We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveler rating
31
87
43
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
31
87
43
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews restaurants within walking distance room key would stay here again convenient location min walk electricity station subway kyoto conference english
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 172 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2015 via mobile

This place grew on us once we got to know the staff and location. This hotel is not in the thick of things but there are lots of local attractions plus it is quite easy to travel to busier parts of the city. The room was small but well organised. We had a Japanese breakfast on our last morning and it was great. The staff here are the highlight. Very helpful and knowledgeable.

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank JennyG475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2015

Room was clean and neat. It was nice having the hotel just opposite the Imperial Palace! Breakfast each morning was quick and convenient. Choose from a western or japanese menu, and then help yourself to tea/coffee and bread/pastries. Little outlook over the garden with the koi fish was a nice touch. Service staff always friendly and obliging. We did catch a taxi each evening to the Gion district for dinner. Had drinks in the bar one evening but quite a limited menu. Reception staff friendly enough but the least helpful of the 5 hotels we visited in Japan. Had to ask multiple times for a map, which they were reluctant to give us as they had so few left? I would recommend the property overall though.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReneeW67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2015

I stayed in this hotel during a 2 week trip through Japan. The hotel is exactly what you would expect in this price range, a professional and somewhat static hotel. Friendly staff, clean rooms and standard breakfast. The positive for me was the size of the room. It was bigger than I expected, we actually had a little corner with a sofa to sit. The negative was the location. It's pretty far from East Kyoto, where all the major attraction are, however it's close to two metro stations and from there you can go pretty much anywhere in the city. All in all it is a fine mid-range hotel, that gives what one could expect.

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank THRM84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2015

I stayed here for 5 nights in May, and found this a well-priced, comfortable hotel. I have visited Kyoto many times over the past 15 years, and have stayed in different hotels, ranging from luxury to budget. This one is mid-range - measurably better than the cheapest, but lacking the amenities you would expect at a top-end hotel. The reception staff were helpful and courteous as you would expect in Japan. I had asked for a non-smoking room but found I had been assigned a smoking one; the reception staff found an alternative room without fuss, even thought I checked in quite late at night. The room was quite small but well laid out and convenient. The bed was firm but comfortable. The bathroom was again very small, but spotlessly clean. Breakfast is served in a small restaurant, offering a Japanese or western set menu. As usual in Japan, the local breakfast was much better than the limited items on offer in the western menu. The hotel is located between two stations on the Kyoto Metro, but is about 10-15 min walk from each, something to note if you stay there when the weather is inclement. It is several stops from the centre of town and a fair walk (say 45 min) west of Heian-jingu and Higashi-oji dori.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AVen_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2015

the very reason we opted for the Kyoto garden palace was the price..it's very decently priced compared to the other places in Kyoto..
The rooms are quite spacious and clean..the bathrooms are also clean but not a very modern one.. The wifi connectivity is great...
The staff at the reception are very friendly and helpful..
The hotel is situated right opposite the imperial palace..The only drawback is that it's quite far from the other major tourist locations in Kyoto but the subway is linked to most of these...the subway station is around a 10 minute walk from the hotel... So all in all a good value deal!!!

Date of stay: May 2015
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank shriya_rai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews