We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Review Highlights
Huge Onsen Complex

This is our first time experiencing an onsen in Japan. Initially we thought it’s a traditional and... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
serumz
,
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
via mobile
Good overall onsen facility in one of the oldest Onsen towns in Japan

The story goes that Taiko no Yu was founded by a famous samurai warlord called Taiko who loved... read more

Reviewed March 24, 2018
Matt L
,
Sydney
Read all 211 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Kita
from $360.00
More Info
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveler rating
33
100
40
14
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
33
100
40
14
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indoor area food court hot rock different types onsen facility hot water full service train station onsen town baths hankyu tattoos 10min silver osaka robe japan
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 211 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2017

Easy entry to the whole Japanese Onsen experience. A short train ride from Kobe, you don't need to book, and they are set up for English speaking guests. You are provided with pyjamas and towels included in the entry (extra towels at a small additional cost.) Food and drinks are also available - you charge anything against your wristband. The "Arima Soda" flavour icecream is very tasty. There is more than one sort of natural, geothermal water - my favourite is the carbonic, which gently fizzes. The outdoor bath is very restful. Tattoos not allowed.

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank Niallniallorangepeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
有馬ビューホテルうらら, 支配人 at Taiko no Yu, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2017

This onsen is really nice and friendly. It has English subtitles everywhere. The springs are clean and there is great variety of pools. You just pay entry money and that allows you to stay as long you want. Their kitchen is also delicious. My favorite spa around Kobe.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Annka_CZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2017

I try to visit as much as Onsen when I go to Japan and this was one of the biggest. It has several outdoor and indoor pools. The day before I have been to the place, hearing that I was planning to Taiko no Yu the owner of a ramen restaurant in Arima gave me a voucher for Taiko no Yu so it cost me only 550 Yen to enter. I was picked up by the shuttle from the Arima train station and it gave me a ride back to the station in the evening. My hotel was in Kobe and not a long ride for an onsen lover!

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Ceren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2017

Bit more expensive than most places but this place really gives you a taste of saunas, gold spas, silver spas, inside and outside spas and everything in between. Good food hall. Great fun.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank tes108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
有馬ビューホテルうらら, 支配人 at Taiko no Yu, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2017 via mobile

Taiko no Yu is probably the most popular amongst visitors to Arima Onsen, it is certainly the largest in the town, with clean facilities and updated.

The entry fee is ¥2,400 per person, you pay at the counter and they will issue you with your choice of yukata. You also get your locker key which is in the form of a digitised wrist band and you can charge your expenses throughout your visit using the wrist band.

You change into the Yu kata in the changing room on the first floor, and you then walk out to the main hall again to go to the Onsen area which is at the basement.

There are two Onsen pools and a steam room on the lower floor which are both indoor. The outdoor Onsen pools are on the upper floor which you have to walk up the wooden stairs. There are three pools outdoor and a few individual hot tubs and some deck chairs available for resting.

We went there during the weekday and it was already very crowded. Not only are there tourists from China/Taiwan, there are also quite a number of locals visiting. The pools may be congested due to the crowd.

Worth a visit !

Date of experience: February 2017
3  Thank aadroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews