We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,156)
Filter reviews
1,156 results
Traveler rating
703
339
83
16
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
703
339
83
16
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river jr loop line cherry blossom viewing bell hop star hotel classical music breakfast buffet fitness facilities extra charge great bathroom beautiful hotel swimming pool good size impeccable service the ground floor rooms are spacious free shuttle
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,156 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2018 via mobile

We were at the hotel for 4 nights, the service and all the staffs were excellent. Whatever you need they will go out of their way to help you.

The room is huge and not your typical Japanese hotel, bathroom is spacious and offered all the toiletries you might needs. All branded of Shesido and Mikimoto. Tub is big for those that like a bath.

There are two stations within 10’mins walk from the hotel. One of them is the Osaka loop. The walk to the station is beautiful over the bridge with view of the river. The river is in the back for an easy morning run or evening walk.

Next door to the hotel is a little mall and on the 1st floor they have a few restaurants for the local employees that works nearby. Foods was good and cheap. There are Lawson across the street and 7-11 further down about 300m.

If your walked across the street from the hotel it is residential area and a lot of restaurants nearby. Hotel have a few restaurants but it is all high end, so it is expensive. Their buffet breakfast is 3200 yen plus 10% surcharge. We ate there once and it offered a wide variety of western and Japanese foods. There is also a Japanese breakfast at Nadanam Restaurants on the 24th floor.

The hotel also offered shuttle to and from Osaka station every 15 mins. To transfer to Osaka International Airport, you can either take the shuttle to Osaka station and walked over to Umeda station or take a taxi to New Hankyu Hotel (1300Y) the taxi will drop you off right in front of the limo bus, buy a ticket (1550Y) and off you go to Airport. The limo bus pick up every 20 mins or so. The hotel front desk have the schedule if you need it.

At night when you walk back from the station to hotel you can see Osaka Castle all light up. It is beautiful.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank tibet71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
宿泊課客室予約, 客室予約 at Imperial Hotel Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2018

Dear tibet71,

Please accept our heartfelt thanks for selecting the Imperial Hotel Osaka for your recent stay.
During your four-day stay you learned a great deal that you have kindly passed on to future guests about the hotel environs, access to Osaka International Airport and other points, and we thank you for this service.
Did you have a chance to also visit nearby Kyoto and Nara during your stay?
On our part, we are also trying to strengthen our ability to provide information that is necessary or beneficial for our guests on our website and other guest reservation sites.
As you pointed out, you can’t see it from your guestroom, but from the top of the Genpachi bridge you can enjoy a beautiful night-time view of the lit up Osaka Castle. The grandeur of this sight is truly therapeutic after a long day of sightseeing. We encourage our guests to enjoy this special view while on their way back to the hotel.
You’re truly welcome to stay with us again during your next visit to Osaka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2018

I spend 4 nights at the hotel. The service provide by the entire personnel and specifically the people on the concierge desk was incredible. I had to ask several difficult trips for the rest of my trip in Japan and they help me at every stage even if it was involving their hotel.

Room tip: the hotel is in a place very quiet. Ask for a room on n high floor for a great view of Osaka
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alain U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
宿泊課客室予約, 客室予約 at Imperial Hotel Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2018

Dear Alain U,

Our sincere thanks for your recent stay at the Imperial Hotel Osaka.
Thank you also for your kind words praising our concierge. We are extremely pleased if we can be of service in improving your travel experience in Japan.
We hope that you can return to Osaka during your next trip to Japan and we can welcome you again to the Imperial.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2018 via mobile

My family and I are travelling through Japan and decided to spend a night in Osaka. We searched the usual providers for accommodation and settled on Imperial Hotel based on a decent pool for the kids and a bit of respite from the hot Japanese summer. The hotel advertises itself as a 4.5 star accommodation, with a pool. Booked it via hotels.com.

We turned up on the day a bit early but was told we could not check in earlier than the allotted time. We then asked if we could use the pool facilities to be informed that these have to be paid for (per use)and that guests under the age of 20 are not allowed to use the pool facilities.

As this was the primary reason we chose the hotel, obviously it does not meet expectations. The receptionist was clear on telling me this was the rule, but did not seem to comprehend that if I had that piece of information at the time of booking I would have gone elsewhere.

Other than this disappointment, the hotel was ok, but certainly not what I would consider to be a 4.5 stars. The location is quite a long way from Osaka central, in a nice spot by the river, but remote if wanting a city hotel.

I would not recommend this hotel for families, this is not the market they are aiming at and the lack of facilities for/with children is lacking. If wanting a couples hotel, I would head into downtown Osaka, which was a great spot to be in.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank brizza123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
宿泊課客室予約, 客室予約 at Imperial Hotel Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2018

Dear brizza123,

Our sincere thanks for choosing the Imperial Hotel Osaka for your recent stay with your family.
We were disappointed to learn that even though you chose our hotel thinking that the children would be allowed to use the hotel pool we were not able to meet your expectations. The fitness club at the Imperial operates on a membership system, and according to the club rules, no one under the age of 20 is allowed to use the facilities. In addition, our guests are charged for use of the facilities. This information can be found on the Hotels.com website but it’s certainly possible that information is not sufficiently provided on signs or in other ways, and we will try to rectify this problem. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that was caused.
We hope that we can host you again at the Imperial Hotel Osaka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2018

We, a family of 4, just checked in on Imperial Hotel.

After a HOT day in the city we wanted to go to the pool and relax. But no.
It seems the hotel pool isn't available for kids or even persons under the age of 20?
At the same time they charge 20 USD if you are old enough to even visit the pool/club.

Ehhh.. Nothing was advertised when booking about this.

We booked this hotel only because of the pool. When confronting the reception about this, they were sorry, and blaimed Expedia (hotels.com) for not giving correct information.

We have now read the earlier bad reviews of the hotel, and can see this has been a problem for a long time.

The pool seems to be a fake selling point for this hotel. Something they keep doing eventhough they already know of the problem.

It would have been easy for them to write a part about the rules and regulation of the pool and gym in the important information on the booking sites. But then they dont sell as good.

I would stronly suggest, not to book this hotel, if you come with kids. The hotel is not for families.

Honestly, then you should be ashamed of your self. This is not a way of running a hotel.

We spend 50+ days a year on hotels around the world, and have never experinced such advertising before.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank jesperj879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
宿泊課客室予約, 客室予約 at Imperial Hotel Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2018

Dear Jesper J,

Thank you very much for your recent patronage of the Imperial Hotel Osaka with your family.
Please allow us to apologize for being unable to allow your children to enjoy our pool during your stay, despite the intense heat and your expectations. The pool and our other fitness equipment and facilities are part of a membership club that restricts use of the pool to those aged 20 and over. Our adult guests can use the pool, spa and sauna for a fee of 2,160 yen each time. If they wish to use the other fitness facilities they are charged 5,400 yen each time. The age restrictions are mentioned on the Expedia website, but there may not be sufficient signage or explanations to be clearly understood. We will consider how to improve the provision of information so that we can provide service that meets our guests’ expectations. Please note that near the hotel there is an Osaka municipal pool, Ogimachi pool, that children are welcome to use, and that is open year-round.
We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Imperial Hotel Osaka during a future trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2018 via mobile

Searching for a really perfect hotel in Osaka?search No more and try the imperial hotel for a Good stay in osaka!close to the river and Many shops and restaurants and bars!40 minute shuttle to the AirPort,and next to the Subway!rooms are Nice cosy and very clean,Good bathroom with a lot of ammenities!great bed!the staff is very helpfull and friendly!breakfast is superb!the restaurant in the hotel is also Good so a lot of Reasons to stay at the imperial,Been here before and allways very satisfied!i love this hotel,Had a short but fantastic stay here,i Will be back soon!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Esperanza2060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
宿泊課客室予約, 客室予約 at Imperial Hotel Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2018

Dear Esperanza2060,

Thank you very much for your patronage of the Imperial Hotel Osaka.
We were delighted to read your kind praise about our location, guestrooms, restaurants and staff. This kind of praise is a great reward for our efforts; we constantly strive to provide our guests with a comfortable, relaxing stay.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews