We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Mayfly Kesh 24th April 2014”
Review of Mayfly Inn

Mayfly Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Kesh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Mayfly Kesh 24th April 2014”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I was looking for a good place to eat in Kesh during a few days away at Easter in the Enniskillen area. I read good reviews for The Mayfly Inn in Kesh so we decided to try there. We went in coming into the bar area immediately you come through the door. We were greeted by a Snooker/Pool table just inside the door which was a surprise LOL. We made our way to the restaurant at the back which was quite dimly lit. I noticed a sign on the way in for Thursday Steak night 2x Steaks plus trimming £20. I ordered a pint of Guinness with our steaks. Firstly the Guinness was lovely, perfectly drawn and just the right temperature. Secondly when the steaks arrived I was very pleasantly surprised by size as I thought for the price they would be on the small side but no, perfect size. The food was lovely and so much we couldn't finish it. As for the service the barman/waiter was great, polite, hospitable and seen to our every need.

A very traditional country pub with excellent food and service and will make it a regular stop any time I'm in the area

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hncsys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    26
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Just back from having a Mother's Day lunch at the Mayfly Inn. It was really lovely food was great and the staff were so friendly and the price was very reasonably. Just a lovely finishing touch was they gave all the ladies a pot plant which I thought just made it and very thoughtful. I certainly will be back and would recommend it to anybody who would be in Kesh. Thank you for a lovely meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Faboulous Food”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Absolutely great food.Staff was very friendly and helpful.Will certainly be going back.Great portion sizes and reasonably priced

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moira, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good food and plenty of it”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Dropped into the restaurant on a wet and windy Saturday afternoon. It was great to be greeted by the big log burning stove in the corner. The menu is pretty standard fare so plenty to choose from and it was reasonably priced. The staff were very attentive and friendly and the food came promptly. No shortage, certainly good portions and of good quality. It's certainly not a bad option if you are in the area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeFromMoira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

The Mayfly Bar is a normal friendly bar at the front where we had a comfortable evening. The back lounge (I suppose you would call it) serves very good food. The service was friendly and efficient. I had an excellent steak which came with all the trimmings including garlic potatoes. The room doubles as a function room and music venue so seems cavernous when only a small number were eating but it is comfortable and despite the weather being foul outside the place was warm. They were getting ready for a gig later but did not disturb us in the least.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KillarneyWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mayfly Inn also viewed

 

Been to Mayfly Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing