We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveler rating
13
78
55
14
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
13
78
55
14
8
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 168 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2019

The hotel meets all basic standards - it is clean, the staff is friendly and the beds are comfortable. However it doesn't excel at anything. The rooms are very small, the bathroom is tiny, the wifi is sporatic and the breakfast was ok. The location of the hotel is well away from the central part of the city. If you don't want to use the public bus it is a $20 - $25 cab to the central district. For a city like Kyoto I would likely stay elsewhere for future visits.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BaseballCoach561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2018

I recently stayed at this hotel as part of a pre-tour visit for a group of students that I am bringing to Japan next year. Although the hotel is not centrally located, near the railway station, it is only a 10 minute taxi ride away. This means that it is situated in a quieter location than the town centre which may appeal to some.

We received a very warm welcome from the front desk staff and received a guided tour round the hotel and shown its amenities. There is a good sized restaurant just off the lobby where breakfast is served and there is also another restaurant serving evening meals. I received a voucher when I checked in which entitles you to a free drink at dinner which is a nice touch. We didn't have dinner so cannot comment further on that, but the buffet style breakfast was very comprehensive and consisted of both Western and Japanese foods.

The hotel is slightly old-fashioned compared to some Tokyo hotels but then that I think is one of the attractions of Kyoto generally, as it is a more traditional city. There are gift shops with a wide range of Japanese souvenirs which were nice and plenty of vending machines on the bedroom floors. There is also a large supermarket across the street if you are stuck for anything.

The rooms are spacious with a good sized bathroom. My one niggle is that you have an actual key for the room, rather than a key card which is more often the case nowadays and there is only one key for the room, which could be a bit of a hassle if sharing a room. There is a hefty fine if you lose the key too!

A main feature of the hotel are its traditional Japanese baths. These are segregated for male and female and have changing facilities and showers. In the Japanese fashion, you are expected to bath naked and it is supposed to be extremely relaxing - although I didn't have time to partake on this visit! I believe the temperature of the water is around 48 degrees C.

For group visits, the hotel is very experienced are dealing with large numbers of check-ins and handling large volumes of luggage. They have a separate entrance, check in area for groups so you avoid the congestion at the main reception desk. This always makes a tour organiser's job a lot easier.

A good hotel and recommended as a base for exploring Kyoto and surroundings.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HauditandDaudit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2018 via mobile

Staff were very nice and had good understanding on English. Public bath is very interesting and it is good spot to relax and get rid of the tiredness. We had the traditional Japanese bed. It quite was spacious and comfort. They also provided the shuttle bus to Kyoto central train station. Will come back again.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 869smilec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

Location of hotel a little out of the way but bus lines out side hotel, with bus line 100 at the end of the street that gets you to all major tourist spot with in 15 minutes.

Hotel staff seemed happy and friendly, they assisted well when asked for local restaurants and what to see.

Room nice size and everything looked and felt clean in rooms.

For the price a nice hotel.

Date of stay: April 2018
1  Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2016

Went with a large group of students. The staff complained about we swapping rooms and anticipating the checkout by 1-2 days (over a 2 weeks period). Double-room was very small. On the plus side, the hotel has an internal sento (thermal bath) freely accessible, and also the yukata (kimono for sento) is already available in the room. Note that Wi-Fi didn't work at third floor, we had to go down to 2nd floor or to the lobby.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Trippa_ad_Visor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews