We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,240)
Filter reviews
2,240 results
Traveler rating
874
1,061
230
50
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
874
1,061
230
50
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews subway station nishiki market walking distance karasuma oike top floor other hotels minute walk japanese standards small room hotel lobby stayed here for nights central location location is great buffet breakfast bus stop green tea japanese restaurant
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 2,240 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2019 via mobile

ここを選んだ理由としては、大浴場(温泉)がついていたからです。ロケーションも良く、地下鉄の駅から徒歩5分で、部屋も綺麗で、スタッフの対応も凄く親切でした。
The reason I chooses this hotel is, there is a Hot Spring Spa. The location is five mins walk from the subway station and it is really accessible to any location. The room was clean and the staff was very nice.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank amigachika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkyo, フロントスタッフ at Hotel Monterey Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

 この度はホテルモントレ京都にご宿泊頂きまして誠に有り難うございます。当館ご利用にご満足頂けました様で何よりでございます。当館は最上階13階に天然温泉のスパを設けており、ご利用頂きました皆様にもご満足頂けております(ご宿泊者様入浴料1回1,770円)。ご投稿者様におかれましてもご満足頂けました様で何よりでございます。私共ホテルスタッフにもお褒めの言葉を頂戴し大変光栄に存じます。
 また次回のご来館をホテルスタッフ一同心よりお待ち申し上げております。

ホテルモントレ京都
宿泊課フロント 嵯峨

Thank you very much for staying with us, Hotel Monterey Kyoto. We are very pleased to read your heartful reviews. As you mentioned, we have natural hot spring SPA on the top floor(it is an extra 1,770JPY).
We look forward to your next visit to Kyoto.

Best regards,

Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Front Desk M. SAGA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2018 via mobile

This is my second stay at the Monterey Kyoto. A fabulous experience again where everything went very well, thanks for Concierge Magara. She managed the room reservations with many changes and booked all my dinners for my two stays with great efficiency and working with her was such a pleasure. My child needed some special prescription glasses to be shipped home and Magara San was such a great help. Thank you so much.

The complimentary smartphone in the room which allows free international and local calls and data came in really handy when we were out and about in town. A very nice touch.

Room was spacious and clean and the extra toilet was a great convenience with three people in the room.

Great location with shopping streets and market and subway nearby.

I will definitely return to this hotel again.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank ZhuangTaiTai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkyo, フロントスタッフ at Hotel Monterey Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your second stay. We are very glad to read your heartful reviews. We will give your message to Concierge staff Magara.
We look forward to your third visit.

Best regards,

Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Front Desk M. SGA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2018 via mobile

Our family of 4 (2 small kids) stayed here and really enjoyed it. They provide a phone with travel apps and local maps and info, and from which you can make local calls for free. We found this to be a thoughtful and really useful addition. Close to Nishiki market and Emperor's palace.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank umagold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkyo, フロントスタッフ at Hotel Monterey Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for staying with us, Hotel Monterey Kyoto. We are very happy to read your reviews. As you menion, free smartphone is equiped in all of our guest rooms. Our accomodating guests can use it for free.
We look forward to your next visit to Kyoto.

Best regards,

Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Front Desk M. SAGA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2018 via mobile

This was the best hotel I stayed at in Japan. The room was spacious compared to other hotels in Japan, modern, clean and I found it very comfortable. Location is great with plenty of shops, restaurants and train station all in walking distance. Breakfast buffet was great with a good spread of both western and Japanese options.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank mandycart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkyo, フロントスタッフ at Hotel Monterey Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for staying with us, Hotel Monterey Kyoto. We are very glad to read your highly appreciated reviews. We are located in the center of Kyoto city. Two of Kyoto city subway stations and one of the main Bus teraminal 'Shijo-Karasuma' bus stops are close to us. Several tourist spots are in walkable distance.
We look forward to your next visit to Kyoto.

Best regards,

Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Front Desk M. SAGA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2018

We stayed for a couple of days and it was a very and good experience. The handy phone does not call Australia and you can’t use it hotspot. The room size is okay, on the smaller side. Breakfast was average.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tan2070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews