We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and friendly staff ”
Review of Oagari

Oagari
Ranked #5 of 582 Restaurants in Higashiyama
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Gion
Description: Only here you can try fluffy "Kyoto Styled Okonomiyaki", Japanese savory pancake with tofu-based batter. Don't miss out this chance to try the great dishes by the chef who's been cooked Teppanyaki from the young age of 15! We have a various foods of vegetarian menus and gluten free options.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ate here for dinner after wandering around the nearby geisha area. It’s small and only has a few tables so I would recommend booking. We had to wait around an hour for a table. The waitresses were very friendly and spoke good English. They were happy to accommodate a vegetarian. My friends particularly enjoyed the chicken and the veggie okonomiyaki was very tasty.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank CandyB101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A great find in Kyoto and the best meal we have had in the city. We were lucky enough to get a table here at late notice. The food was first class and paired with a sake tasting board. The staff are very friendly and the service brilliant. I wouldn’t hesitate to eat here again if we can go back to Kyoto one day.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank AndyKiddier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentoi2017, オーナー at Oagari, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for saying that. As you mentioned, we pay exceptional attention not only to food but to pairing with sake. I'm so happy to hear you liked it!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2019 via mobile

We ordered 2 large okonomiyaki, 2 bowls of yakisoba, and 2 servings of chicken. Yakisoba was ok but serving was pretty small for the price. If you are hungry and eating just that, it won’t be enough at all. Taste wise it was ok but nothing to shout about. Chicken was fantastic though. One of the best I’ve eaten. My younger child loved it so much he wanted more after finishing 1 whole piece on his own and was upset when told there was no more left. Okonomiyaki serving was huge but maybe we are not used to the mushy texture...we prefer the ones we had at botejyu in Tokyo. Taste wise it was ok.

Overall it was an ok meal. I’m glad I gave it a try but prob wun make the trip back again the next time I’m in Kyoto.

Plus point is everyone is very friendly and the waitress speaks wonderful fluent English so that was very helpful.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank crysstall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2019 via mobile

Don’t feel the need to add too much. Friendly staff, that speaks really proper English and interesting interpretation of dishes that taste excellent. What else do you really need to know?

A little difficult to locate so stay alert for the small stair case and head upstairs to the second floor

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank CLJ_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentoi2017, オーナー at Oagari, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2019

We're glad to read that!. Your review encourages her a lot! She looks so happy because of your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2019 via mobile

Quaint restaurant with delicious Kyoto Cuisine and personalized services. And the best part was that they were able to prepare it all gluten free!

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank GFpsycho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentoi2017, オーナー at Oagari, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2019

We appreciate you coming. It was a nice time to talk with your great family! Hope you have an amazing trip in Japan!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oagari also viewed

 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Oagari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing