast tokens can be used for JPY1000 off the lunch buffet (JPY1500, also not worth eating) or JPY1000 towards a purchase from the souvenir curio cabinet or JPY500 in the downstairs store. Skipping a day's maid service also gives you a JPY500 Best Western voucher that can only be used in the Shinjuku Astina towards lunch or tchotchkes, as above. Given that major Western chains (including other Best Western properties) compensate guests with cash off the bill or loyalty program points, this voucher system is unacceptable.

As expected in Japan, the staff are friendly and capable; collectively, their English-language skills are good (although individual variation is huge). They were essential to making the stay run smoothly.

For another stay in Tokyo at this price point, I wouldn't hesitate to book the Best Western Shinjuku Astina.

Room tip: The rooms have excellent "wet rooms", i.e., a shower and tub in a glass-enclosed area; we loved this! Otherwise, there is more space than one would expect in Japan. The view from the top floors was fantastic, and the noise minimal if any.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mov1ngMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I've visited Shinjuku a number of times, but this was the first time I stayed at this hotel, which opened just a few years ago. The price was better than most similar hotels in this area, so I chose it based on its high rating on Tripadvisor. I was very pleased. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean, the bathroom has everything you need, and the bed is very comfortable. The rooms are small by western standards, but this is Tokyo after all! The included breakfast had both Japanese and Western items, and was nothing fancy, but perfectly fine. And best of all, the hotel is located just a short walk from Shinjuku station, making it easy to get to/from Narita airport on the Narita Express train. And it is even closer to the nearest Metro station. As some other reviewers noted, the hotel is located in Kabukicho, which is the "entertainment" district. So you will occasionally get offered "services" as you walk on the street. But this is a minor inconvenience, and should not dissuade anyone from choosing this hotel. (There's a lovely path along the back side of the hotel, which takes you directly to Yasukini-dori, if you want to avoid the commercial scene.) I would higly recommend this hotel if you want a great value for a central Tokyo location.

Room tip: The rooms facing the main street will be a bit noisier, particularly on weekends. But the double pane windows keep it to a minimum. You can request a room on the back side if you want a quieter room.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank benz37
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews