We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,729)
Filter reviews
1,729 results
Traveler rating
935
586
140
35
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
935
586
140
35
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews south wing main building mid century embassy area classic hotel james bond japanese service health club public spaces hibiya line impeccable service sushi restaurant rooms are spacious japanese style business center quiet area breakfast buffet
Filter
Updating list...
496 - 501 of 1,729 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I was in Tokyo on business and spent five days at the Okura. My room was always immaculately presented everyday, the service from all area's of the operation from check in to check out was outstanding. Our tourism and hotel operators here in Australia should do themselves a favour and stay here for a few days and see how it should be done.
I have previously stayed at some of the newer places nearby but will most certainly be returning to this hotel on my next visit.

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I stayed in Okura for business, for one week. The hotel is quite old fashioned, but still pretty good in terms of service and quality. It is in the heart of the city, well connected to anything. Recommended if you are looking for old style elegance. Rooms (mine at least) was bigger than Japanese standards.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheMakkions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Great service, facilities and F&B outlets are a given for any Tokyo 5-star hotel and the Hotel Okura offers all these.

What it has that nobody matches is a completely different atmosphere.
It was originally designed by Frank Lloyd Wright in the early 60's and I'm pretty sure nothing has changed much in the common areas. The rooms and bathrooms have been modernised though.

This is not to say that it feels old. On the contrary.

Everything is in perfect condition and feels like it's been built only a few years ago. It's just that it feels like we are walking on a set of Mad Men.
We were always half expecting to see Don Draper walk across the lobby.

Room tip: Check which wing you will stay in before you arrive. This will save you quite a bit of walking.
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArnaudDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I was in Tokyo for meetings and a symposium this February and our hosts booked us at the Hotel Okura's South Wing, which was also the venue for our activities. I understand that it used to The Hotel in Tokyo and I would agree that there would be many newer or updated (renovated) hotels. However, the hotel retains a certain mystique and sentimental ambience that you probably couldn't get in other hotels so many Japanese still choose the hotel over others including for activities like seminars. The hotel is conveniently located a few minutes walk from the Namboku Line and Hibiya Line of Tokyo extensive metro system and you can take the Airport Limousine bus to and from the hotel for Narita or Haneda. The surrounding area has many restaurants, a grocery, convenience stores and a 100 yen shop is nearby. It is also near many embassies including the US embassy just across from the hotel. I liked my room, which had a comfy bed, a tub, an interesting toilet and high speed internet. The buffet breakfast is okay but could be better compared to the 5-star hotels I've stayed in before. Service from the staff was excellent.

Room tip: It's usually better to book directly from the hotel's site as prices change quite frequently.
Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d0ctrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I stayed at the Okura Main Wing 17th -22nd Feb on business. The Okura was obviously a Grand Hotel in its day (I believe it was built in the sixties) but these days is looking a bit tired and in need of a makeover.
On the upside, the room was reasonably spacious and well equipped, although no sign of an ipod dock which you find as standard in the ANA Intercon or the Hyatt. My room on the 8th floor had a distinctly 'retro' feel to it with brown shades of decor and was nice and quiet.

The hotel has a main building and an annex (the south wing) which can be reached by an underground walkway. Sometimes a bit confusing when trying to get dropped by taxi.
Service was very good although the level of english of most of the staff I met was a bit marginal.
The breakfast restaurant I used (The Terrace) was really not big enough and there was a 5-10 minute waiting time for a table, not what you expect in a top end hotel.
Location is fairly central within 10 mins walk of a subway station(Kamiyacho). There's a 7-11 convience store with an ATM which accepts most foreign cards very close by(no ATM in the hotel). The hotel is on a hill so be ready for a bit of a climb on your way back if on foot. Very close to the US Embassy if you need it.

If you're looking for something a little old fashioned with a Japanese feel then the Okura is for you. If you want something modern and stylish then think again.

Room tip: Rooms on the back upper floors are quieter.
Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maximuslonghaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews