We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveler rating
122
84
32
6
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
84
32
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelrooftop barnespresso machineimperial palacesitting areahuge bedexecutive suitejacuzzi bathfree drinkswalk aroundbose sound systemwalking distancelocation is excellentthree nightsfood marketfree standing bathstaff were so friendly
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 252 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2017 via mobile

This is a very modern style hotel in the very historic city of Kyoto, but it fits really well. We stayed in two different rooms which were both lovely.

The breakfast, both Japanese and Western style were great. However the 8am to 10am window is annoying if you want to get an early start for a Zen garden. We also had dinner one evening, it is French/Japanese fusion and was very good.

The hotel staff were all very good, helping with restaurant suggestions, directions and arranging a packed breakfast (rolls and canned juice) for an early start.

All in all a great hotel and we would recommend it to other travellers.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2017 via mobile

We stayed at The Screen with our two kids (age 10 and 8). We took two rooms, but as none of the rooms connect we split one adult and one child in each room.

The staff were so helpful and accommodating.

Rooms were nicely appointed. I can see what other reviewers say about things feeling slightly dated, but everything was clean, tidy and sufficient.

This area in Kyoto has a wide range of local restaurants. That was great for us travelling with kids as they didn't want japanese food every day. Easy walking distance to lots of options and quaint shops.

We enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank TC1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2017

After having stayed at two other hotels with the most amazing customer service we've every experienced we were rather taken aback by the Screen. No extras that we'd come to enjoy and expect.... no welcome cocktail or happy hour, no bending over backwards service to help with planning for dinner or sight seeing, this service was good but more like we'd get in the USA. Our room was pricier than the other hotels, and the attention to detail lacking. Our blinds let in a lot of light. No plugs for cell phones (alarms) by the bed. The fuzzy wallpaper, and deco meets seedier-side-of-old-las-vegas vibe was not attractive -- more of a young dude's place perhaps. The breakfast is offered either western or asian, and I'd recommend asian. Western the sausage and bacon is very salty and processed, although the omelet and fruit/yoghurt very pleasant. Rice was offered for gluten-free diners which we appreciated. Asian meal was very good - a complete set of courses all presented on a tray. The location of the hotel is very good. Near good dining options and areas to walk around and shop or enjoy the temples. One across the street had an opera while we were there. Someone arrived with a wheel chair and we realized it is not wheel chair friendly (nor luggage friendly!).

Room Tip: The "suites" have white strip blinds that let a lot of light in.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GPToak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2017

The rooms are lovely and comfortable. Definitely different from the norm, but my wife and I were perfectly happy. The staff were wonderful, extremely helpful and generous with their time & attention. Location is good, in a quieter part of town but still with plenty of restaurants and shopping and whatnot close by.

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique, and only a few per floor. The suite was awesome, but the "semi-suite" was plenty roomy as well.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017 via mobile

To decorate a hotel with each room done by a differerent artist/designer/decorator sounds like a Good idea?
At the SCREEN it just does not work. The whole hotel Just does not come together. It is ugly as sin.
Sad.
Sorry for the utmost helpful staff-they are great! But they should go work in another place that is more rewarding for visitors and themselves.
The worse is their rooftop terace and bar. It is ever empty.
And always will be.
Enjoy wonderful kyoto. But not from this dramatically mausoleum.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
2  Thank johanmichielsens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews