We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
mhphilemon
Geneva, Switzerland

Budget hotel in quiet area - very small rooms

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Mar 10, 2015

Initially, we opted for a hotel around Namba but all hotels were full in that area and therefore we choose this hotel based on its reviews. This was the smallest hotel room I ever stayed in. Impossible to move around once you opened your suitcases. There were no cupboards and we had to leave our clothes in our suitcases. There was a drawer under the bed but we found it not very practicable. The wifi was unstable and the air conditioning was blowing the air straight in our faces when lying in bed. Our room was on the eight floor and there were enormous spots on the carpet between the lift and our room (like somebody had been sick in the past and they did not bother to change the carpet). There was only one small window with a view on a luxurious apartment block and a parking. There is also a construction site and works start early also on Saturdays which means noise. The receptionists were very friendly and I must stress that they all spoke very good English, which is not the rule in most Japanese hotels. The hotel is situated in a combined residential - business area and there are a few restaurants nearby (the hotel has a list of recommended restaurants) which are catering to the locals. I can recommend Gottie's steak house just around the corner of the hotel and an excellent noodle restaurant just a few blocks away. There is also a tea-room on the comer of the street on which the hotel is located and the main street that leads to the metro (ok breakfast menu if you did not opt for a breakfast at the hotel). We preferred to have dinner near the hotel because we found it to be more authentic and far away from that crowded tourist trap called Dotonbori near Namba. The metro is a few min walk with a Starbucks at one on the gates of the metro and a few steps further the French boulangerie Paul. We did not mind that the hotel was not in the center: the metro was convenient and took us all over Osaka. In short, the hotel was average but I can also not expect too much given the price we paid for theroom.
Date of stay: February 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ms-sakaisujihonmachi, Reception, Daiki Kawasaki at Hotel Mystays Sakaisuji-Honmachi, responded to this review
Responded Mar 11, 2015
Dear mhphilemon
Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Mystays Sakaisujihonmachi and having time to give us your experience of staying with us. Our hotel is located in center of the business districts between Kitahama station and Sakaisuji-Honmachi station, so in weekly days, plenty of good restaurants that offer you good dishes by cheap price. We are so glad to read that you found the good restaurant and cafe you mentioned. Also, I'm terribly sorry to read your experiences that you had tough time to stay in the room due to the size of the room and the noise of construction. If there were room available, we would be able to change your rooms; although, we made you feel disappoint at us. We will sure to strive our best to meet our guest's satisfaction and expectations such as removing the stains on the carpet with our housekeepers.
I appreciate that you praised us for our English level. Even though our English has not been as fluent, we will try to speak in English in order to assist our guests very well because many guests who are from all over the world choose our hotel to stay.
I am so grateful to you that you taking your time to put your comments and having your time with us in Osaka, Japan. In consequence, receiving important review from you, we've been thinking what we can do for our guests far more than we used to think.
Again, thank you so much.

Receptionist, Daiki Kawasaki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
$172
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $165
  • Priceline
    $120
  • Hotels.com
    $165
1.3 miles from Hotel Mystays Sakaisuji-Honmachi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
ツインルーム
$99
  • Expedia.com
    $90
  • Priceline
    $82
  • Vio.com
    $83
1.1 miles from Hotel Mystays Sakaisuji-Honmachi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
スカイスパ
$194
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $205
  • Vio.com
    $85
  • Hotels.com
    $205
1.1 miles from Hotel Mystays Sakaisuji-Honmachi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$361
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $412
  • Vio.com
    $151
  • Hotels.com
    $412
1.0 miles from Hotel Mystays Sakaisuji-Honmachi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$65
$51
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $59
  • Vio.com
    $52
  • Priceline
    $57
1.3 miles from Hotel Mystays Sakaisuji-Honmachi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
キング
$208
  • Expedia.com
    $170
  • Priceline
    $157
  • Hotels.com
    $170
1.3 miles from Hotel Mystays Sakaisuji-Honmachi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$75
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $65
  • Agoda.com
    $60
  • Expedia.com
    $71
0.2 miles from Hotel Mystays Sakaisuji-Honmachi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$42
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $49
  • Agoda.com
    $38
  • Vio.com
    $42
0.5 miles from Hotel Mystays Sakaisuji-Honmachi
Free Wifi
Pool
$289
$239
  • Swissotel
    $242
  • Expedia.com
    $238
  • Hotels.com
    $238
1.6 miles from Hotel Mystays Sakaisuji-Honmachi
Free Wifi
Pool
ホテル正面
$60
Fully refundable
  • japanican.com
    $59
  • Agoda.com
    $45
  • Expedia.com
    $61
1.5 miles from Hotel Mystays Sakaisuji-Honmachi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Chuo
Reviews (449)
Filter reviews
449 results
Traveler rating
94
225
98
22
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
94
225
98
22
10
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 449 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2015

Great Hotel, room size good, service was great. Location is close to everything. They were very helpful and spoke good english. They even stored our luggage for us for the whole day as we had already checked out.

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dorian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ms-sakaisujihonmachi, Reception, Daiki Kawasaki at Hotel Mystays Sakaisuji-Honmachi, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2015

Dear Dorian D
Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Mystays Sakaisujihonmachi and taking your time to write the review. We are very pleasure to read your kind conmpliments.
We've tried to assist our guest's stay at our hotel in many ways with our best.
Your words of great hotel makes us feel like being on cloud 9.
We surely keep on try ing our best for wonderful guests like you.
I greatly look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
With very best of regards

Receptionist, Daiki Kawasaki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2015

We had just found the hotel after a long international flight and we were very happy and relieved to find the lady who served us was so kind, happy and helpful. We were very happy with the service at the hotel, the beds were comfortable, it is close to the subway and nice interiors. Would not hesitate to come back - loved it

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nastassja m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ms-sakaisujihonmachi, Front Desk at Hotel Mystays Sakaisuji-Honmachi, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2015

Dear nastassja m
Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Mystays Sakaisuji Honmachi.
We are so pleasure to read your warmest compliment., and we are so grateful to you.
Also, I'm very happy to hear that you feel comfortable with the beds of our hotel.
I appreciate that you praised to the interior of rooms and our customer service.
We' ve been trying to live up to our guest's expectations and satisfaction.
Also, the staff you mentioned is Yoshimatsu, and she's asked me to pass on special thanks to you for picking her out as performing well.
We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Sincerely

Receptionist, Daiki Kawasaki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2015

This hotel is clean, comfortable and conveniently located only 7mins walk from Sakaisuji- Honmachi subway station. There are plenty of good bars and restaurants nearby. The staff are very helpful in giving directions and maps if you want to find something and can lend umbrellas when it's raining. Service is excellent, the rooms are clean. Only downside is the bathrooms are weird and box like- you feel like you're in the bathroom on a ship or something. Otherwise, a very good hotel in a good area.

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank P m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ms-sakaisujihonmachi, Front Desk at Hotel Mystays Sakaisuji-Honmachi, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2015

Dear Paris M
Thank you for staying with us. We are so excited to hear that you enjoyed finding nice restaurants and bars around our hotel. I really appreciate your wonderful compliments. That made us feel so touched. Our hotel provides you with maps and some brochures such as Osaka Castle. We are very happy to be asked to support our guests. I hope we could meet your expectations. From the middle of March, Spring season is coming. There are beautiful cherry blossom that can make you feel seasonal effect in Japan.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Sincerely

Front Desk
Daiki Kawasaki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2015

Small but decent hotel, beds were nice and big, rooms compact as expected but big enough for 2 people with suitcases. Easy check in and check out. They booked us a cab for get airport which was great and easy too.

Helpful staff, would recommend if you are on a budget....metro was about a 10 minute walk. All the subways have lots of different entrance and exits so it's worth taking notice of the closest one to you.

Room was a little dusty, other than that not too bad.

There is a restaurant call Yo It Cho a couple of minutes away, defiantly worth a visit!!

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Pinkyponky
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ms-sakaisujihonmachi, Front Desk at Hotel Mystays Sakaisuji-Honmachi, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2015

Dear Pinkyponky

Thank you for having your nights with us at Hotel Mystays Sakaisujihonmachi.
We appereciate that you gave us such a thoughtful comment.
We will surely strive to improve our service that room can be far cleaner as you expected.
I really apology for making you feel that was a little dusty, and also thank you for letting
us know.
We are so excited to hear you are satisfied with our customer service.
I would like to inform you that there are a lot of good restaurants around our hotel,
so next time, please allow us to assist your stay in Osaka.
We look forward to welcoming you very soon.
Thank you so much again.

Sincerely
Front Desk Daiki Kawasaki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2015

Gracious service is for describing the check-in counters, they always try their best to solve the problems for us, we appreciated that genuinely. Thought the traffic is less convenience, we still experienced a wonderful staying time for everything which will let us to choose to stay next time.

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Patricialee2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ms-sakaisujihonmachi, Front Desk at Hotel Mystays Sakaisuji-Honmachi, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2015

This is Hotel Mystays Sakaisijihonmachi.
Thank you for staying with us and giving us your thoughtful compliment.
The happiest thing for us is visitors can feel comfortable in our hotel
like staying thier home and concern to stay at our hotel again.
We will be sure to try our best to support visitors staying in our hotel and also in Japan.
We hope you are going to stay at our hotel again.
Again, Thank you so much for staying with us.
Sincerely.
Daiki Kawasaki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews