We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,416)
Filter reviews
1,416 results
Traveler rating
736
521
113
31
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
736
521
113
31
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free shuttle executive floor the river city hall subway station tour group direct access top floor large bathroom within walking distance breakfast buffet bell staff old world bit dated comfortable rooms non smoking hotel restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,416 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

Lovely convenient location with very friendly staff.
Bathroom is a highlight with ample room for 2 people to use
Seperate shower & bath was very convenient & much appreciated.
Fast free Wi Fi in the room was a bonus as were the daily complementary 2 bottles of water.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018

First impression of large luxurious lobby with excellent service from front reception despite check-in quite late at night. Rooms did not disappoint, comfortable and modern. Wide choice of breakfast buffet, western and Japanese style Stayed as part of pre-cruise tour so all transport provided and no time to explore the surrounding area. English speaking staff and signage so language no problem

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gilliano9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2018

This large hotel is situated just steps away from the Nishiki market and the main shopping street. Access to the underground shopping plaza is via elevators from the hotel, so this also is very convenient. Staff was very courteous (par for the course in Japan), rooms clean and spacious. There are taxis on site if needed.
The Geon district with its restaurants and nightlife is a 15minute walk away.
Two bottles of complimentary water was available each day and wifi is free.
Elevators can be a bit slow at times but there are multiple elevator banks available.
Would defiinitely return if in Kyoto

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PPM81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2018 via mobile

We chose this hotel because we’re traveling with our two children and it’s very hot right now in Kyoto. The fact that this hotel had a swimming pool was a plus for us. Until we wanted to use it. They charge you for it! 32 bucks a person. Ridiculous.
The hotel smells old, rooms are not very pretty. Location is good tough.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
3  Thank Maru K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2018 via mobile

My family and I enjoyed three night stay here as part of a pre-cruise land tour. We enjoyed our stay very much - it is convenient to many popular areas like Gino district and Nino castle, there many restaurants at the hotel as well as in the basement and within walking distance, same for high end and convenient store shopping and scenic river walks. After traveling for 24 hours to get to Kyoto, we found the hot shower with great water pressure, the many bathroom amenities (like combs, brushes and bath salts) to be relaxing and a nice surprise was that we could plug our cell phones and camera batteries into the outlets without digging through our luggage to find our converters! Another nice touch was the two free bottles of mineral water we had in the room each day, especially after a long flight. There was both a bathtub and a shower. We had a room on the tenth floor and it was quiet with a beautiful view of the three mountains surrounding the city. The breakfast buffet is one of the best we have experienced with many Japanese and Western and continental items to choose - something for all tastes and a great way to sample Japanese food. We didn't care for the dinner buffet, not as much selection and very costly (about $45 US per person), but it was convenient after a long day of sightseeing...we should have tried one of the restaurants in the basement that looked good. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank Cathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews