We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not only Chef Nakazawa”
Review of Sushisho

Sushisho
Ranked #4 of 434 Restaurants in Yotsuya
Price range: $6 - $19
Neighborhood: Shinjuku / Nakano / Suginami
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Shinjuku / Nakano / Suginami
Reviewed May 14, 2017

Sushi Sho had 2 sushi bar areas. I've had dinner at both. Once with Chef Nakazawa preparing the sushi and another in the smaller bar area that sits 5 - its more cozy and relaxed. There is another Chef that works with Chef Nakazawa at Sushi Sho, and he also owns his own 2 Michelin stared sushi restaurant in Tokyo. So you have at least 2 star sushi chefs here.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank inuwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 39 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2017 via mobile

It was the first time that I was having chirashi, so I don't have anything to compare it with. But the bowl of rice and sea goodies was delicious. I went there with a Japanese friend who hadn't been there herself. In her experience their food was apparently really good and fresh. The staff were super nice. The atmosphere was cute and cozy. I highly recommend for a different kind of Japanese cuisine experience.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank golalF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 5, 2017

Went there for the 2k lunch. Good but nothing outstanding from service to food. Taste is mild from raw fish, rice to soup. Like Kansai style. Tea is piping hot and taste is very mild too which is no good. They make reservation in 30 minutes slot. Good enough in a fast food mood lunch. Considering to book for dinner to see if overall experience could be better.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pumpkinkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 17, 2016

I must say it was a bit of a surprise to me when my husband said we were going to have Chirashi for lunch and it was going to be at 11:30am and we should not be late.....Apparently it is really difficult to make reservations at this place for lunch and we were told there's only one thing that we could have on the menu that we could order...and that was Chirashi.

Anyway, we went, and the place was a bit difficult to spot (like many other Japanese restaurants). In fact, we walked past a small queue of people in front of what looked like a house, then a minute later we realised these people were waiting for Sushi sho to open. So we queued up as well, and one of the wait staff came out to make sure the people in the queue had reservations. He turned away a guy who did not have reservations (the wait staff was nice and polite though--poor guy though).

We then sat down at the bar---did not have to order anything as ALL THE PEOPLE were just waiting for their Chirashi (it was a bit funny honestly).

The food came, and the rice bowl had so many different types of seafood---tuna, shrimp, octopus, abalone, tuna, sea bream, mackerel, sea urchin, and many other ingredients--all seasoned already I believe. One of the patrons asked the chef how many kinds of fish in the bowl and the chef explained that there were 35 different things (my goodness!!). Aside form looking impressive, the taste was really quite amazing--definitely enough flavour and variety. There was also a small plate of pickles and a bowl of clam soup that came with the meal, so with a 2000 yen price tag, it was a bargain!!

Most impressive Chirashi I have ever had!!

Date of visit: October 2016
3  Thank teresalU107CC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 5, 2016

Chef Nakazawa has departed (to USA) but the food continues to impress. One of the toughest reservations in the city and very Japanese (apparently they turned down the Michelin Stars). Fish as fresh as Jiro or any others. Reminder that Lunchtime is purely Sushibowl. Pricing for dinner in the $200 range and lunch so reasonable at $20. Good luck and enjoy!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank LHOVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Sushisho also viewed

 

Been to Sushisho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.