We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (714)
Filter reviews
714 results
Traveler rating
252
335
94
15
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
252
335
94
15
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews big step great location the main street nishiki market around the corner walking distance great bakery taxi stand hotel entrance king room restaurants and shopping free wifi bed was comfortable subway station tozai line bus stop laundry room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 714 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights in a nice sized twin bedroom especially by Japan standards. Beds were very comfortable. Big step up into the compact bathroom.The hotel staff were very friendly with good English. No breakfast was available but the recommendations made by staff were excellent.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank CiaraD114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgmk2015, Reception at Hotel Gran MS Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2019

Dear Mr./Ms. CiaraD114

Thank you very much for choosing HOTEL GRAN Ms KYOTO on this time.
In addition, we sincerely appreciate that you posted a review about the experience during your stay.
It will be a great help to improve our quality and service.

Our guest room is prepared for good night sleep and comfortable stay.
We proudly prepare the SIMONS mattress for ultimate comfort.
In addition, DHC OLIVE GOLD bath amenities make you refresh.
As you know, there are a big step into the bathroom, however an extra step is available upon request to step into bathroom easier.

Did you have a good time in Kyoto?
Your warm comments motivate our staff.
We will try to improve our skills and hospitality with best effort.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Hiroshi Kosaka
Reception
HOTEL GRAN Ms KYOTO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2019 via mobile

The double room is terrible. As a couple, we reserved the same room we reserve everywhere (we don’t need something else...). It’s a room with no normal window, only an opaque window. locked, no light/air. The rate we paid (for non cancelation rate) was double then their rate. Room was dirty and staff were not nice, nor did they tried to help when we asked for a room with a window. Safe is too tiny for your belongings, but the hotel has a big sign saying there were theft cases so keep your stuff in the safe.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Michelle1205m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgmk2015, Reception at Hotel Gran MS Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2019

Dear Mr./Ms. Michelle1205m

Thank you very much for choosing HOTEL GRAN Ms KYOTO on this time.
In addition, we sincerely appreciate that you posted a review about the experience during your stay.
It will be a great help to improve our quality and service.

I was shocked to read your bad experience of us. I'm regret that you couldn't satisfied with our service.
As you said, a window in our double room is opaque because we are surrounded by many buildings.
Also, it is locked for the safety and security reason. Please let us know if you need to open the window.
However our double room contains comfortable queen bed(150cm width) and quiet atmosphere.
If you need a natural light and street view, our king room is the best choice.

We kindly ask all guests to use in-room safe for important and valuable items because attack of theft group on Western Japan is broadcasted.
Our in-room safe is compact, so you can also leave them at reception.

I regret to hear your negative experience on this time.
Your report helps us to improve our quality and service. We will keep trying our best.
Again, Thank you very much for staying with HOTEL GRAN Ms KYOTO.
We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Hiroshi Kosaka
Reception
HOTEL GRAN Ms KYOTO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2019

My wife and I stay at this hotel for three nights during our trip to Kyoto. The staff were polite and professional. The entire hotel had a very new feel to it. The two-person room was very clean and the bed was a decent size for a Japan hotel. The shower had good water pressure. Besides free wifi, there weren't any amenities.

The location was great: it's a less than 10 minute walk from the Teramachi and Shinkyogoku Shopping Street. If that's not your jam, then the surrounding area is full of shops and local restaurants. The subway is also a 5-10 walk away as well.

It was a good stay and there was nothing to complain about, but if I was ever in the area again, I'd look for a better value.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Howard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgmk2015, Reception at Hotel Gran MS Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2019

Dear Mr./Ms. Howard C

Thank you very much for choosing HOTEL GRAN Ms KYOTO on this time.
In addition, we sincerely appreciate that you posted a review about the experience during your stay.
It will be a great help to improve our quality and service.

As many guests said,our location is convenient for going around in Kyoto city.
You can access major sightseeing spots easily and directly from our hotel.
Also, there are so many shops and restaurants around our hotel.
Gion and Ponto-cho are great choices to find your favorite restaurants.
I hope you found your favorite shops and restaurants in Kyoto.

Did you have a good time in Kyoto?
Your warm comments motivate our staff.
We will try to improve our skills and hospitality with best effort.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Hiroshi Kosaka
Reception
HOTEL GRAN Ms KYOTO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2019 via mobile

The Grand MS was decent, and clean. The photos really don't cut it. The double room is much smaller than we expected, especially for the money paid. That being said it was very clean, and the bed comfortable. Staff friendly. The location is fantastic, right next to the Nishiki Markets, Pontocho and Gion in walking distance. We only took a bus once.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Sinead777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgmk2015, Reception at Hotel Gran MS Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2019

Dear Mr./Ms. Sinead777

Thank you very much for choosing HOTEL GRAN Ms KYOTO on this time.
In addition, we sincerely appreciate that you posted a review about the experience during your stay.
It will be a great help to improve our quality and service.

As many guests said,our location is convenient for going around in Kyoto city.
You can access major sightseeing spots easily and directly from our hotel.
Also, there are so many shops and restaurants around our hotel.
Gion and Ponto-cho are great choices to find your favorite restaurants.
I hope you found your favorite shops and restaurants in Kyoto.

Did you have a good time in Kyoto?
Your warm comments motivate our staff.
We will try to improve our skills and hospitality with best effort.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Hiroshi Kosaka
Reception
HOTEL GRAN Ms KYOTO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2019 via mobile

Although I agree that the location is good, but if I had to do this again I would choose another hotel for many reasons including the following:

1. We were informed that the room had beds for five (5) people, however, it only had bed for two and thin mattress for three (3) others.
2. The room "windows" are non-existent and there's a fake partition. Don't get fooled by the Japanese style room. It just means low floor room, with no windows with crazy street noise (go figure).
3. The bathrooms are extremely small even by Japanese standard.
4. No soap in bathroom.
5. Definitely not enough towels for more than 2 guests even though room is for five people.

When we asked to discuss the situation with the manager, we were informed that he/she is not available as she's not in the hotel and would not be able to call to the room. We'd have to wait for her to call the lobby.

There are much better options so I would avoid or not pay more than $150/night. We paid $350/night (albeit during cherry blossom season) but it's a terrible value.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank alio6699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgmk2015, Reception at Hotel Gran MS Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2019

Dear Mr./Ms. alio6699

Thank you very much for choosing HOTEL GRAN Ms KYOTO.
In addition, we sincerely appreciate that you posted a review about the experience during your stay.
It will be a great help to improve our quality and service.

I feel sorry about your experience in our hotel.
Please refer the following note for your experience.

1.You room, Western Japanese room is combined with two single beds and futon(up to 3 Japanese style bed/self making). Japanese futon should be put on the tatami mat area. We recommend this room for family and guest who want to try Japanese culture.

2. As you know, there are no window in Western Japanese room because this hotel is surrounded by graveyard or other buildings. Natural sun light will come into the room even if no window there. If you need a Japanese room with window, Deluxe Japanese room(up to 8 people) or Japanese room with garden view(up to 6 people) will be a perfect choice.

3. Bathroom in Western Japanese room is specious with body washing area and tab. Also, toilet is separated from them.

4. Actually, soap is not provided in our hotel. However we proudly prepare the DHC OLIVE GOLD series bath amenities which includes shampoo, treatment shower gel and hand soap.

5. Towels are installed in bathroom with the number of people as you booked. Please do not hesitate to request for more towels if you need.

I kindly ask you to book the another type of room if you need western beds.
Of course we are happy to receive inquiries about guest rooms from guests before making a reservation

Again, we appreciate your feedback.
It will be a great help to improve the service and satisfaction of guest.

Sincerely yours,

Hiroshi Kosaka
Reception
HOTEL GRAN Ms KYOTO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews