We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad hygene”
Review of Auberge Les Liards

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge Les Liards
vernoil
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad hygene”
Reviewed December 6, 2008

At first we were echanted with this auberge ecological. But after three days my wife had poisening of food. We suspected a restaurant we were the day early. But later I was in the kitchen of Auberge de Liards. I was very chocked. Many dirty plates of one week. Greasy coocker. [--] of the peacocks on the floor. The cat was in the kitchen licking food in a fresh casserole. And many many flies before the window. I have never seen so much flies in my life. This auberge thinks ecological is the same as dirty. I will never go here again.

  • Liked — landscape
  • Disliked — Very dirty kitchen
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank juliencappet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liards, proprietaire, gérante at Auberge Les Liards, responded to this review, April 2, 2009
When I received an email in December 2008 about this issue, I thought it was a bad joke. The description about the kitchen was so absolutely not according to reality. But then I saw the same complaints in ‘tripadvisor’. So I take these complaints serious and want to respond to them one by one here-under :
1. « Dishes not being washed for a week ». This is just not possible. In high season, we do the dishes twice a day. I guess one can easily underestimate the amount of dishes to be washed in a restaurant, even in a small one as ours. We do not have an employee doing the dishes (we’re too small) and so, the dishes accumulate during the service since we are washing them afterwards.
2. « The peacocks were in the kitchen » This is a situation that we try to avoid by all means. But peacocks are not stupid, they know where food is to be found. We try and keep the doors closed, but this is not a 100% safe thing. It’s seldom, but the peacocks do enter the kitchen sometimes. This means a lot of cleaning. The only solution we can see to this problem is to put the peacocks in a big cage. We do not like to do it, free wandering peacocks are one of our attractions. So we accept the situation as it is, with four to five times a summer the peacocks in the kitchen.
3. « The cats licking the plates ». It’s extremely rare that the cats enter the kitchen, they know very well they’re not allowed. But in the restaurant, when the people have left their table… The cats learn the habit with our clients. We ask people not to feed the cats. But what to do about cats that are fed daily by the clients ? During summer 2008, we had a small cat kept hidden for months, so that she would not learn the bad habit. Again, the solution would be to confine them, but we did not do it up to now. Instead, we have made signs asking clients not to feed the animals.
4. « Flies ». We are in the countryside and there are flies during summer. Nothing to do about it. Of course, we have those machines with blue light to attract and kill the flies, but that isn’t sufficient enough. So we use other methods as well, including these glue things that one hangs down. We put them at the entrances of the kitchen, where flies enter. These are very efficient. We change them regularly. I agree with the complainer that it’s not a nice view. But for us, it’s important that it keeps most flies out of the kitchen.

We work only with fresh products, that’s our proud. Since we know how many people eat with us in the evening, we can buy just what is needed, there are no rests. Every night, the kitchen is totally cleaned. I can assure everybody that the quality and the freshness of our products are beyond any doubt, and that for us, ecology corresponds with cleanness, and even more in the kitchen. I invite everybody to come and see for themselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    9
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egliseneuve-des-Liards
4.6 mi away
Auberge de Chabanettes
Auberge de Chabanettes
#1 of 1 in Auzelles
150 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel de l'Abbaye
Hotel de l'Abbaye
#1 of 1 in Sauxillanges
50 reviews
4.5 mi away
Le Jardin Des Pierres Brunes
Le Jardin Des Pierres Brunes
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jean-des-Ollieres
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Jasserie Les Airelles - Chambres et Table d'Hotes Bio
12.2 mi away
L'Embellie
L'Embellie
#1 of 2 in Bertignat
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Les Liards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Les Liards

Property: Auberge Les Liards
Address: Lieu Dit les Liards, 63490 Egliseneuve-des-Liards, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Puy-de-Dome > Egliseneuve-des-Liards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Egliseneuve-des-Liards
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse Liards is situated on a volcano, with a spectacular view over the volcanoes of the Auvergne. Around the guesthouse: nothing but nature and calmness. We have four comfortable rooms; one can opt for bed, B&B or half board. The guesthouse is run in an ecological way. The area is ideal for hiking, cycling (we have electrical bikes for rent - nice for the not-so-sportive because of slopes) and mountainbiking. Horseriding possible nearby. Perfectly situated in the centre of the Auvergne, one can visit the whole region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Auberge Les Liards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing