We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Good We Went Twice !”
Review of Sense

Sense
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $63 - $126
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Description: Situated on our 37th floor, Sense offers a sensational setting in which to enjoy authentic and contemporary Cantonese cuisine featuring the finest flavours and from which exceptional views of eastern Tokyo can be had. The dramatic and stylish décor features original tiles in a lotus motif and a vivid pink interior, the perfect setting for Master Chef's stunning Cantonese dishes.
Reviewed April 14, 2019

Very expensive, but great for a treat , we liked it so much we went back on our last night and ate the same again - almost ! Lovely staff , very caring and helpful , but food the star of the show . Lettuce cups to start were so refreshing , Sweet and Sour pork was yummy as were the seafood dishes and the rice dish with king crab and lettuce. We had a free cup of Mandarin O blend tea at the end which we thought was gorgeous and also free sweets and cake . All in all a lovely evening - twice !

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank KentKritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTYO, Social Media Communications at Sense, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2019

Dear KentKritic

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review following your recent experience at Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo.

We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay and were satisfied with the dining at Sense.
Your inspiring comments are much appreciated, and we are thrilled that we were able to contribute in making your trip to Tokyo an enjoyable one.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel for another memorable experience.
Yours sincerely,

Social Media Communications
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 196 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2019

We had a lovely dinner at Sense. Food was outstanding - flavors and food pairings were exquisite. Yanging Jin was excellent in serving us dinner, with all her recommendations and explanations about Cantonese cuisine. We had some Japanese Red Wine with dinner that was recommended and we enjoyed it very much.

We highly recommend dinner at Sense and will visit again in the future.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank margitmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTYO, Social Media Communications at Sense, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2019

Dear margitmills

First, let me just say what a great pleasure it was to have you with us recently, and thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to learn that you had a memorable stay and enjoyed our dining at Sense.
Your positive feedback on our colleagues have been passed along, and the whole team is very thrilled to know that you were pleased with the overall service and had a fantastic experience with us.
We are delighted that we were able to contribute in making your trip to Tokyo an enjoyable experience, and we will continue to carry forward our service principles for the comfort and satisfaction of our guests.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share and inspire. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.


Yours sincerely,

Social Media Communications
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2019

The food items we had were nice and tasty, and the condiments jucily spicy. They however did not come close to the "exquisitely light flavours" claimed on the Sense restaurant website, and the bill showed very high prices charged.

The one piece of steamed pork siu-mai, and the egg white fried rice with scallops, had slightly strong salty flavours. The noodles in soup with shredded roast duck was distinctly oily. The fried rice wrapped in lotus leaf, nicely light-flavoured, might benefit from further uplift in quality if made with some other varieties of rice.

The assorted appetizers were composed of 3 meat items. The small finger-sized piece of barbecued pork tasted richly sweet, compensating very well for the not so refined quality of the pork. The slice of pork neck was the driest I ever had, and the small lump of marinated chicken compared unfavourably against the chicken skewer yakitori one can find in street-corner stalls.

Seated at our table at 11 o'clock in the morning on 2nd January, we sensed encouragement to order champagne or wine before we were allowed to see the food menu. For an up-market restaurant, this could be a sign that it was under pressure to generate revenues.

Or perhaps, the staff had no sense of some customers' practice of deciding what to eat before picking their alcohol. Also, they obviously did not have much sense of the idea of yum-cha (drink-tea) style dining at breakfast / lunch times.

We ordered Chinese tea, listed at the bottom pages of a thick drinks menu booklet (which did not seem to have a section for high-quality specialty teas). Not unexpectedly, we were asked if we would like to order some still or sparking water to go with the Chinese tea.

After some urging, we got hold of the food menu. Included were 3 set menus (or "course menus") each offering a set of typical executive lunch dishes that would suit power lunch-ers on normal business days.

I asked about the much bigger lunch menu posted on the restaurant website, the one that was specified to be offered "Until 6 January, 2019" and that also included an 8-page a la carte menu. The staff said this bigger "Until 6 January, 2019" menu would be available on 7 January. That did not seem to make sense at all.

After some discussion, we were allowed the freedom to pick individual dishes from the 3 set menus. We picked a few lighter dishes, and ended up with an over-priced bill for the freedom.

Later that evening, the assistant F&B director of the Mandarin Oriental Tokyo asked me whether Sense restaurant staff had explained clearly enough that the market was closed, which was the reason for the limited menu. I told him the explanation was clear, but the reason was unconvincing.

A few days later, I also learnt that the specially high prices in our bill came from the chef, not from any published menu.

Food supply / storage constraints, and inconsistent restaurant pricing policy, are presumably issues for MO Tokyo F&B management. So is the problem of the restaurant, and restaurant staff, not having a good sense of the food and drinks they handle. Perhaps, also food quality, which can be managed to match the market positioning of the restaurant.

For comparison, we went to the Hei Fung Terrace cantonese restaurant at the Peninsula Tokyo, nearby the other end of Chuo Dori, for dinner:
- full a la carte food menu, which came without the requirement to order wine first;
- food cooked well to allow one to taste the freshness and naturalness of the ingredients;
- very pleasant and efficient service even with the restaurant full;
- totally enjoyable dinner; very good value too.
So, no "market closed" issue at the Peninsula Tokyo.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Terlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2018

At the 37th floor of the Mandarin oriental hotel in Tokyo you can find the exquisite Sense Restaurant, a Cantonese style high end Chinese restaurant. When looking for a break from a Japanese meal, this is a luxurious indulgence with a spectacular view of the city to boot. Service is impeccable, the food is delicately delicious and the overall experience iOS one you will not soon forget.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DineJB1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTYO, Social Media Communications at Sense, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2018

Dear DineJB1954,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your dining experience at Sense.

We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant time and enjoyed dishes. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel for another memorable experience.


Yours sincerely,

Social Media Communications
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2018 via mobile

We were guests at the Mandarin Oriental, and on the first night we arrived In Tokyo, we didn't want to venture far. The concierge of course recommended the Chinease restaurant in the hotel.
Located on the 37th floor, the restaurant affords an amazing vista of Tokyo's skyline, with towering skyscrapers.
The restaurant is dim lit and modern, with a romantic atmosphere, ideal for couples. There is an a la carte menu available , but we opted for one of the various tasting menus. (definitely not your run of the mill Chinese more Chinese meets Rubichon) The staff were very accommodating, changing dishes due to my shellfish allergy.
The food was an experience, I can't say I enjoyed the jelly fish although it was presented beautifully, but that's were it ended!
From the soup to the myriad of meat, fish and seafood dishes the food was exquisitely presented and it was a strange, yet wonderful experience.
We took a fabulous Italian wine, from Toscany-Torcicoda, highly recommended. So how would I summarise the evening? Romantic? -Yes.
An adventure of tastes? Yes. Beautifully presented? Yes. Strange? Without a doubt. Expensive-definitely. Would I visit again? Perhaps not, but I will remember this culinary adventure and recommended it to fellow travelers. This resturant is everything it's name promises to be. Senses offers a myriad of tastes and textures to challenge your senses, so if you're not on a budget, dress up and enjoy your adventure.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank stacys93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTYO, Social Media Communications at Sense, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2018

Dear Stacy S

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review following your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo.

We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant time at Sense. Your inspiring comments are much appreciated. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel for another memorable experience.


Yours sincerely,

Social Media Communications
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing