We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just perfect!”
Review of Bellerive House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bellerive House
Ranked #1 of 2 Bellerive B&B and Inns
Buckinghamshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed November 27, 2007

We have recently spent two delightful nights in the Wellington Room at Bellerive - the owners have everything just right. A warm welcome, a clean, comfortable room with a stunning view and a bathroom to die for. The breakfast menu was unbelievable! Months before we arrived they even found a researcher who tracked my great great grandfather who was transported to Tasmania in 1852. Be warned - the family dog (who is definitely the boss) does require a considerable amount of tummy tickling before she allows you to go upstairs.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank trixie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
92
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2007

We stayed at Bellerive B&B for a long weekend in August and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. The attention to detail is amazing, and you are made to feel very welcome and well looked after. Our room (the Mount Wellington room) had a beautiful of Mount Wellington, and one of the nicest bathrooms I have ever seen - complete with underfloor heating and beautiful roll top bath. We loved staying here, with the roaring fires, homemade cakes each day, and gorgeous breakfasts. I would definitely recommend a stay there, and would definitely go back.

  • Liked — Wonderful hosts David and Jacqueline, roaring fires, the bathroom and breakfasts!
  • Disliked — On a main road, although road noise no worse than your average road!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beckysyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2007

We stayed for our first two nights in Hobart then our last night after a week of touring Tasmania. This is an excellent B & B with beautiful bedrooms, beautiful bathrooms, beautiful breakfasts etc etc!! What more can I say. Very friendly and professional hosts too! Would recommend to anyone

  • Liked — Attention to detail - quality fittings, bedding etc. Very clean
  • Disliked — On a busy road
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lucy321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2007

We stayed two nights in Bellerive House in late December 2006. It was a very good choice, and we would have stayed longer had they not been booked out.
The 1800s home has been newly renovated in a warm contemporary style - no chintz and lace doilies here, just lots of rich raw silks and well selected antiques. There are 3 bedrooms with ensuites. Although the property is not waterfront, two rooms have views over the Derwent River to the city and Mt Wellington.
Our room was spacious with an even more roomy bathroom attached. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've slept in. A lot of thought had been put into the room facilities - a choice of teas and coffee, home made shortbread and mince pies, Tasmanian magazines. Plus a TV & DVD with a small selection of complimentary DVDs available from the guest lounge. Having had a hectic Christmas we were happy to spend time in the room just relaxing.
Breakfast was served in the dining room or outside one warm morning. The meal started with muesli and yogurt or home made porridge, followed by a choice of egg dishes or pancakes. Locally made sourdough bread was accompanied by home made jams.
Having previously lived in Tasmania for three years we had very mixed experiences in accommodation around the state. However this was one of our better experiences. The couple who own Bellerive House have lived in Singapore and a number of other places, and their attention to detail and polish shines through. Although the B& B is little outside of the centre of Hobart (5 - 10 min drive) and is on a relatively busy road, I'd say it was a good choice.
PS If you do visit, take time to walk 10 minutes to historic Bellerive Bluff and enjoy the old buildings and river views.


Helpful?
8 Thank traveltimeCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellerive
2.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
2.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
2.0 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
2.1 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#4 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
1.6 mi away
Orana House Heritage Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellerive House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellerive House

Property: Bellerive House
Address: 89-91 Cambridge Rd, Bellerive, Clarence, Tasmania 7018, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Clarence > Bellerive
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bellerive
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bellerive House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly one of Hobart's Gentlemen's Residences, "Bellerive House" is a Heritage-listed property that has been lovingly restored and offers guests contemporary elegance and luxurious accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bellerive House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellerive House Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing