We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (600)
Filter reviews
600 results
Traveler rating
330
199
43
14
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
330
199
43
14
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews japanese style room sukiya style tea ceremony room western room kyoto station minute walk sake tasting tatami mats quiet street small garden japanese breakfast japanese experience bus lines small fee rent a bike ramen lobby area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 600 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2019 via mobile

We had a great 3 night stay here in a Japanese style room. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It’s location is within short walking (5 mins max) distance to useful bus stops and is quiet. i would recommend buying a one day pass at the cost of 600 yen which the ryokan provide! Best way Round Kyoto to all major sites . The facilities were great including a laundry service which we found helpful. We did not opt for breakfast so Cannot comment on the quality. Be prepared for small bathrooms! Enough for one person at a time but great as there is separate toilet!

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank 553seemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2019

We had a very comfortable 2-night stay in this ryokan. It is located in a quiet residential area which gave us a glimpse of the local life. It is a well-maintained facility and has a positive atmosphere. Kyoto train station is a short bus or taxi ride. The staff were very professional from the moment we entered the establishment. Highly recommend to fellow travelers for it's hospitality, cleanliness, location, and value for money.

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank melanieca2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2019 via mobile

Charming ryokan close to many shrines and temples. Bus stops are close to hotel also. Kyoto station is about a 20 minute walk.

Also convenient is a lovely tea shop that sells high-quality matcha. The owners are English speakers and are both tea experts. This tea is nice for souvenirs. They also do traditional matcha tea service. This is directly across the road from Sakura Hongon-G

The ryokan rooms are small and simple, but nicely appointed with gardens to view from the room and a small soaking tub—important for healing sore muscles at the end of the day. The whole place is meticulously clean. The lobby, where breakfast is served for a small fee, is large and comfortable with many tables which can be used for relaxing at night or eating meals. Rice wine and ramen are available for purchase in the lobby also.

The staff are extremely helpful. They greet guests with every entry/exit and happily offer assistancewith any questions. Plenty of English speakers here for convenience.

Overall, a very nice visit.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank snailruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2019

The property was very simple and elegant. It had a nice mix of traditional and modern amenities. It was not that bad of a walk for my sister and me from Kyoto Station with our backpacks and small luggage. They speak great English and will help you with any questions or concerns that you have. There is a great cheat sheet of the local restaurants and tourist sites that they provide when you check in. We chose the traditional room and had futons which were a great experience for us and we really enjoyed it. The bathroom had Shiseido bathing products which we were nice! I had a hard time filling up the bathtub because it felt like the stopper was not the right size but the water was very hot and I managed a small bath after some time.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2019

The simplicity of a welcoming staff, the friendly confines, clean rooms and the soft neighborhood added to my superior experience of Kyoto.
The walking distance from the station is enjoyable and the amazing temples and shrines nearby will give you an awesome early morning experience. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Josha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews