We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveler rating
5
58
39
10
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
5
58
39
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews atomic bomb dome great location facilities tv hiroshima luggage
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 120 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2018

We were very shocked about how dirty the room was. We even wondered if we somehow went to a wrong country, not in Japan. We booked a non-smoking room and the room was obviously a smoking room. The air smelled horrible. The carpet was very nasty. There was dust everywhere. The air vent of the air conditioner was gross. We had our room changed. The new room was a Japanese style room. It was less smelly and cleaner, but was still dusty everywhere. There were bugs on the tatami mats (I sprayed "Off" around the room to prevent more bugs climbing in), and clearly, they haven't cleaned the air conditioners for decades. After staying here, we felt that we needed to wash ourselves and all the clothing the next day.
The location of this hotel is good and the price was among the lowest in the area. However, I don't think these make this hotel worth staying. I suggest travelers stay away from this hotel.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bunnyhoppingtrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kojin402, マネージャー at Hiroshima Kokusai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for staying our hotel.
We are sorry we made you feel uncomfortable when you stayed.
We will do our best from now on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2018

I would not recommend this hotel. It took 3 changes of room to find one that did not smell of smoke. Very dated and worn out. Unclean and don’t move any furniture - very dirty underneath. Beds so old almost collapsed with mattresses that should have been changed a long time ago. I am struggling to find anything positive to say - location is quite good and the reception staff were pleasant.

Room tip: Try another hotel
Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kojin402, マネージャー at Hiroshima Kokusai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for staying our hotel.
We are sorry that you felt uncomfortable.
We will do our best from now on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2018

The hotel is located within walking distance from the airport limousine bus terminal. In addition to that it is also located right next to the Hondori shopping street where you can find loads of shops, pharmacy and restaurants. The east Kamiyacho tram station is also nearby where you can take a trip to Miyajima conveniently. The hotel room is of reasonable size. The only drawback is the location of the TV. While I was seating on the bed leaning my back on the headboard it is not possible to see the TV because it is actually parallel to my back. The staffs are kind and there is no problem in communicating with them. Breakfast was acceptable with deep fried oyster, deep fried fish cake and deep fried yam cake and many others. The downside is sometime the supply was not replenished when they were gone. There is a steam baking oven where you place your bread and put 5 cc of water in it to warm up the cold bread.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HK_Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kojin402, マネージャー at Hiroshima Kokusai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for staying our hotel.
We are grad that you liked the breakfast.
We are looking forward to seeing you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2017

I spent a few days here in a traditional Japanese room and loved it. The room was well equipped with a decent bathroom, tv and bedding, though I did find it difficult to get the room warm in winter with the heating being fiddly to use. The room was also lacking a safe to keep valuables, even though there was plenty of free space.

One thing I was concerned about before arriving was security (looking like a traditional Japanese house with paper walls, but that turned out to not be an issue. outside the paper walls were glass sliding doors which locked and led out to a little private garden. The other side had a normal hotel steel door, so security was no concern, though you do have to leave your key at reception.

Very well located and walking distance to the main tourist hotspots like the peace flame and museums, and just 5 minutes away from the Atomic Bomb dome.

Very friendly staff and relatively easy to find, though it is tucked away in a little street behind the main road. Wifi througout, though as their site warns before hand, it was a little inconsistent in the traditional rooms nearer to the windows.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jonathanc27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kojin402, マネージャー at Hiroshima Kokusai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for staying our hotel.
We are grad to hear from you that you liked Japanese room.
We will do our best from now on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2017 via mobile

Staff are friendly and helpful and speaks English. Location is quite good, walking distance of the shopping area, bus terminal and site seeing spots. however the rooms are Very dated. Carpets are worn, the air conditioning is old and noisy. A bit of mouldy smell. My nose allergy started kicking in about an hour after staying in the room. Postioning of the lighting switches are werid (not close to the bed). The bathroom is quite new and spacious.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank fionayyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kojin402, マネージャー at Hiroshima Kokusai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for staying our hotel.
We are sorry that you felt uncomfortable when you stayed.
We will do our best from now on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews