We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (563)
Filter reviews
563 results
Traveler rating
259
237
52
10
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
259
237
52
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews side street nishiki market shijo dori amazing shower great location drug store walking distance classical music rice public bath hotel is located food market bit tricky to find yasaka shrine gion area the main shopping street rooms are small
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 563 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2018

The location on Shijo is excellent but the the staff lacks professionalism, and most have poor English. The concierge, on the other hand, speaks good English, but she is an exceedingly chilly and unfriendly woman--verging on hostile. She is the most unpleasant concierge I have ever encountered in my many travels and made me not want to stay at the hotel again. There are numerous problems with the staff and the management. Whenever mistakes are made, all they say is "Sorry" but don't remedy the situation. I had a problem with the climate control in my room (it was very hot) and the staff just couldn't seem to figure out what was going on. It took numerous frustrating efforts (over several days) to resolve the problem but the staff seemed clueless about the matter and didn't seem eager to find a solution.

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2018

I spend 11 nights here with my little daughter, and it was just perfect!

Our room was very clean, modern and comfortable and most of all it was quiet! I have experienced some very thin and poor quality windows at other places in Japan. At Grand Bach Hotel we finally could sleep without being disturbed by street noise.

We also loved the washing machines (which are being used all the time- it would be perfect if there would be even more).
There is even one male and one female onsen available. Loved it!

The friendly and highly skillful concierge has helped us a lot about transportation and many more issues.

The hotel location between two major subway stations is just perfect. The main shopping and restaurant areas are even reachable by foot.

When in Kyoto we will definitely stay at Grand Bach again.

Room Tip: As usual in Japan, beds are a little smaller than in the US/EU. As a family you might want to skip the smallest room category.
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank LightLuggage_blog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. The room is tiny, but has some nice amenities. They give you pajamas to wear, there is a complimentary bottle of water each day, and some English speaking TV channels. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The location is central and close to several train and subway lines.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank SZing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2018

The room was small even by Japanese standard.

The bathroom was even smaller than what I had expected.

But it had all the necessary room amenities.

The hotel is fairly new. There is complementary after dinner drinks and snacks (after 930pm I believe). The after dinner snacks consist of rice on soup and a selection of pickled vegetables.

But location more than made up for it. Being on a main road, there were department stores, convenience stores, Nishiki Market, plus the Terramachi covered shopping street are all nearby. Plenty of food choices as well. Hotel entrance as mentioned is on an alley off the main street.

Stayed at the 9th floor of the hotel when the Osaka earthquake happened. Building shook up and down, then left and right for less than a minute I think. No big deal. Everyone went on with their regular routine.

Gion and Pontocho Alley are about a 15 min walk.

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank bri733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2018

Staid with my family of 4 for two nights early June in this premise. Must say the location is excellent and easy to find. It's right between Karasuma stn and Karawamachi stn, and has a Matsumoto Kyoshi drug store right down stairs. Around the neighbor, you can find many department stores, restaurants, and the famous Nishiki Market. Our standard room comes with two comfy twin beds, a very nice massage shower facility, and a sofa seat, which are all nicely decorated with good ambience. They offer free MOD with a good selection of shows for kids to watch, and the beds are very comfortable with couple of soft and firm pillows to choose from. Their breakfast is superb, with both Japanese or Western set meals to choose from, and top up with all you can eat side dishes on the bar (bread, fruits, milk, coffee, etc). The Japanese breakfast is just amazing, with a drawer box layout with all kinds of small dishes to savor, while the western is equally detailed with cocktail style dishes laid on a 3 layer tea tray. They also offer afternoon tea and late nite rice with tea snacks free of charge, how bout that for a change! Then, the location is perfect for travelers who want to visit local department stores, the markets, and short walking distance to the Yasaka Shrine.
If you like to jog like i do, you can go straight north to the huge Kyoto Imperial Palace or northwest Nijo Castle, all very accessible and with few traffic during early mornings.
This is truly one of the best hotels i've every staid in Japan, and will recommend friends to stay here if they visit kyoto! I love this hotel!

Room Tip: All floors and rooms are nice.
  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews