We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveler rating
14
43
20
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
14
43
20
2
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 80 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2017

I booked this hotel through Agoda last minute and it was not cheap, around $350 and then when we arrived they asked for an extra $140 for our 5-year-old. We only stayed here for 12 hours, I thought this crazy. We took it up with Agoda the third party provider and they offered us a refund. The grounds were amazing, Japanese room was massive and staff efficient. It's really tough finding hotels in Kyoto during Blossom season. It's a dated hotel but if you want authentic Japanese then this is your place. Happy to get the refund in the end, but its a really pricey hotel for what you get. Staff barely accomodating.

Room tip: Pay the extra for a Japanese room but be careful, kids are charged as an adult!
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 128emilym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2016

Little presence with only a doorway entrance off the main road.Reception on floor 2, they were always helpful. In fact were it not for the staff this would be a 2 star not 3. Room is very small and bathroom the usual Japanese style plastic box. Only averagely clean. Breakfast is adequate.

Room tip: Ask for a bigger room if there are any.
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank william g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2016

We stayed 5 nights as so much to see in the Kyoto area. A wonderful English speaking lady checked us in & thanked us for staying that long. Very comfortable room overlooking the garden. Laundromat on our floor also some vending machines and free WiFi.
We had dinner there the first night, very nice meal.

Room tip: Overlooking the garden
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raChelF560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2015

I loved the garden inside the hotel! Such a serene place! 4 stars because of the garden.

We stayed in a Japanese room with tatami beds. Very romantic as well with a view of the Palace gardens.

I would've given this hotel a 5 stars but their service was not as we had hoped. No one can speak good English, so our requests were not met as they didn't understand a thing that we said.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank BerlynCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2015

Very rarely do I recommend staying an extra night in. Hotel, but the Ryokan Heian In Kyoto across from the Imperial Palace is exceptional. While our group of 6 stayed only one night, I would recommend two nights if your travel schedule allows it.

It is a place where there is little to distract you from the tranquility and peacefulness of the setting with its meditative Japanese garden and Japanese style living accommodations.

Yes, be prepared to sleep on futons on the floor and traditional setting with low tables and tatami straw mats which are typical of Japanese decor along with sliding shoji doors.

There is one small section that holds two chairs and a coffee table, but otherwise plan on sitting crossed leg on the mats and drinking complimentary tea.

The public furo was rather small and basic, but exceptionally clean. The furo is a complement to the peacefulness of the place.

Our plan included dinner and breakfast...exceptional if you enjoy Japanese cuisine. Your breakfast will be facing the garden where an occasional visit by Japanese cranes may highlight a wonderful and peaceful meal. The Fall colors (late this year) have not yet shown their true colors.

The hotel gift shop boasts one of a kind gifts. Take advantage of it as you will probably be hard pressed to find them elsewhere as our friends discovered.

The location is not conducive for shopaholics and the walking uninteresting except for the Imperial Palace which is located very close by. The Palace grounds are worth a visit and it is free.

We would definitely return here again, but for two nights as one night will leave you wanting more.

Clientele mainly mature Japanese nationals.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eraldo7411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews