We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A Maction Hat-trick

On my Tokyo trip this November I once again looked up Mac from Maction Planet to show me some parts... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Dave S
,
London, England, United Kingdom
Book Mac for as many days as possible in Japan - RIGHT NOW!

We travel A LOT (over 75 countries) but I have never felt the need to write a TripAdvisor review... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Runeverday
Read all 177 reviews
  
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveler rating
177
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
177
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews his knowledge baseball game tour guide ramen other companies golden gai his passion purification ceremony dietary restrictions an amazing trip personalized itinerary speaks fluent japanese sensoji temple japanese culture deep dive japanese baseball hole in the wall
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 177 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2018

My experience with Mac was wonderful and so worth it. His knowledge, professionalism and passion for Tokyo is fascinating.
We went to a baseball game with Mac and it was the best baseball game I have ever been to. Mac's enthusiasm is contagious and we had so much fun that night. Highly recommended. I would give 6 stars if I could. Absolutely amazing.

Date of experience: May 2018
5  Thank Danielaoliveirasilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2018

Mac is an amazing tour guide. Forget about a pre-made, cookie cutter tour. Mac creates a custom tour based on your interests and wish list. His passion for Japan shines through which makes the trip interesting from start to finish. Throw in his British wit and you'll be entertained the whole time you're with him. We ended our day at a baseball game among his crew of dedicated friends. The highlight of the day. Can't recommend Mac enough.

Date of experience: April 2018
4  Thank DownUnderD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2018

If you're like me, you are probably thinking you need to book a native guide who grew up in Tokyo to share all the excitement and culture of his or her home town. But Mac offers something even better. The obsession that only a non-native can bring! Things that a local guide might find routine (but that would be fascinating to us westerners) are never missed by superb guide Mac. You can feel Mac's passion for Tokyo and Japanese culture, and that passion is contagious! Mac goes above and beyond before, during, and after his tours. His follow up with advice and contact info for things I wanted to do after the tour was second to none. Forget the stiff, boring other options.. Mac is going to show you his city with the kind of zeal that brings it to life in an unforgettable way!

Date of experience: August 2017
6  Thank SFRosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2018 via mobile

After two days with Mac guiding us all around Tokyo, I think he achieved his goal of convincing us that Tokyo is the greatest city in the world. Knowledge, humor, professionalism, baseball fanatacism: Mac comes with all of it. Our time together was a perfect mix of the top sights, the historical context, the culture, the hidden gems, the once-in-a-lifetime experiences. At the end of our time with Mac, we didn't want him to go away so we had him stay with us a little longer for some expert guidance in sake sampling. Sure, there are other Tokyo tours and tour companies and you'll probably have an OK time with them. But if you really want to experience Tokyo with a passionate local guide, go with Mac. If you're lucky, you'll get to experience a Swallows baseball game with him. :-)

Date of experience: May 2018
6  Thank Jennifur85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2018 via mobile

Previous reviews have said it all about Mac’s Tokyo guiding prowess.
My reasons for choosing Mac and the subsequent experience can be summed up as –
Very helpful and prompt in setting up the tour.
Understood our brief perfectly – we had only a day for the tour so wanted it to give us an understanding of Japanese culture, not just the touristy sights.
Catered to our specific requests – proper tea ceremony with a tea mistress who explained what she was doing, through an interpreter (Yaya who also does Mac's photography tours), ceramics exhibition, parks, shrines, street food, Tokyo's best Ramen shop and as we moved around, explanations about how things work in Japan and why.
Mac is very easy to relate to and picked up on each our four travellers’ interests.
Mac obviously did a lot of preparatory work most evident in our visit to the Tokyo National Museum where we heard about the history of the people and their art, especially our interest, Raku ceramics. Mac was able to answer all our questions including those we didn't know to ask!
Thank you Mac and Yaya – our little group got a feel for Tokyo in a very short space of time and really enjoyed your company.

Date of experience: May 2018
6  Thank LongPaddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews