We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Nagoya Cypress
Nearby Hotels
Ryokan 
$164
$155
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
$62
$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
$76
$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
Nagoya Liberty Hotel(Nagoya)(Great Value!)
$99
$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
$69
$67
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveler rating
49
106
49
13
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
106
49
13
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjr stationreasonable hotelconvenience storejapanese standardsfew minutes walkroom keyclassic hoteltwin bedshotel is locatedbusiness trippleasant staystayed one nightyour luggagefree wifigood sizetop floorother hotels
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 218 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The hotel is located very close to the staion - 5 minutes walk.
The rooms are not very big but this is enough. The breakfast is very good (especially the croissant).
The only negative point is that there is no wifi in the room.
It's a good hotel for business 'not for family).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PIERRE2NANTES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed twice for business the past 4 weeks and have no complaint.
Location is good, convinience store close by, close to Nagoya station.
Breakfast was ok but not special. Bathroom spacious with no complaints

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jans_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have stayed at The Cypress many times. The hotel has changed owners (the Hyatt, Sofitel, now Mercure) many times but the staff and decor remains unchanged, which is not a bad thing. Staff are helpful and courteous. The rooms are small but well presented.

Find the internet is quite pricey at 1050yen per day where most hotels in Japan are free especially when it comes to business hotels. The times I have had breakfast the western selection is limited but try the Japanese the food is good.

I would prefer if the hotel introduced a key drop box for those who stay longer than single day as waiting to hand key back in morning can take a while if behind those checking out.

Location is good as close to JR Station use the Shinkansen (bullet) train from Tokyo or use the Mu Train from Chubu Airport.

Room Tip: I always prefer away from the lifts (elevators) .
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

It was easy to find. Close to the train station and the JR Towers.
Very clean. Nice amenities. FRIENDLY staff.

Small room. But most places in japan are small. It was worth the price.
Breakfast was ok. It hit the spot. Wish that there was more of a variety or change in menu each day. Best orange juice ever and the coffee was nice.
They don't do room service.

Staying here enhanced our holiday experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zeddypink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

I loved this hotel for having a very cozy nice room, not too large, not small. I felt so relaxed. It's located very close from the exit of Nagoya Station. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful enough to bring wine glasses and extra towels as I asked them to (I always do this because I take a bath in the evening and the following morning, and would rather not use a half wet bath towel in the following morning).
Also I should mention that this hotel is not huge, and the lobby is quite small, with just a few staff (I saw 3 or 4 at the counter), and one of them greets and follows you to the elevator every time you come back to the hotel. It's a very nice thing, but if you are 'Don't pay any attention, leave me alone' type, you should choose some other hotel.
Wi-Fi is not provided, so you need to bring your own device.
Still, I did have a great time, and I was glad I picked up this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deartravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews