We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (369)
Filter reviews
369 results
Traveler rating
102
183
69
13
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
102
183
69
13
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews subway station laundry facilities rooms are small japanese standards twin room central location karasuma line location is excellent breakfast buffet is small kitchen four nights comfortable hotel marutamachi mcdonalds kyoto refrigerator
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 369 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2018

A friendly welcome at the reception. The room is big enough to walk around, very clean and daily renewed towels. The room has AC, TV, refrigerator, water cooker and a private bathroom (Japanese style). There are washing machines and even a small kitchen you can use yourselves. The hotel has a restaurant, unfortunately breakfast is not included.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2018

We recently spent 5 nights on the hotel... Great location in front of the Palace and just few blocks from Karasuma Line Subway.
Great attention at front desk and the breakfast really good and complete (Worth to Pay it)... it only need more space and tables, it gets crowd at morning.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ferf23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2018

I booked last minute because my wife wanted to spend the day at the former Royal Palace in Kyoto. Totally regret planning that as half a day is more than enough time to explore the palace grounds. Plus, wish we had stayed at a nicer, more modern hotel.

We went in April and overpaid by about 15-20% for our time there.

Good:
1. Next to the park where the former Royal Palace is located - had been Japan's capital for over a 1,000 years.
2. Friendly staff.
3. Somewhat close to the subway station.
4. Clean
5. Breakfast buffer was good but cost 1,000 JPY
6. Use of bicycles free for the first hour.
7. On Saturday night they have live music I believe.

Bad:
1. Very dated; really should be remodeled.

Would I stay again? No. As mentioned above, no reason to stay so close to the former Royal Palace. If I had no place else to stay and the room was really a low price, then maybe overnight one and no more than two nights. I gave it 4 stars but should be 3.5 stars.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bay_Area_Jamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2018

After our last hotel in Osaka the room seemed palatial by comparison. It was really quite large by Japanese standards. It is an easy walk from the railway and subway stations and not far from a range of restaurants including a McDonalds.
The bed was comfortable and the location just across from the Palace Gardens was ideal. We would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MichaelN779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2018

We stayed in the Palace Side Hotel for four nights and enjoyed a comfortable stay with good breakfasts and very attentive staff. The location is excellent with close access to the Marutamachi on the Karasuma north-south subway line. We hired bikes near the Kyoto station and cycled along the Kamo river and through the Imperial Palace gardens.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JohnWMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews