We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced but nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunny Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunny Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Overpriced but nice”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We took one of the newer proper bedrooms upstairs. The rooms are like a higher-end farmer's house (nongjiayuan) but priced like a mid-range hotel. They do have (more or less) hot water and a western toilet, and they're clean but basic. What you're paying for is a gorgeous view from the large window and a chance to spend the night in a beautiful place. There are cheaper (Chinese-only) hotels in the towns, or you can stay at the international youth hostel up the road, but the views aren't as good. Jacky's next door is similar to Sunny in quality and price.

The food was typical Chinese farmer's house food, neither above nor below average, not particularly local in character, maybe just slightly expensive for what it is. They have a standard laowai breakfast that is French toast and eggs and a pancake-like thing that's not bad given where you are, or you can get made-to-order noodle soup.

Previous reviews mention the service. When we were there (August 2013), the hotel was managed by a young woman who appeared to be an outside hire and spoke both English and Putonghua well. Her performance was professional and courteous.

Room Tip: They do have rooms with views of the paddies, hopefully one is available when you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeijingAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    17
    5
    10
    4
See reviews for
5
17
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I'm really surprised after reading other reviews of this guesthouse. People,you are in rural China! If you want a luxurious place where English is spoken, stay in Beijing. Auntie is a very sweet woman who made us feel more than welcome. She took excellent care of us and was always happy to do so. The guesthouse was full of travelers from abroad and the best part of the day was sitting down together to a wonderful dinner and hearing about everyone's adventures. The view is unbelievable and the food is fresh and delicious. Yes, it will be challenging if there is no one there who speaks English, but I loved staying there and would do so again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginzagal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I have never expected of 5-star service from a guest house. But the people running the guest house were extremely rude and unfriendly. The place was filthy and rundown. It was a walking distance to the viewpoint of Duoyishu but was very remote from other tourist attractions. It was also overpriced in particular during the peak season. This might be due to some good reviews it received in the past. I could sum up my stay in one word 'bad'.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karmaexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The hostel is only a good view and nothing else, but anyway all the hostel in the zone has the same view, so is not an advantage!!, the staff is completely unfriendly, they don´t speak English, we know that in China is very common but they don´t even try!!, The rooms are less that basic, just a bed and nothing else, the common areas are nice, but uncomfortable, there was not any furniture at all...So I think is not a good place for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuanHache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I took a few days off to relax and explore rural China - I really needed a nice and remote place so I could forget all urbanity possible.
Well, Duoyishu Village is just the place. Unfortunately Sunny Guesthouse was not.

The place has an amazing location with stunning views towards the terraces - for ¥180 a night (double room with private toilet and a view).
I just thought - expensive - but the view is worthwhile so let's go for it.

The thing is, the first day was good as the owner took good care of us and warmly. But he left the next day and we were abandoned at the care of his mother which was extremely unprepared and unkind. She is the "minimum service" type of person with a "pay first" attitude - that is - you pay first and then you get the minimum service!

The toilet floor in the room was dirty and we had to fight for it to be cleaned - with a reply of "this is not a five start hotel". We also had to fight for an extra toilet paper roll.....

We were a group of 6 people, food quality was fair but scarce - for ¥30 dinner each (i.e. ¥180 total dinner cost) we got 6 small dishes and when we asked for more food we were told to "eat more rice" - and again we had to fight for an extra dish of food.....

To finish the day, 2 of us had to leave earlier and she could not care less in helping.... she was annoyed with our questions as we were interrupting her TV show. Again, we had to fight for the bus information and for a driver that would take us to the village the next morning.

To be fair, if the owner is there I think the place is an OK option. But still needs a lot of improvement in the service and warmness. Private rooms are extremely expensive for a guesthouse and certainly for the service provided which is nearly none.

Overall, the positives about this place are the location, stunning view and the super friendly dog! which was the only true welcoming resident.

In short, I do not recommend the place (unless the owner is there) and I will not go back.
Jacky's next door is a much better option - and sincerely the terrace views are at its best when walking on them!

Room Tip: if you want to stay here I would choose the dorm for ¥30 a night per person. That is a fair value...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrace31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

The location of Sunny guest house in Duoyishu village is just fantastic, right on the rice terraces, and close to many of the attractions in Yuanyang. This place also has dorms which are reasonably priced (as opposed to its private rooms which are totally overpriced) so if you're a budget traveler, most probably you will end up here, and enjoy plenty of company.

Unfortunately, it is a bit sad to ,see the great potential of this place not being used. This is mainly because of the manager, an aged Guangdong lady who is probably the most annoying person in the world. Who would give such a person to manage a guest house? The place is a bit run down, for example it has a great veranda overlooking the view, but no couch or chairs to sit on and enjoy the view... Cleanliness could also be improved.

The village is being slowly developed, so it's better to check if there are other, better places to stay in before committing to this one

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erap21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

... IN THE MIDDLE OF THE RICE TERRACCES!!

IT IS A SIMPLE GUESTHOUSE WHICH OFFERS ALL WHAT YOU NEED - in a simple local village. Very clean, good local food & service. stay there 2 nights and walk through the terracces - do not drive further as you might be adviced (like we did - but should not have done) but stay around Sunny guesthouse for walks and relaxing with a perfect view on to - no: in the middle !! - of hundreds of rice terracces!

Room Tip: one of the 4 rooms with big windows showing directly to the terracces....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rolf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yuanyang County hotels
2.4 mi away
Timeless Hostel Yuanyang
Timeless Hostel Yuanyang
#1 of 48 in Yuanyang County
74 reviews
2.4 mi away
Jacky's Guesthouse
Jacky's Guesthouse
#2 of 48 in Yuanyang County
127 reviews
2.4 mi away
Huawowo Inn
Huawowo Inn
#8 of 48 in Yuanyang County
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hongqi Guest House
Hongqi Guest House
#5 of 48 in Yuanyang County
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Flower and Horse Inn
Flower and Horse Inn
#7 of 48 in Yuanyang County
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Belinda Backpackers Guesthouse
Belinda Backpackers Guesthouse
#9 of 48 in Yuanyang County
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Guesthouse

Property: Sunny Guesthouse
Address: Puogao laozhai, Duoyishu Village, Yuanyang County 662400, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Yuanyang County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Yuanyang County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunny Guest House is the first guest house here, since 2005. This is still a poor, original and traditional village, but you can see the real true and special life, market and different minority people. You will find it is untouched by the industrialization.We are located in the middle of Village rice fields, where is the best place to see sunrise and terraces. Our guest house is country simple and environment protection, we do not want to destroy this beautiful place. At the same time we try our best to help, develop and improve the local people life until now.And recently we enlarge our place, building garden for our chicken, duck, cat and dog to live better, also for you. You see, we have a big family.We have free WIFI, heating blankets, 24 hours hot water and our restaurant.We are expecting your visit, to enjoy the beautiful place with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Sunny Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Guesthouse Hotel Yuanyang County
Sunny Guesthouse Yuanyang County, Yunnan, China

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing