We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (771)
Filter reviews
772 results
Traveler rating
160
356
172
59
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
160
356
172
59
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the bus don quijote superior floor underground access shopping mall convenient location kansai airport bed room travelling by train japanese food breakfast buffet was good first morning located opposite top floor jr train station across the road sight seeing
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 772 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2019 via mobile

- 5 mins walk to kyoto station (hotel located opposite of kyoto station).
- I think we got room upgrade for the hotel (upgrade to superior room on 13th floor). The room is very spacious and the bathroom as well. one of the four hotels we occupied in japan with full size bathup.
Superior room have lounge access on13th floor with complimentary beverages.
- The hotel is very modern and looks new.
- Breakfast has many variety and taste good.

The downside :
- we arrived before check-in time and wanted to leave our luggages at the hotel. The hotel asked for our booking reservation and all of our passports. Later than when we got back to the hotel and did the check-in, we were ask the same documents again.

- extra tax (400 yen per 2 pax) who stay overnight in kyoto. I dont know whether it is a government policy or the hotel policy. Why don't just add the tax in hotel price?

Very recommended hotel in kyoto

Overall rating : 8.5/10

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank yanzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2019 via mobile

The Keihan is an Excellent hotel, very near Kyoto Station. If you come from the Shinkansen it is even closer as you get out from Hachijo exit.

Some reviewers said you have to walk a lot; in reality, Kyoto Station is huge and therefore you will have to walk some minutes always. This hotel is behind the station at Hachijo exit. This is closer to the Shinkansen tracks. The regular JR tracks are more towards the front of the station.

There is an elevator that goes to B1 level and connects with multiple restaurants and also you can go to JR lines from there. There is a mall next to the hotel and a Don Quijote that closes at midnight so you can make the most of your day. The mall has also a Daiso store so you can go crazy and would not have to carry tons of bags for too long!

The hotel is super clean, provides excellent service by the staff, and it is convenient in every way. There is a small convenience store next to the hotel as well. I will definitely come back to this hotel in the future.

Using Kyoto as a base: Kyoto has way too many things to see and do, but there are other places that are worth a visit and can be easily reached from Kyoto such as Nara, Uji, Osaka, Kobe and Nagoya. If you plan to spend at least 2 days exploring Kyoto and you are traveling with children, I highly recommend you using Kyoto as a base as Kyoto attractions tend to close very early, and you can go shopping after 5pm and very quickly get to your hotel while everyone else is squeezing on the trains back to Osaka (which is the other typical hub people use to visit Kansai area).

The buses to Kansai Airport are exactly outside the hotel, and the buses to Itami airport are just one block away. For the Kansai bus, go to the service desk at the bus office to buy your tickets and reserve your seat. For the Itami bus, go to bus stop G3, and purchase the tickets the same day in a vending machine that is on the corner- notice the tickets are valid only for the same day. We had a flight out of Itami to Narita and then to Houston at 7:50am. The earliest Itami bus is at 5:40am and it takes around one hour to get to Itami. This is sufficient time as the airport is small and the personnel there are constantly ensuring people are done with the check-in process on time for the flight.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Mitchelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2019

This hotel is in a great location for sightseeing in Kyoto. The Kyoto train and bus station in right across the street from the hotel. There is a direct underground walkway from the hotel and the Kyoto train station. You can walk all the way through to the bus station and the Kyoto Tower. The Kyoto train station is magnificent. Beautiful design and so many options for shopping and dining. The room we stayed in was very small, but very clean and quiet. Check in and check out was very quick and the staff is very helpful despite some of the language barrier with a few of the staff members. We would recommend taking advantage of the 24 hour unlimited bus pass for 600 yen. After 3 uses, the bus pass will be worth the 600 yen. You can purchase the bus pass at the hotel. To activate the card, you will first board the bus through the back side door and once you have reached your destination, you will insert the ticket into the machine by the driver. The ticket will we stamped with the date. Future bus rides: enter the bus from the back side door and exit from the door by the driver. You will need to show your ticket to the driver so that he can see the date. You do not need to place it in the machine. Many of the attractions you can reach by train and then by a local bus. There were times we found it was easier to hop on the local buses rather than walking all the way back to the train stations. We did have the Pasmo card, but there are some places in Japan that do not accept the Pasmo card. The Aeon Mall is next door to the Hotel Keihan which offers may options for shopping and dining. There is a Tully's Coffee Shop as well as a 7-Eleven and Lawson's. For Americans looking for "American" food we found a Tony Roma's with in walking distance of the hotel. The wifi at this hotel was pitiful.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2019 via mobile

Negatives:
There was a mistake made with our booking and our group was put into smoking rooms for our stay and we were unable to change rooms as the hotel was very busy.
Our room absolutely reeked...it is not good enough to simply put some diluted fabric spray in each room....the permanent fixtures of curtains, carpet, cushions, shower curtain need to be thoroughly cleaned or changed after every guest as they are a real health hazard for anyone who is not smoker.
There was also sticky coffee cup marks left on a surface and another in our group found a cigarette butt on their floor.
Checkin took too long as there was only 3 staff on and literally a queue out the door waiting to be served.
Positives:
Bed was comfy, breakfast was good.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Gypsy2829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2019 via mobile

This hotel has a direct underground that integrated directly to the train station, and also the underground mall... you can walk all the way through the underground to the Kyoto tower and shop all the ways.

The hotel also has the mall right directly beside it. Many eateries, restaurants are also in the mall.

One of the best choice if you wanted a convenient and yet good rates hotel in Kyoto

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Skywalker008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews