We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely House & Lovely People”
Review of Bellerive House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bellerive House
Ranked #1 of 2 Bellerive B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 28, 2009

Only stayed one night but would love to have stayed longer. We stayed in the Wellington room which was gorgeous. Every possible luxury has been included. The bathroom is enormous and again very luxurious.
This was our last night in Tasmania and what a lovely way to end a perfect holiday.
Did I mention the breakfast? 5 star!
These lovely people put maximum effort into making your stay memorable and obviously really enjoy what they do.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyBeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 117 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2009

\what an amazing experience this was, three days of perfect luxury, with such charming owners of this B & B one could never want to stay in a five star hotel. We stayed for three nights in March, whilst we toured Tasmania and I wish we could have stayed for seven. We will be back. Thank you you made our trip extra special.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courtbourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

My husband & I aren't really B&B people, but in Tasmania it seemed like the best option. The Bellerive House couldn't have been a better choice. If you're going to be in the Hobart area of Tasmania, do yourself a favor & stay there as many nights as possible. We stayed in the Bellerive Guest Room. Not only is it a wonderful house, the owners have a friendly lab, and the food is great. I cannot say enough about this place.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UWECSARAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2009

Bellerive House is the most incredible bed and breakfast, and Jacqueline and David (and Tashi!) are the most gracious hosts and made us feel so welcome. It really felt like a home from home and we really wouldn't consider staying anywhere else on our next trip to Hobart.

We stayed in the Bellerive room which was beautifully decorated and had one of the comfiest beds i have ever slept in! We were also especially grateful for the heated floor in the bathroom as the Hobart weather was a bit of a shock to our systems having come from Brisbane!

Also worth a mention is the incredible breakfast! (Not to mention the muffins on arrival!) which set us up for a full day of exploring Cradle Mountain!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cookington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2009

I couldn't have dreamed up a better B&B. I believe Jacqueline and David could charge much, much more money for the quality of experience they provide. The beautiful old house was recently renovated and thus possesses old charm, but has modern fixtures and amenities. The rooms are decorated thoughtfully and everything was spotless. There were fresh flowers everywhere and guests are treated to port and chocolates too.

The breakfast was incredibly delicious. This is because of David and Jacqueline's skill, but also because they provide the freshest local produce. Seriously, the breakfast was heaven and you would pay at least $50 for two people in a restaurant for that breakfast.

If you're thinking about booking this B&B, but are wondering if it is worth the money, you need to know that it's worth every penny. David and Jacqueline are fantastic hosts. They're friendly and attentive, but leave you some space if you want it.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlaneandMickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2008

Loved this B&B! We stayed here for 2 nights near the end of our 3 week vacation in Australia. This home and the owners are absolutely perfect. We were able to stay in the Mt. Wellington room, and it's worth the slight splurge. Large room and enormous bath, all furnished in excellent and resrained good taste. For those that need it, in-room TV w/ DVD, stereo, fresh flowers and cookies daily, fresh baked muffins/sweets left in your room each day, port, coffee and tea.
The home may be old, but it was renovated only recently by David and Jacqueline, so it is all up to date, fresh and clean. Beds and linens are top notch, and the house is surprisingly quiet considering it is on a busy- for Tasmania- main road. Heavy drapes for the evening, and only 3 rooms to rent, meant that noise never intruded on our stay.
The breakfasts, as noted in other reviews, are exceptional. It is also only a 5 minute walk down to Bellerive Village for a nice selection of local non-chain restaurants (several Asian and Italian, French, a pizza place, several seafood restaurants, and some take out and a bottle shop), and Hobart is only a few minutes by car or the occaissional ferry/water taxi(when they run). There's a nice running/bike path along the river and harbor for a number of kms. should you want some exercise to work off breakfast.
However, what makes Bellerive House so wonderful are hosts David and Jacqueline who are smart, friendly, helpful, engaging and talented, all without being either stuffy or intrusive and overly chatty. They walk that fine line with aplomb.
We have travelled around the world for the past 20 years and have stayed in a wide variety of accommodations. This was clearly our favorite B&B that we have encountered in the US, Carribbean, Europe, Australia, or New Zealand.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DBart33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2008

Stayed for 2 nights in the 'Mount Wellington' room which is the biggest of the 3 rooms there. The location is in Bellerive which is over the bridge from the city but if you have a car this is no problem plus there are buses etc. There are lots of nice places to eat locally plus a huge shopping centre right next door. The building is on quite a busy road but the noise at night was not really noticable.

The room was huge, spotlessly clean with a super comfy bed, lovely linen and furnishings. I am VERY fussy about cleanliness and quality of bed sheets etc and I have to say this was probably the cleanest room I have ever stayed in! Not remotely old fashioned like most of the B&B's in Hobart either so if you're looking to avoid lace and frills then you wont be disappointed!

The bathroom is the size of an entire bedroom - beautiful roll top bath plus a big walk in shower, under floor heating, double sinks and loads of products and towels and robes. Everything has been thought of - you get amazing home made cakes every day plus port and chocolates in your room - total luxury!

There is a DVD library downstairs in the guest lounge which is also a lovely room with big comfy sofa's to louge around on while reading the amazing collection of books and magazines.

The breakfast was just fantastic, cooked to order which you select from a menu the night before - baked eggs with smoked salmon, spinach and sour cream were just amazing and that's after a beautiful summer trifle or porridge and then there is toast if you're still hungry (impossible).

The hosts (including their dog) are lovely and friendly and great to chat to but not at all intrustive on your stay like some places can be. We really did feel like we were at home in their beautiful home - I could have stayed for a LONG time!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LollyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellerive hotels
0.5 mi away
Quayside Cottages
Quayside Cottages
#1 of 3 in Bellerive
107 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ashwood Apartments Bellerive
0.4 mi away
Kangaroo Bay Apartments
Kangaroo Bay Apartments
#3 of 3 in Bellerive
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellerive House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellerive House

Address: 89-91 Cambridge Rd, Bellerive, Clarence, Tasmania 7018, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Clarence > Bellerive
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bellerive
Price Range: $177 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bellerive House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly one of Hobart's Gentlemen's Residences, "Bellerive House" is a Heritage-listed property that has been lovingly restored and offers guests contemporary elegance and luxurious accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bellerive House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellerive House Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing