We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience The Museum of Kyoto
from $70.91
More Info
from $103.99
More Info
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveler rating
48
90
48
8
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
48
90
48
8
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small museum gift shop films paintings collection japan activity
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 204 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2019

I can’t rate the space allocated to their collection highly at all - but we were super lucky that the special exhibit while we were in Kyoto was on Uniko-e Paintings - and was outstanding. I particularly loved the wigs on display - explaining in English exactly what kind of woman would have what kind of hair-do. This made it easy to imagine just who the ladies pictured by the artists might have been. This section was worth the price. But if you aren’t lucky to have a must-see exhibit. - skip this museum.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank thesouplady-two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2019

I did not set off to see this lovely building, but stumbled upon it. From the outside, the old building calls you to come and see the preservation inside. The old bank section is beautiful, but the courtyard and beyond are also intriguing and lovely to see. This is definitely worth a visit on your stroll through Kyoto.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2019

At one glance one can see the change of Kyoto historically on a gigantic screen. Not crowded.

There is a interesting shops on the ground floor one can buy Kyoto products or taste Sake.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank kayoko t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2018 via mobile

Very small exhibit on the second floor, 500¥ for it was just way too much. Only few things explained in English. I was fairly disappointed.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Bamboodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2018

The exhibition on the history and art of the Gion Float Festival was particularly enjoyable. The museum once housed the Kyoto Branch of the Bank of Japan.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank warrenD190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews