We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding B&B”
Review of Bellerive House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bellerive House
Ranked #1 of 2 Bellerive B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Outstanding B&B”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We have just returned from our second stay at Bellerive house-the first in the Mt. Wellington room and this time for 2 nights in the Derwent room.
Nothing has changed- fantastic hosts Jacqui and David make you feel at home as soon as you arrive and nothing is too much trouble.
The rooms are spotlessly clean and spacious,with comfortable beds and quality toiletries. There is a large, beautifully decorated, common lounge room complete with log fire The home cooked breakfast is to die for and there is an array of restaurants just five minutes away.
B&Bs just do not get any better than this one!
We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydneywanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
92
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

My husband & I recently stayed at Bellerive House for 2 nights and we loved every minute of the time we spent at this wonderful B & B.Our hosts, Jacqueline & David were very welcoming and they have the ability to develop a warm rapport with their guests.The B & B is in a central location and it is easy to walk to many of the wonderful attractions at Bellerive. You can catch a Water Taxi to the Salamanca Markets and into to downtown Hobart which offers many places to experience.
I would thoroughly recommend staying at this First Class establishment on your next visit to Hobart.

Room Tip: All of the rooms offer a high standard of quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petal1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We spent 2 nights here in the Derwent room which has splendid views over the river to Mt.Wellington including from your shower. I can only agree with the other reviews that the quality and attention to detail is superb. The sheets are of the finest quality and there are robes provided. The toiletries were lovely and the little dainties each night were delicious. Port is provided in you room and there is fresh fruit in the guest's lounge downstairs.
David and Jacqeline are the most gracious of hosts and really the breakfasts are devine - you want to stay longer just to try them all! The only negative comment would be that it is on a busy road and you do get traffic noise. Apart from that it is a truly wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: Front rooms do get taffic noise but beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna_and_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

My husband and I were fortunate enough to be able to stay at Bellerive House during our recent visit to Hobart and we were both delighted with all aspects of our stay at this high end B&B. The house itself is absolutely beautiful - very lovingly and thoughtfully decorated to create a calming haven to come home to at the end of a day's travelling adventures. I was particularly impressed with the attention to detail that David and Jaqueline had so obviously put into every element of Bellerive. When we came back to our room (The Derwent) at the end of each day, it was to find a sprig of lavender laid across the top of our breakfast menu, which sat atop our freshly made bed (crisp, white cotton bed linen, and a down comforter). My husband was intrigued each day to discover what new and delicious treat our 'magic cupboard' (his name for it) would hold for us to enjoy with an afternoon cuppa (a slice each of chocolate mud cake in one day, homemade banana cake the next, and some yummy yo-yo biscuits one our final afternoon). And the breakfasts...oh, the breakfasts were absolutely to die for! These were definitely the best breakfasts either of us had ever eaten while staying in a B&B, and I would have been extremely happy had I been served similar while eating in a restaurant. There really isn't anything to fault about this wonderful place, except perhaps it's location, as it isn't in the heart of the city, but Hobart isn't a huge city and you are really only a little over a 5 minute drive away from Constitution Dock. If you don't feel up to driving back into town at the end of the day, there are places to eat out in Bellerive, within walking distance of Bellerive House. All in all, a fabulous experience.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MtheTeaLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2011

The ONLY place to stay in Hobart! Wonderful hosts who make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive. The historic house has been lovingly and tastefully renovated and the room we stayed in (Derwent room) had lots of little luxuries such as heated towel rack and flooring, quality bedding not to mentional quality Molton Brown toiletries. Everything was beautifully presented with great attention to detail.
The best breakfast we have ever had at any B&B with local fresh produce cooked to perfection. Their breakfast menu enabled us to try a variety of offerings over our 3 day stay so you dont get sick of eating the same things- it really was superb! We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Houbens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

This B&B is tastefully furnished with lots of focus on detail. David and Jacqueline are well travelled hosts who truly understand what it takes to make guests feel at home immediately.
Fresh flowers everywhere. Free coffee, tea and treats in your room. Superdelicious breakfast in the morning. Free internet service. A wide variety of movies for your dvd player. Endless helpful tips for your day trips and so on. There is a long list of other things (think bathrobe, toiletries etc.) that simply make you want to return as soon as possible. We surely had a great time, thanks again to the hosts.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2keentotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver/Honolulu
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

We stayed here as a result of Trip Advisor reviews and we not disappointed. Everything was perfect. The room was spacious, the bath was huge, the view across the bay to Hobart with Mt. Wellington in the background with a dusting of snow was as good as it gets, and to top it all off an amazing full cooked breakfast. The only drawback for some people might to the location. It is about 4-5 miles from the center of town, and if you want to be in the thick of things, this might not be for you. On the other hand, it's very easy to get into the center in about 6 or 7 minutes (we never tried at rush hour), and we prefer not to be in the noise, traffic and congestion anyway. Hobart is a small town and is very easy to get around in. Thank you David and Jacqui, you were the perfect hosts.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2travelingf00ls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellerive
2.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
2.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
2.0 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
2.1 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#4 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
1.6 mi away
Orana House Heritage Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellerive House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellerive House

Property: Bellerive House
Address: 89-91 Cambridge Rd, Bellerive, Clarence, Tasmania 7018, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Clarence > Bellerive
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bellerive
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bellerive House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly one of Hobart's Gentlemen's Residences, "Bellerive House" is a Heritage-listed property that has been lovingly restored and offers guests contemporary elegance and luxurious accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bellerive House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellerive House Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing