We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anitpasti”
Review of La Cantinetta

La Cantinetta
Ranked #4 of 18 Restaurants in Barolo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $47
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Anitpasti”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Great experience. Just get the Antipasti for two. They bring out one great plate after another. Great service. We asked what someone at another table was having for dessert and the next thing we know it appeared at our table. No charge.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Philipll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    261
    76
    18
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very friendly service”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We went there only to drink some wine in the afternoon. We have been good served especially when they have such a big winecard it is important that somebody helps you to choose a good one. Together with the wine they served us some cheese which is pleasant. Would always go back there even for food, the people looked happy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Satisfiedlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Better than Expected”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Based on some of the previous reviews, I was a bit wary but came here anyway on the recommendation of two different locals I met during wine tasings. I had the 20 Euro tasting menu and it was all excellent - especially the raw meat. The only reason I don't grant five stars is that the service was a bit cavalier (which is typical for a busy Italian restaurant). I'd come back again in the future.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Puxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 490 helpful votes
“You're Gonna Need Something to Eat After All That Wine Tasting...”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Sooooo, we got starte early, hit up 4-5 wine tastings in Barolo before lunch. When we finally did stop to eat we were pleasantly surprised to find many of the town's wine experts sitting at tables in La Cantinetta enjoying their town lunches.

The staff attempted to accomodate our lack of Italian and spoke to us in English. They walked us through the menu and then at several points during our meal brought tastes of other dishes over to our table--offering a little culinary education as we worked our way through lunch.

The pastas we all excellent and really reasonably priced.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dining in Barolo at it's finest!”
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Based on the other recommendations listed, we ventured out to La Cantinetta. We started with a wonderful assortment of anti pasti which included duck and goose pâté on top of an amazing red onion jam and other amazing tidbits. The other reviews raved about the egg yoke ravioli and they were right. Do not miss this incredible dish! Next course gnocchi and ravioli with butter and sage. Finally, my husband had the rabbit and I had the beef in red wine. Both dishes were excellent. The waitstaff and owner were very gracious and helpful with the menu. It was a wonderful evening.

Helpful?
1 Thank JulieY94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cantinetta also viewed

Barolo, Province of Cuneo
Barolo, Province of Cuneo
 
Barolo, Province of Cuneo
Barolo, Province of Cuneo
 

Been to La Cantinetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing