We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'Extra payment for Gravy'” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lough Erne Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kesh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lough Erne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kesh
county down
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“'Extra payment for Gravy'”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Had the misfortune of staying at this place recently. The hotel was advertised through Groupon. When we phoned the hotel to check on dates the receptionist said that she would take our booking over the phone thus cutting out Groupon. We opted for a two night stay on a bed and breakfast basis which a steak meal on one night. On arrival we were shown to our room. It was nothing like the photograph used to advertise the hotel. It was very small, the shower disn't work properly and the skylight was black with mildue. We chose to eat in the hotel on both nights paying for the first night and having the included steak meal on the second. The food was terrible. Tasted like the cooking oil had not been changed for some time. We were really not looking forward to the meal on the second night but thought what the heck. The steak came with onion rings which were again cooked in the same oil. The steak was very dry and tasteless. I asked the server for some gravy and she went to the kitchen. She returned a short time later and obviously embarrassed saif that gravy would incur an extra charge! Breakfast again was awful, appears that even the eggs were microwaved. Overall terrible experience. Advise paying a little bit more and staying elsewhere. Nightmare!

Room Tip: Heavy traffic outside hotel meaning lots of road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kilnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle1972, Manager at The Lough Erne Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hi Kilnew,

Thank you for your review. However there is a couple of statements that you made that we would like to address. If you're shower did not work correctly did you bring this to the attention if the staff so that we could try and fix the shower or give you a different room more suitable to your requirements.

The cooking oil is changed on a regular basis, especially during the peak season. You also mentioned that the steak was dry and tasteless. Many people have complimented us on our steaks and how delicious and well cooked they are. If you were not satisfied with your steak you simply had to express this to the waitress and we would have rectified it. We strive to ensure that everybody what we serve are happy and well looked after.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    39
    23
    29
    36
See reviews for
24
91
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

My mum and I bought the Groupon dral for 2 nights with dinner, bottle of wine and complimentary chocolates. Managed to stay both nights but will never be back. Very old rundown hotel. Very noisy from main road outside. Car park at rear which you have to walk down an alleyway passed the bins to get to the front door. 1 member of staff who seems to be responsible for everything. No chocolates, they'd run out. Food was awful. Overcooked and reheated. The steak was like rubber and when I asked for a salad instead of potatoes or chips I was informed they don't do salad. She reheated some vegetables from previous lunchtime! And to top off the horrendous dinner the complimentary wine was a mini bottle of red! A glassful! Wouldn't recommend to anyone. If it seems to good to be true it definitely is!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Pickgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle1972, Manager at The Lough Erne Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hi Pickgurl,

Thank you for your review. There is a couple of statements that you made that we would like to address.

We also have a car park to the front of the hotel that is available to residents so you do not have to park at the back of the hotel.

The noise of the road is not something we can control. To expect us to is a little unfair.

We also have more than one member of staff. There are several behind the scenes staff such as chefs, kitchen porters and house keepers. You may not see them but the one member of staff that you do see is not responsible for their departments. There is also barmen that come in and stay until late.

If you had an issue with the food did you bring this up with the waitress? We would have tried to rectify the situation and ensure that you were happy. You're complimentary wine would have been two bottles not just the one quarter bottle. If you were unhappy with this as well, you should have let us know so that we could try and fix the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kesh hotels

Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Bought deal via group on, very disappointed in room we were given. Very basic facilities. Box of chocolates on arrival was a box of maltesers! Noise at night was horrendous, with fighting at the rear of the hotel, right under our window, once this ended, the banging and thuds from the kitchen below continued until 4am. At 3am went down to complain, however could not find anyone there, main door was locked, no key. Thank goodness there wasn't a fire! Room 11, no bedside lights, bathroom freezing, very noisy. Unable to use shower as only a trickle of water came out, no water pressure at all. No hairdryer in room. Left after one night, although had paid for two. Car park accessed by very dark alley, have to pass bins to get to front of hotel, ground uneven and as there is no lighting this is dangerous in the dark. Two words of advice, stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Go to a better hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 120Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle1972, Manager at The Lough Erne Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hi 120Bill,

Thank you for your review. However there is a couple of statements that you have mentioned that we wish to address.

You mentioned fighting at the rear of the hotel. While we understand this was upsetting and noisy it was not a situation that was created by the hotel. The fighting was between two members of the public and once our bar staff became aware of what was going on they got the situation under control and everyone quietened down. We can only apologise for this, which we did several times the following morning at breakfast once the morning staff was made aware of what had happened.

The banging underneath your room was the night porter doing some work in the kitchen. We were unaware that he would make so much noise and when you told the receptionist the following morning she apologised several times and promised that it would not happen again.

You did bring the lack of a hair dryer and the shower to the attention of the receptionist and we appreciate this She promised to try her best to get it fixed for you. However, you stated that you would not be staying the second night. This did not give us the opportunity to rectify everything and ensure that your happiness.

There is also a car park at the front of the hotel so parking at the back is not always necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Spent two nights in the Lough Erne hotel with a friend. The lady at the front desk on arrival was polite. At first glance the hotel was very dated however it was clean. On the first night we had to leave our key at the desk if we wished to venture out, which we did and we were told the night porter would be there to let us in when we came back. We arrived back and there was no nightporter on duty and a note on the door to say who to contact in the case of an emergency. So we rang and rang and it keep going to the voice mail. Only for a local taxi driver had the number of the barman,to come let us in.. 2+ hours we spent out in the freezing cold trying to get in to the Lough Erne. God forbid what would the residents do if there was a fire and locked inside?? Next morning we went down for breakfast and what we thought was going to be a full Irish. Haa a sausage,slice of bacon, an egg and a hash brown all deep fried. Needless to say we didn't eat in the hotel again. Our complaint in the morning went unheard. I could go on but in closing the Lough Erne Hotel is Faulty Towers at its worst.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two days on a Groupon deal and really enjoyed our visit .
Tanya and Linda did everything to make us feel at home. After 6 months of business trips in anonymous chain hotels, Lough Erne was a breath of fresh Northern air!
A small hotel with a friendly, homely atmosphere, we will be back !
Things to do ?- 30 minutes drive to Belleek for the Pottery Tour - very good. Then lakeside drive to the Jolly Sandwich in Darling St ., Ennoskillen for coffee and cakes- delicious!
Fermanagh is a little - known
gem!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOeMcB_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle1972, Manager at The Lough Erne Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hi JoemcB_13,

Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate your comments and are glad you had such a lovely time. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed with my partner over the 18th & 19th October, Hotel was wasn't as expected, the girl at the front desk seemed to be in a mood or it might have just been her face I don't know, we felt as if she was raging when we arrived and felt as if we were intruding and were not welcome at all, the bar men and guy serving us our dinner on the stay were brilliant and made us feel welcome I think that may be the only positives we took from the place. Our room was quite small but nice to chill out in for a few hours if your bored and the TV has a good few channels to choose from just like a digital box.

There is not much to do as dinner stops at 8pm, there is only 1 Chinese in the area and the whole place seems dead from 9pm so make sure you get down to dinner before 8pm or you will get a dirty look and told bad luck you aren't getting fed.

Don't let this review put you off going though as half our stay was ruined because of another family whom seemed to be staying the same nights as us, They looked like something out of ''The Hills Have Eyes'' and were very loud throughout the stay. They were 2 lesbian girls, a fat guy and a fat women, we thought at first the guy was their pimp as all they did was talk about sex and just stinking things like mouth fillings and stuff,They almost put us off our breakfast luckily we ate up and went before they were sat for longer than 5 minutes and oh my god I had to hold my face from cringing every time they opened their mouth and their language was just disgusting I am just glad to get out of the air down there which had that family lingering about it..

If you do go down to this hotel, visit the little sizzling steak house across the street, the girls in there are very nice and the food was excellent.

Room Tip: Bring a set of earphones when sleeping as we were woke by 2 old women next door to us each morning a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle1972, Manager at The Lough Erne Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hi Alan,

We would like to thank you for your review and we appreciate the nice comments made about the barmen and and your room. However, we must disagree with several of your comments.

Your comments on the receptionist being "raging or it might just have been her face" borders on insulting. We try very hard to make every visitor welcome. We show everybody up to their room and ensure that they are satisfied before we leave. If you felt unwelcome all you had to do was simply bring it to the attention of the receptionist in question or any other member of staff. We strive to make everyone feel welcome, like they are at a home away from home and any feedback, whether positive or negative is taken on board.

Also, you said that dinner stops at 8pm which yes it does during the week, but you are made aware of this at check in and we are more than happy to take bookings right up until this time. We have never told anybody "bad luck you aren't getting fed". We will try and work around everyone to ensure that everybody is happy.

Finally, your comments about another family that was staying at the same time as you, are down right appalling! We at the Lough Erne Hotel do not condone or appreciate those kind of comments. If you felt that they were too loud, or too crude all you had to do was simply ask a member of staff to speak to them. We would have quietly taken them aside and asked them to converse is a quieter fashion. To say that they "looked like something out of the Hills have Eyes" is unfair to that family and extremely upsetting to them if they have read this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had a lovely time met by Tanya room was great very clean and tidy breakfast was very good and staff were very welcoming and friendly had a meal for wife and me on Tuesday .cant wait to book again lots of places to go

Room Tip: Room4 double bed two bunk beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle1972, Manager at The Lough Erne Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hi ColinL,

Thank you for the nice review. It was a pleasure having you stay and we're glad you had such a lovely time. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kesh
8.8 mi away
Lough Erne Resort
Lough Erne Resort
#5 of 7 in Enniskillen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
5.5 mi away
Mahon's Hotel
Mahon's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Irvinestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Enniskillen Hotel
The Enniskillen Hotel
#6 of 7 in Enniskillen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Westville Hotel
Westville Hotel
#2 of 7 in Enniskillen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
14.0 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
17.9 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lough Erne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lough Erne Hotel

Property: The Lough Erne Hotel
Address: 2 Main Street, Kesh BT93 1TF, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Fermanagh > Boa Island > Kesh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kesh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lough Erne townhouse hotel is a little locally run 16 bedroom building with a small but key staff who deal with our guests on a daily level, providing a more personal service that certain guests love time and time again. The Hotel is situated in the heart of Fermanagh's lakeland on the banks of the Glendurragh River 1 mile from Lough Erne itself, a warm and friendly welcome awaits you on your arrival at the Lough Erne Hotel. Our Riverside lounge and Bridgewater restaurant offers an excellent choice of menu. Regular entertainment, weekend and midweek breaks throughout the year. The Lough Erne Hotel began life as a Royal Irish Constabulary barrack in 1862. It was built by the governors of the Vaughan Charity who then owned the village of Kesh. The building cost £650 and the police paid £30 per year for rent. A year after the barrack was built it was burnt down in an accidental fire. Some repairs were done immediately but further work was carried out in 1921. For example stabling for horses that was provided behind the hotel in what is now the Glendurragh Suite. One of the RIC officers stationed in Kesh, Constable McCormick, was a very famous boxer. In fact he once fought the British Heavyweight Champion, Billy Wells. Another local man, Bob Irwin, was also a famous boxer in those days, once beating the Welterweight champion of the Rhine Army. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lough Erne Hotel Kesh, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing