We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$315
View deal
Booking.com
$296
View deal
Hotels.com
$315
View deal
CheapTickets$315
eDreams$296
Destinia.com$650
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,077)
Filter reviews
2,077 results
Traveler rating
1,481
417
114
31
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,481
417
114
31
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lobby restaurant imperial palace chinese restaurant nail dryer hibiya park valet box walking distance luxury hotel coffee machine peter bar ginza shopping concierge desk yurakucho station favorite hotel fantastic hotel long flight sushi
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,088 - 1,093 of 2,077 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Peninsula Tokyo for a 1.5 week vacation plus visit with extended family. The hotel room was much larger than expected, especially for Tokyo. We appreciated having a segregated dressing room to store our luggage and clothing in. The bathroom was such a pleasant surprise after a long flight from the US. The rooms were very quiet and the room darkening shades helped us to recover from jet lag when we took some extended afternoon naps.
Housekeeping was top-notch with excellent attention to detail. Our room was cleaned two times per day; the initial cleaning and again at turn-down service. The staff was friendly, polite and accommodating.
Room service was very good. Breakfast (included in the hotel rate) was great and offered an over abundance of food. Laundry & dry cleaning service was very good, too. The concierge was very helpful to us each time we asked for directions, particularly since we don't speak Japanese.
Location was great: very close to the imperial gardens, Ginza shopping district, tokyo station, fish market, etc.
We had dinner one night at Peter. The food was very good, but not my favorite meal in Tokyo, perhaps because it didn't seem to make sense to have an indulgent French meal when traveling as far as Japan. While the meal was pricey, the serving sizes were unexpectedly large. My husband and I agreed that we would not have ordered a first course had we known how large the entrees were. We returned to Peter a few times for drinks at the bar. The bar and restaurant offers excellent views of the city and is a great place for a night cap.
We used the fitness center and pool facilities. The high level of service and attention to detail were apparent there, too. Didn't use the personal trainer service, but we thought about it. Same with the Spa.
Nothing at the hotel is inexpensive, but the same can be said for Tokyo in general. I highly recommend the Peninsula Tokyo and will stay there again when we return.

Room tip: We had a King Deluxe room, without any special palace view and we were very pleased.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcc17
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Peninsula and we got off to a slow start at the hotel. Our room was not ready when we arrived and we were told that our room would not be ready until check in time which was 3:00PM. We had arrived at 2:40PM and I thought it was odd, but we went to the lobby and had some tea. At 3:00 our room was ready and it was beautiful. It was spotless and very well decorated. The hotel has a bustling lobby but our room was very quiet and we enjoyed staying there. I had read complaints about the door to the toilet being inadequate, but we did not share that complaint. Everything about the Peninsula is a statement of luxury. It is clearly a very fine hotel that has no trouble competing with the best in the world.
The concierge desk was very helpful. They gave us maps, tips, instructions, told us how to conquer the metro, and made all of our dinner reservations. They could not have been nicer or more helpful. This is a very fine hotel and it is one that will satisfy the tastes and preferences of all those that are fortunate enough to stay there. If we ever find ourselves returning to Tokyo, we would be very happy to stay at the Peninsula again.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ase1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Last week we stayed a week at the Peninsula in Tokyo and this hotel is just awesome! The rooms are so spacious! The normal standard rooms are like suites. You have your own dressroom. The bath room is amazing. A bath tub and an extra shower. The bedroom has a seperate part with a sofa where you can watch tv. Everything functions either automacly (like the toilette seat going up when you approach) or via buttons. Buttons for everything! They have a verh nice pool at the 6th floor and a fittness as well. The location is super and the staff is very friendly and helpful! I loved the stay there and wish i could come back! If you have enough money to spend this is the hotel you want to stay in. Its GREAT!!!

Date of stay: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adilein
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Location is the best but the service i would expect from a luxury hotel should not be this poor. They charged me at the wrong cc and without approval. Their staff is unfriendly and lack of courtesy. Just found out my friends also complained about them.

Date of stay: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank St220284
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We spent a long weekend in The Peninsula during our first trip to Tokyo in the middle of summer. Our expectations were very high, and for the most part the hotel lived up to these.

Make no mistake, we would stay here again when next in Tokyo - but attention needs to be paid to consistency of quality of room service offerings (& to the prices!). If it wasn't for that aspect, would have rated a 5.

Pro's

We had the Rolls-Royce pick-up at Haneda, so transportation literally couldn't have been better. Driver was very informative and courteous. Water in the car, and iPad connected to the internet to fiddle on with.

Welcome at the hotel itself was excellent, and check-in/luggage transfer was excellent at 6.30am. The lobby is a little underwhelming, but golly does the location make up for it!

We stayed in a Deluxe room facing the Imperial Palace - excellent city views with greenery in the foreground. Definitely gave a sense of being in the endless sprawl that is Tokyo. It would be a ity to stay here and not have the view.

The room itself had every, and I mean every, gadget you could possibly want. TV's and phones all over the place, fast wireless internet, mood lighting, touch button curtains, remote controlled everything, nail dryer in the dressing room....
Beautifully designed and decorated bathroom. Great feature natural stone wall with huge tub. Separate shower and toilet. The toilet is a top of the range all-singing and dancing Japanese special. From automatic opening to deodorised wash and blowdry.
Bed was huge and very comfortable.

Faultless cleanliness.

Excellent swimming pool with fantastic view of the Imperial Palace and nearby park. Two of the sunbeds are outside on a balcony overlooking the view. The Peninsula does pools well - take New York as another example of stunning views.

Cons

Prices are exhorbitant - food and spa treatments.

We had three bad room service experiences in a row: getting order wrong; missing parts of the order; mediocre quality; long wait.

Room tip: Ask for a room that faces the Imperial Palace
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SussexCpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews