We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The B Akasaka(Akasaka)
$88
$66
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of $98/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$109
$75
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$143
$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
HOTEL MYSTAYS PREMIER Akasaka(Akasaka)(Great Value!)
$106
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $101/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$43
$34
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Nine Hours Akasaka(Akasaka)(Great Value!)
$50
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$1,268
$470
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $593/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Asia Center of Japan(Minato)(Great Value!)
$76
$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (626)
Filter reviews
626 results
Traveler rating
182
348
78
11
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
348
78
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsminute walksubway stationcanadian embassydouble roomnice hotelnew otaniquiet at nightginza linehotel roomjapanese hotelsair purifierbars and restaurantsbed was very comfortablebusiness districtlimousine busdecent sizefree internet
Filter
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 626 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed recently at the Hotel Monterey in Akasaka. We were forewarned of the smallness of the room so it did not come as quite the shock that it would have. We found the hotel to be quite comfortable. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The location is not far from the subway station where the trains will take you to anywhere in Tokyo at very little cost. Lots of bars and cafes in the area but be careful of the "Table Charge" - a cost for just sitting at one of the tables in some cafes - a total rip-off.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikejordan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monakasaka, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Akasaka, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2015

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We greatly appreciate your positive comments on the Hotel Monterey AKASAKA and are pleased to know that you enjoyed staying with us.
Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back again soon on your next visit to Tokyo.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

A lovely business hotel. Absolutely gorgeous breakfast buffet. Lovely service. Bit out of the way of everything though. Great room and a nice desk to work at. They had a couple if weddings there, the foyer is really nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monakasaka, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Akasaka, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2015

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We greatly appreciate your positive comments on the Hotel Monterey AKASAKA and are pleased to know that you enjoyed staying with us.
Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back again soon on your next visit to Tokyo.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights last weekend and we were very pleased with our choice of hotel. Choosing a hotel in central Tokyo can be a daunting task but we felt that we made a good choice with this hotel. It is located just a short, slightly uphill walk from Akasaka metro station. We had booked a standard double room but on arrival were offered the oportunity to upgrade to a queen size bed for a small extra cost. That was one of the best decisions we made. The room was still small but we had enough room for two medium sized suitcases and ourselves. I wouldn't have wanted to be in a smaller room. We were at the back of the hotel overlooking some appartments and a car park. It was very quiet at night as, unlike most large cities, people actually seem to sleep in Tokyo! The surrounding area is lively and there are several convenience stores and coffee shops nearby. Early Friday evening and the streets are full of people and there is some kind of parade taking place in one of the side streets which are lined with bars and restaurants. Absolutely brilliant. Breakfast at the hotel is the usual buffet style set up. We were there for two breakfasts. The first morning it was fine, plenty of everything. On the second morning, there were a lot of people wanting breakfast and the service was stretched to the limit. The staff were having difficulty keeping the rapidly emptying dishes replenished and several times we went to find an item and the dish or plate was empty. The scallop curry dish was not refilled in time for my husband to try it so we gave up waiting and he went away feeling a bit cheated! However, service was generally excellent with the high standards we came to expect in Japan. The staff,even with limited English spoken, were very helpful and polite and we would have no reservations about using this hotel again. I just hope I get the chance to stay in Hotel Monterey again.

Room Tip: Less of a view at the back of the hotel but rooms here are very quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Francophile65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monakasaka, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Akasaka, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2015

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on this visit to Tokyo and we are delighted to receive your positive comments regarding our great location, convenient connection to the Tokyo Metro, and breakfast. Thank you also for your comments regarding our restaurants and service which we have share with our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

found a relatively affordable bargain rate on the internet.
the hotel is situated in the middle of akasaka area in tokyo, japan.
the room size was slightly tight however you are paying for the location.
many restaurants and bars surround the hotel.
we found a supermarket but a little hard to find if you are a first time traveller to tokyo.
overall, great little stay but look hard for their bargain rates.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fortysomethingmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monakasaka, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Akasaka, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2015

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel Monterey AKASAKA. We endeavor to provide refreshing hospitality to each and everyone of our guests during their stay.
We highly appreciate your comments about our convenient location, which is near the bayside resort line monorail station.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not so distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was a great hotel that I stayed in during my visit to Tokyo. It could be a little hard to find, especially if you are not familiar with the area (Akasaka) so make sure you have a handy map to guide you to the hotel. If you decide to take the Airport Limousine Bus service, it drops you off at Akasaka Excel Hotel Tokyu, and its about a 5-8 min walk from there. The service at the hotel from all the employees was exemplary and they were always eager to assist us with any questions or to help us book tickets for tours, etc. The rooms were a bit small, but as so many before me have said, space is at a premium in Tokyo. The rooms were very clean and the beds were quite comfortable. The hotel is right by the Akasaka-Mitsuke station and this is convenient for traveling to all parts of Tokyo. There are a lot of restaurants and cafes nearby as well as convenience stores, so there are many options available for food. Overall, it was an excellent hotel and I am glad I stayed here during my trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the Akasaka Palace. It is quite an expansive area and you can see the skyscrapers of Shinjuku in the distance as well.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KingMM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monakasaka, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Akasaka, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2015

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel Monterey AKASAKA. We endeavor to provide refreshing hospitality to each and everyone of our guests during their stay.
We highly appreciate your comments about our convenient location, which is near the bayside resort line monorail station.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not so distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews