We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveler rating
17
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
17
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sanjo station spacious rooms excellent location within walking distance gion district bathroom kyoto
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 19 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2019

Could not rate this place highly enough. As soon as you walk through the walkway to reception you can tell that the hotel is special. It's small but beautifully decorated.

Our room was large and spacious and the bathroom was luxurious.

The hotel is ideally located - within walking distance to Pontocho, Gion and Nishiki Market. Also a stones throw from the subway station.

We would love to return one day!

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mabelthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2018 via mobile

Fabulous location in Gion district. Lovely, clean room with breakfast delivered each morning. Great bathroom, good size. Very friendly staff who went out of their way to help. Would recommend this hotel for location and comfort.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank 261rachellel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

If you are planning a trip to Kyoto, consider staying at Hotel Alza. It’s a nice boutique hotel very conveniently located near the Gion district and in walking distance from a subway stop. The staff is incredibly helpful and really goes out of their way to help plan your dinners and activities. The rooms are good sized and you get a fresh pair of pajamas ever night (plus face and eye masks!). It’s a small hotel do there us no pool or gym. Breakfast included. Only minor negative is their Western breakfast (a little strange to get chips and sandwich for breakfast) so stick with the Bento box!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank sardajy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2018 via mobile

This is a well appointed boutique hotel, with spacious rooms.

The location is excellent, well within walking distance of Sanjo station. We came from Kansai and took a limousine bus that dropped us off at Sanjo.

The service at Alza is excellent for non-Japanese speaking tourists like ourselves:

Prior to arrival (few days), I wrote to them to book dinner for us, and they managed to get a seat for us at a Michelin starred keiseki restaurant. When I arrived, the Japanese man next to me asked how I had procured the reservation, seeing that I did not speak Japanese. Apparently, he had made a reservation 2 months in advance!

The hotel also provides print out maps to restaurants they have booked for you, making it a breeze to get to them.

Very comfortable stay indeed.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank ACLSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2018

I don't know how we got lucky enough find this fairly new and smaller boutique hotel in Kyoto, but I'm sure glad we did. The hotel is located in a great spot on the outskirts of Gion. Very easy walking to some really good restaurants, great shopping and the fish market.
The room was great, and very large. And perhaps the greatest bathroom/shower room I've ever seen in a hotel. And that can be saying a lot in Japan. But from the moment we arrived, the service was incredible. From a great welcome, to nonstop help to make we sure had a great visit to Kyoto, the staff really went above and beyond.
Hotel Alza was really a wonderful place to stay, if we are ever fortunate enough to back in Kyoto, staying there again would be a very easy decision.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank TW0623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews