We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveler rating
50
75
28
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
50
75
28
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location sightseeing trip double bed rooms are small subway station easy walking distance restaurants and bars nishiki market japanese hotels higashiyama area yogurt minute walk nice hotel gion suitcases kyoto proximity
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 164 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2019 via mobile

Our room was a tight squeeze with our suitcases but manageable. Located near subway and a short walk to restaurants. Pillows are hard as rocks. Staff were helpful with all our enquiries. Breakfast was pretty basic but nice.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Wanderlustjewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murashita, フロント オフィス マネージャー at the b Kyoto Sanjo, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2019

Dear Mr. / Ms.

Thank you for the wonderful review.We are so happy to learn that you had such a great experience here with us at the b kyoto sanjo. There are so many restaurants, shops, and subway station right at our door step.
We hope you will be back again soon to explore more of the city.

Sincerely,

Front
Murashita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2019 via mobile

Stayed three nights here in January, and the location is good but just a little away from the main downtown core. Access to the subway is about a 5-7 minute walk to the river. City bus stations are nearby that will take you to all the main tourist sites. And the airport bus service is near by and very convenient (more so than taking the subway and train).
Rooms are small as we expected, but neat and clean.
There is an excellent vegan cafe nearby that serves excellent meals, bonus for me!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Hayashi88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murashita, フロント オフィス マネージャー at the b Kyoto Sanjo, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2019

Dear Mr. / Ms. Hayashi88

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed the special moment that the b kyoto sanjo were able to provide. We look forward to welcoming you back to to the hotel on your next visit to the city.

Sincerely,

Front
Murashita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2019

It was always going to be a hard act to follow after our stay in a beautiful ryokan in Kyoto and this hotel ticked a few boxes and not much else. Cons: the rooms are teeny, the bathroom in ours had a step up to it, and was a bit meh. Pro's: It's close to a train station and a short walk to the heart of Kyoto, there is a bottle shop nearby (!), we had the most divine and unexpected view of the sunrise over the rooftops.

It's a compact and functional hotel without a lot of soul, but for Kyoto, it's affordable and in a solid location.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boyos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murashita, フロント オフィス マネージャー at the b Kyoto Sanjo, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2019

Dear Mr. / Ms. Boyos

Thank you for the wonderful review.We are so happy to learn that you had such a great experience here with us at the b kyoto sanjo. There are so many restaurants, shops, and subway station right at our door step.
We hope you will be back again soon to explore more of the city.

Sincerely,

Front
Murashita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2019 via mobile

We stayed in Jan for 4 nights as part of a tour. We found the hotel expensive for what it was, in need of a refurbishment, very poor breakfast, old hard beds and a small bathroom and overall very disappointing. There is no lounge area to relax so it it back to the small soulless room.The location is a short walk out of the city centre so is quiet.
In my option there are far better places to stay in terms of value.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank C_A_O_0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murashita, フロント オフィス マネージャー at the b Kyoto Sanjo, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2019 via mobile

There are two room styles. I had the single room with the old bathroom style with shower over the bath and so tiny it’s hard to move in bathroom at all. Bed has hard mattress. Very basic facilities, breakfast not great. Better options in Kyoto
Apparently some rooms have been updated with walk in showers.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank TravelistaMelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murashita, フロント オフィス マネージャー at the b Kyoto Sanjo, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2019

Dear Mr. / Ms. TravelistaMelB

Thank you for this review following your recent stay at the b kyoto sanjo.
We were very concerned to learn of your feedback and would like to sincerely apologize for the services shortfalls you have encountered during your stay.
We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your comments further. We look forward to hearing from you at your convenience.

Sincerely,

Front
Murashita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews