We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveler rating
36
0
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
36
0
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews western comforts shoe lockers nespresso machine wooden bath the toilet seat stayed longer modern hotel rooms are large air conditioning traditional japanese breakfast ryokan experience traditional ryokan short walk stayed nights bus stop cedar matted
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 37 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2018

We really enjoyed our 3 night stay. Appreciated the large room (after Tokyo!) and the very comfortable King bed (our last before a week of futons on the Komano Kodo walk!) It is immaculately clean, great bathroom (with deep wooden bath), great toiletries, delightful staff. It manages to combine Japanese style with some Western comforts. For breakfast, we first tried Murmur a little cafe directly across the canal. Whilst ok, we thought it was very expensive for a piece of toast and mediocre coffee. For less than the same price, we ordered their delivered Western breakfast for our other 2 mornings. Combined with coffee from the in-room Nespresso machine, one breakfast of multiple course was ample for 2 people - and delicious.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2018

Its only a fairly small hotel on a little back street and not so easy to find - even our taxi driver seemed perplexed when we handed him instructions in Japanese. A note that it seems it has 2 buildings only 50 m apart that look the same - the main entrance is the second one. But its quite delightful, the staff are very friendly and helpful.
Rooms are large and spacious. The whole hotel is quite new and while there is a shoe change at the front door with mats throughout the rooms at least the beds are western style.
The room layout is very cute with 2 chairs arranged in front of small tables, facing the (tiny) TV screen. Has all modern facilities including a coffee machine and when we got wet shoes one day they even brought us shoe dryers.
It seems they don't have a dining room or kitchen and if you order breakfast its brought in - mainly Japanese style. They did attempt a western breakfast one morning but it was a bit lacking.
A note that if you are arriving late there is no reception after 10pm. You need to pre-arrange with them and they will issue you with PIN numbers for the doors.
A lovely little hotel

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank DiggerPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2018

For those who want a ryokan experience with new, western amenities that is reasonably priced ($140/night), this fits the bill. This is a modern hotel with traditional ryokan amenities without some of the ryokan services. Here's what you get:

You get western beds and chairs with private bathrooms. Air conditioning, black-out shades, western toiletries (including toothbrushes), TV and free wifi all come standard.

Traditional modern ryokan touches include shoe lockers (you change into slippers upon check-in), special bathroom slippers (for use only in the toilet), artsy Japanese tissue paper holders, cedar bathtub with standard stools, yakuta for lounging/sleeping in, sliding windows, and architecture in a traditional Kyoto kyomahiya style (narrow wooden townhouse). Plus front-end staff speak English well.

Some things were missing: No luggage rack so had to put suitcase on the closet floor, USB sockets (but electric outlet by bed with built in plug adapter was useful), and no lobby or garden place to hang out in like in a traditional ryokan. Also no communal onsen -- your only choice is the nice bathtub in your room.

Several notes about the experience:

1) Cherry trees are right outside so it should be really nice during blossom season
2) The bettei is located on a narrow, quiet street a little bit off from the main drag. But it is an easy 3 block walk from the Shichijo subway station.
3) From the Shichijo subway station, it is easy to get to the famous Fushimi-Inari torii gates (don't take the express train, take the local). Also a couple of stops the other way to Nishiki market
4) To Arashiyama, it involves a short walk to Kyoto station (15 minute walk) for the JR line.
5) In-room massage is available for very reasonable prices (2000 yen for 40 minutes). Got to try Shiatsu in Japan, right?
6) There is a security gate so remember your "code" (take a photo) to avoid getting locked out
7) Do not take the toilet slippers out
8) 24 hour coin laundry is a block away if needed (bring change)
9) Traditional Japanese breakfast is available for an extra charge (2400 yen?) but we didn't order it. Lots of food options 3-4 blocks away towards the temple and Kyoto Station

Room tip: The rooms in the lower floor have garden views (minature garden really)
Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4  Thank ALTippet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2018

This well-located, but slightly out of the way property has a very Japanese feel, from tatamis to bedding to bathroom to footwear removal when you enter. It is convenient to some areas of Kyoto of interest (museums, not the station) and to the underground. The staff was very kind and tried to describe for us everything we needed to know. The location is interesting: down a side street that runs along both sides of a tree-shaded, lovely urban canal or stream.

Date of stay: October 2017
Thank Benician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2018 via mobile

This place blew me and my expectations of a holiday stay away. After I entered the staff in kimonos greeted me at the door and helped to bring my luggage to my room. The room was beautiful, exquisite Japanese styled furniture and antiques, the tatami matted floors were very comfortable, and the entire set up of the room was thoughtful.

There were blinds to draw to prevent the morning sun from coming in, a nespresso machine, large table spaces for writing, reading, a lovely wooden bathroom, a lovely powder room, even details such as restaurants you can find around the area.

It is a little bit of a walk from the main Kyoto station (15 minutes), but a short walk (3 min) from Shichijo station, which takes you conveniently to the Kiyomizu and Gion area. It's also by a lovely river so you can walk your way up and down it. If you like to be away from the bustle and to enjoy the quiet Kyoto charm, this is a great place to be. :)

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank xiaohuiho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews