We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (405)
Filter reviews
405 results
Traveler rating
194
176
25
10
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
194
176
25
10
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leave the key boutique style tourist sights nice hotel room key short walk boutique hotel within walking distance the nearest subway station shopping area the bus japanese breakfast shijo karasuma nishiki market compared to other hotels enjoyed our stay rooms are small
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 405 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2019

Itoya Hotel Kyoto is excellently located on a main street (busy but never noisy) in central Kyoto. The hotel has a lovely, small breakfast room/cafe that overlooks the main street and has a nice balcony. Reception is on the second floor (1st floor for Aussies) and is staffed by very friendly personnel who speak good English. We were pleased to get an upgrade to a larger room with windows on two sides and good natural light. The only downside is that this was expensive. We thought it worth the cost given that we had 4 nights in Kyoto and did not want to be in a small, dark room. The hotel is within walking distance of a number of shrines, temples and castles and most importantly it is surrounded by good Japanese and other restaurants. We enjoyed our stay at the Itoya Hotel Kyoto.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itoya-hotel, フロント at Kyoto Itoya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2019

Hello.
Thank you for sharing the review about the location, our staffs and our rooms.
we are pleased that you felt comfortable to stay at our hotel.
We're lookig foward to seeing you again here.

Thank you, Arigato
kyoto ITOYA hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2019

We spent a few days at the Itoya at the end of March, just as the cherry blossom was emerging.

The hotel is situated conveniently between two subway stations on the Karasuma subway line, Gojo and Shijo. Each is an easy walk away but Shijo is probably the most convenient and, as a bonus, there is a branch of Starbucks almost next door to Shijo; convenient for breakfast.

The reception staff were charming and most helpful. We were able to leave our luggage there before check in time and it was taken to our room whilst we went into town.

Alongside reception is a lounge area where drinks are available (a discount applies for one day of your stay) and there are books, boardgames and travel information; breakfast is also served here.

Our room, which looked out at the front of the hotel, had a comfortable double bed and was quite spacious enough to accommodate our rather bulky luggage. There was an effective air conditioner and the bathroom was the wet room style with shower, deep bath and lavatory as commonly found in Japan.

Some other reviewers have complained about the requirement to leave ones hotel key at reception whilst going out but we did not find this a hindrance and were actually quite glad not to have to carry the key.

We would cheerfully stay at this hotel again.

NB, on the ground floor next to the hotel entrance there is a restaurant which is not associated with the hotel. We had one meal here but were disappointed with the quality and quantity of the food. I would suggest that other travellers consider this.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cottonseeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itoya-hotel, reception staff at Kyoto Itoya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2019

Hello.

Thank you for the lovely review !!!!
We're very happy that you are satisfied with the location, the receptiopn staffs and the our key.
It means a lot to us.
When you stay at our hotel again, we will recommend good restaurant.
We’re looking forward to seeing you again.

Thank you, Arigatou.
Kyoto ITOYA Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2019

We stayed at the hotel on our own for 2 days just prior to our Intrepid Tours Japan trip. Overall, the property was rated as budget but we felt it performed far above that standard. The front desk, located on the second level, was accessible by elevator, and the staff was congenial and helpful and most spoke enough English for us to get by. Breakfasts were not buffet style but ordered from 4 choices and were excellent. The bathroom facilities were western standard and quite sufficient. Although the room was on the small side (admittedly by USA standards) it was efficient and comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel for its amenities and also its location near several of the iconic sites but also near both bus and subway transportation. If we return to Kyoto we would definitely put this property at the top of our list.

Room tip: We were on the 7th floor facing the busy street at the front of the biulding but it was very quiet in the room
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itoya-hotel, フロント at Kyoto Itoya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2019

Hello.
What a lovely review!
We're very glad to hear that you said about our staffs, rooms and location.
It means a lot to us.
We're looking foward to seeing you again.

Thank you very much, Arigato
kyoto ITOYA hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2019

Very nice hotel, great location, comfortable. Only issue was check in surprise. 3 days room reservation was prepaid online. Online receipt stated room rate included taxes and fees. It did not. Additional fees were charged upon check in. This increased daily room rate.

Felt like bait and switch. No other hotel in same country did this. Showed reception staff receipt, amount paid and disclosure the payment included taxes, surcharges, etc.

Hotel reception is located on second floor. The entrance is on first floor set back from a main street. A single elevator takes you to second floor for check in.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank biztravel2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itoya-hotel, フロント at Kyoto Itoya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2019

Hello.
Thank you for sharing your review with us.
We're sorry about the payment. However, every guests have to pay for accommodation tax when check-in even though prepaid according Kyoto City. Please understand about the tax.
But we're happy that you said our hotel was comfortable to stay.
Hope you come back to our hotel again.

Thank you,
kyoto ITOYA hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2019

The hotel is a relatively easy walk up the main street from Kyoto railway station. The building in nondescript on the outside with modern decor inside including the rooms. We were very pleased with the room and ensuite and even the tea making facilities which we used morning and night. The staff in the hotel were from the room cleaners to the front desk. All were ready to help make our stay easier and more enjoyable. We were able to purchase food from Diamaru and bring it back to the hotel and eat in the dining area - something you would not usually be able to do in a hotel. The dining area has a balcony over looking the street which was a popular place for guests to eat and drink.
Our group of four were good walkers by the time we reached Kyoto and found walking to Gion was no great hardship.
I would definitely stay in this hotel again for the comfort and convenience, and friendly and accommodating staff.

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itoya-hotel, フロント at Kyoto Itoya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2019

Hi. What a lovely review.
Thank you for sharing your review with us.
We are happy to hear that you enojoyed staying at our hotel and you want to come back again.
Also, it is such an honor to be able to have you say such a thing about our staffs.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Thank you,
kyoto ITOYA hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews