We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,702)
Filter reviews
1,702 results
Traveler rating
916
582
138
34
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
916
582
138
34
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews south wing main building orchid bar mid century embassy area classic hotel james bond japanese service health club hibiya line impeccable service rooms are spacious business center japanese style quiet area hotel guests an excellent hotel
Filter
Updating list...
497 - 502 of 1,702 reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The hotel is very historic in the sense that it has hosted many important people throughout its history. It is slightly dated in its time but has been kept in great condition. I can't say enough how great the service at this hotel is, the culture mostly is the same way everywhere you go but it feels different here. The hotel layout has two main buildings which are connected with an underground sub level, each of these buildings has some stores and services on site. The restaurant and bar list is too much to list here but there are several great options throughout all areas of the two buildings. Be warned that smoking is still popular here in the culture and occasionally I could smell smoke in the hallways and common areas. Although my room was not listed as non-smoking I could not smell any residue that someone had smoked here. This hotel is across the street from the US Embassy, some great restaurants across the street at the Arc building and great walking distance to the Roppongi District.

Room Tip: Stay in the South Wing
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 38allovertheplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Kings, Queens, and Presidents, have stayed here. You will experience the renowned Japanese hospitality even before you step into the grand lobby. Beautifully decorated hotel in the heart of Tokyo.... and right next to US and other embassies. Okura offers several international restaurants, numerous unique boutiques, and a superb Spa. You are within reasonable walking distance of the Tower, Castle, luxury shopping, and any type of food you desire. Just check-in and let them spoil you.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SH_PDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I stayed at the Okura for business for 5 nights. It was a wonderful expeirence. The hotel had a 60s modern feel. The rooms were very nice and comfortable and the staff service absolutely impecable. I was sad to leave!!!!

My room came with breakfast and that included a nice room service western breakfast of eggs, toast, coffee and juice. It was served in wonderful style with silver chillers and basket warmers.

I would love to stay here again. Also, it is in a very convenient location to the subway.

The spa was very nice. We did the nature court package with two mini treatments. It was a great experience and one of the best facials I have had in a long time.

One tip: Food and wine is great but VERY pricey in the restaurants and room service. I actually got some of the wonderful prepared meals from the Camilla cafe for dinner, $10 or so US and they were so good!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandMinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I stayed five nights in a standard room while traveling on business. The hotel is conveniently located between several major subway lines so that I was able to get to many of my destinations around the Tokyo metropolis with only a short walk to the requisite stations. It's also close enough to Roppongi Hills to walk (if you don't mind a bit of a hike).

As for the actual stay, my room was clean and well laid out. While smaller than standard rooms in many other other countries I've visited, it didn't feel cramped. There were the typical toiletries and amenities in the bathroom, a nice robe in the large closet, and a modest-sized desk to set up a laptop or watch programming on the small flatscreen TV beside it.

I ate breakfast in the hotel's Terrace Restaurant and Orchid Room, both of which offered a tasty variety of Japanese and Western dishes in a buffet format. The service in both, as well as throughout the entire hotel, was exceptional.

The decor feels a bit dated, even for this admittedly retro hotel, but it was well maintained. Overall, I would stay here again if I had business nearby, but would probably opt for a newer, more modern hotel nearer Shinjuku or Ginza if I was just going for tourism.

Room Tip: Breakfast at the hotel's "Terrace Restaurant" is pretty good.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isaac P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Now I know why Steve Jobs loved this hotel. If you are looking for proximity to action this is not for you. Great sushi bar, great spa(but not cheap), amazing overall vibe, feels more like Kyoto than Tokyo.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the main building.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_helen90266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews