We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,635)
Filter reviews
1,635 results
Traveler rating
450
750
318
79
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
450
750
318
79
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shuttle bus shuttle service revolving restaurant laura ashley indoor pool aeon mall nespresso machine train tracks breakfast buffet large hotel minute walk the hotel offers stayed for nights spacious rooms located close japan standards main station
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
233 - 238 of 1,635 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2017 via mobile

This hotel is conveniently located about a ten minute walk from the Kyoto train station and shopping malls, but you do have to cross a very busy highway to get to and from the hotel. (The hotel does provide a shuttle service to the train station, but we did not utilize it). The neighborhood (busy highway, train tracks) and the nondescript exterior of the hotel didn't appeal to me, but the interior was clean and modern. We had a western style room on the 6th floor with two beds. It was a decent size, quiet and comfortable with free wi-fi and a wide array of toiletries ranging from toothbrushes to lotions. Overall, it was a nice hotel and we had no complaints with the accommodations. We would not hesitate to stay there again.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Corihi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
お客様サービス担当支配人, sb at RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel!

Our staff truly appreciates your kind words, and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Western style room and the variety of amenities that we offer. While our hotel is only about a 7-minute walk from Kyoto Station, to avoid crossing over one of the busiest streets in Kyoto, during your next visit please feel free to use our free shuttle bus which commutes to and from the station every fifteen minutes.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2017

Stayed here for 7 nights, room only, no breakfast.
A bit pricey for the standard and size of room but it was clean and comfortable.The staff were efficient and friendly.
Major point in its favour is location - 2 minutes by shuttle and 5 minutes on foot from Kyoto Station which is the epicentre of everything in the city. We were using a Japan Rail Pass and local buses to get around and being close to the rail and bus terminals made this so easy.
One sour note was the 25 Aussie dollars we were charged for 2 coffees in the hotel lounge - try the Veloce Cafe near the railway station, much better coffee for A$2.50.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank Burnleypudding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
お客様サービス担当支配人, sb at RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

While we are pleased that our staff was able to assist you quickly and efficiently, we are sorry to hear that you felt our prices are not equal to the services we provide and that the coffee did not measure up to your standards. Our concierge staff is always happy to provide suggestions for restaurants and cafes in the area, but we hope to welcome you back and show you everything our hotel has to offer.

Sincerely,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2017 via mobile

Front desk or hotel horrible service. Time to check in is 2:00 and we got to the front desk in couple mins early and we could not check in " sorry but you have to wait couple mins " so we came back to the end of the line about 4 people a front of us then we got there on time. I guess you have to wait 5 mins to be special. If the front desk help you couple mins early is not special. Sorry but bad service and we don't need that kind of your special because it is NOT

Date of stay: April 2017
1  Thank Travis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
お客様サービス担当支配人, sb at RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short.

We are terribly sorry for the confusion and delay regarding check-in. During high seasons of tourism our staff do their best to provide each and every guest with quality service, but unfortunately it seems we have failed you in this respect.

If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have enjoyed.

Sincerely,
Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2017

Very good hotel : near Kyoto station within 5-10 minute walk, shuttle bus drivers are very polite, cozy room for guests when waiting for bus; efficient staff and services especially housekeeping and concierge. They provided great help for our transportation guidance etc.

However, there are two disappointing points are: cannot reserve a table for breakfast, we hope to enjoy a buffet breakfast on the last day of trip before departing to airport but there are at least thirty people queueing in front of the restaurant. Also, due to recent allergic problem, we request a non smoking room through email at least three weeks before check in but it is finally not allocated.

Overall, Rihga Royal Hotel is good and I would recommend it to friends who do not mind to stay in smoking room.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happymary168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
お客様サービス担当支配人, sb at RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

While we are pleased to hear that our staff was able to assist you, we deeply apologize that a non-smoking room was not prepared for you upon check-in. During this high tourism season our staff is doing their best to meet the needs of every guest, but unfortunately it seems that we have fallen short. We are also terribly sorry about our policy regarding reservations for breakfast within our hotel.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future and show you everything our hotel has to offer.

Sincerely,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2017 via mobile

Don't judge this hotel by how it looks from the outside, it's just ugly. However, the interior looks nice and modern. Rooms are clean and comfortable for 3 of us. The best water pressure I've ever had in a hotel anywhere in the world. Excellent staff. The shuttle service between the hotel and the train station is very convenient. Would stay there again.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank diprivandoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
お客様サービス担当支配人, sb at RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel!

Our staff truly appreciates your kind words. We are pleased to hear that you were able to take full advantage of our free shuttle service and that our staff could fully assist you. During your next visit, our concierge staff would happy to help you plan out your daily itinerary so that you can get the most out of your time in Kyoto.

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews