We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience for those who want to avoid tourist attractions and go for the real thing”

Kyoto Cuisine Jikishonbo Saiki
Reserve a Table
Ranked #84 of 491 Restaurants in Higashiyama
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Reviewed December 23, 2018

This restaurant is located in a narrow street you could easily miss if you do not pay attention. That location took our attention as potentially a real Kyoto Cuisine style restaurant. And the visit exceeded our expectations. Very warm welcome, the chef has offered to take place at the counter so he could explain in detail what he was preparing. It was September, mushroom time and we had made our reservation the evening before. So he arrived with a basket full of fresh mushrooms which was the base for the diner. All of the products were top rate and the chef has done magic. At the time of writing, we are 3 months later but we still have this experience fresh in memory. Thanks!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stephane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitsuru430318, オーナー at Kyoto Cuisine Jikishonbo Saiki, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2019

thank you for massage.
I wish to see you next time, if you would have next kyoto.
regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 13 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2017 via mobile

I just had fantastic dinner and recommend counter seats. Chef is fluent in English and will give you good guide through the great dinner. I suggest to go for the largest menu to be able to try most of his magic.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank KristianK960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2016

If you have already tried typical Japanese dishes and want to taste something different and more exquisit, this is the place to go. You will be able to know what "umami" is in this authentic Japanese restaurant. Although it is not a tourist oriented restaurant, I recommend it to connoisseurs of good food who are visitting Japan because the chef speaks fluent English and he is ready to answer your every question about his meticulously prepared dishes and Japanese culinary culture.

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank nanachatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2019
Google Translation

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2018
Google Translation

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kyoto Cuisine Jikishonbo Saiki also viewed

 
Higashiyama, Kyoto
 
Higashiyama, Kyoto
 

Been to Kyoto Cuisine Jikishonbo Saiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing