We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (575)
Filter reviews
575 results
Traveler rating
265
242
53
10
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
265
242
53
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews side street nishiki market shijo dori amazing shower great location drug store walking distance classical music hotel is located rice public bath fish market the main shopping street bit tricky to find gion area underground passage two single beds
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 575 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2018

I spend 11 nights here with my little daughter, and it was just perfect!

Our room was very clean, modern and comfortable and most of all it was quiet! I have experienced some very thin and poor quality windows at other places in Japan. At Grand Bach Hotel we finally could sleep without being disturbed by street noise.

We also loved the washing machines (which are being used all the time- it would be perfect if there would be even more).
There is even one male and one female onsen available. Loved it!

The friendly and highly skillful concierge has helped us a lot about transportation and many more issues.

The hotel location between two major subway stations is just perfect. The main shopping and restaurant areas are even reachable by foot.

When in Kyoto we will definitely stay at Grand Bach again.

Room tip: As usual in Japan, beds are a little smaller than in the US/EU. As a family you might want to skip the smallest room category.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank LightLuggage_blog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. The room is tiny, but has some nice amenities. They give you pajamas to wear, there is a complimentary bottle of water each day, and some English speaking TV channels. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The location is central and close to several train and subway lines.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank SZing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2018

The room was small even by Japanese standard.

The bathroom was even smaller than what I had expected.

But it had all the necessary room amenities.

The hotel is fairly new. There is complementary after dinner drinks and snacks (after 930pm I believe). The after dinner snacks consist of rice on soup and a selection of pickled vegetables.

But location more than made up for it. Being on a main road, there were department stores, convenience stores, Nishiki Market, plus the Terramachi covered shopping street are all nearby. Plenty of food choices as well. Hotel entrance as mentioned is on an alley off the main street.

Stayed at the 9th floor of the hotel when the Osaka earthquake happened. Building shook up and down, then left and right for less than a minute I think. No big deal. Everyone went on with their regular routine.

Gion and Pontocho Alley are about a 15 min walk.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank bri733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2018

Staid with my family of 4 for two nights early June in this premise. Must say the location is excellent and easy to find. It's right between Karasuma stn and Karawamachi stn, and has a Matsumoto Kyoshi drug store right down stairs. Around the neighbor, you can find many department stores, restaurants, and the famous Nishiki Market. Our standard room comes with two comfy twin beds, a very nice massage shower facility, and a sofa seat, which are all nicely decorated with good ambience. They offer free MOD with a good selection of shows for kids to watch, and the beds are very comfortable with couple of soft and firm pillows to choose from. Their breakfast is superb, with both Japanese or Western set meals to choose from, and top up with all you can eat side dishes on the bar (bread, fruits, milk, coffee, etc). The Japanese breakfast is just amazing, with a drawer box layout with all kinds of small dishes to savor, while the western is equally detailed with cocktail style dishes laid on a 3 layer tea tray. They also offer afternoon tea and late nite rice with tea snacks free of charge, how bout that for a change! Then, the location is perfect for travelers who want to visit local department stores, the markets, and short walking distance to the Yasaka Shrine.
If you like to jog like i do, you can go straight north to the huge Kyoto Imperial Palace or northwest Nijo Castle, all very accessible and with few traffic during early mornings.
This is truly one of the best hotels i've every staid in Japan, and will recommend friends to stay here if they visit kyoto! I love this hotel!

Room tip: All floors and rooms are nice.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 1981bruceh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2018 via mobile

Excellent location, clean and functional, value for money. Given that hotel rooms in Japan are typically small, Grand Bach is no difference. However, they do take care of details such as a nice shower panel with adjustable shower jets to sooth and massage your tired body after a day of shopping and sightseeing. It has an excellent location, within walking distance to Nishi Market, Gion district and right smacked in the shopping street. Real value for money!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank JaniceWongLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews