We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent view on pool nd castle”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Barolo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Barolo
Ranked #7 of 10 Barolo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
134 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent view on pool nd castle”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

By all means stay in the new wing, somewhat more expensive, but worth the difference. Ask for a room with view towards the pool and castle, on clear days it is absolutely gorgeous. Rooms are old-fashioned on purpose to revive the XIXth century atmosphere, but the bathroom is modern and well equipped, the ample buffet breakfast served in very nice sorroundings, the coffee of high quality, much better than in most Italian hotels. An additional asset in a postly pedestrian town is the big parking lot for your car.

Room Tip: In new wing, with view on pool and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karoly75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    67
    35
    4
    6
See reviews for
26
55
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I had a free weekend so ventured down from Milan. I requested a room in the new section, which I received. No real character but comfortable and spotlessly clean. Wifi slow but no slower than higher grade hotels in the cities. The staff happily helped me get a booking at a local restaurant. For 80 Euros (single), a bargain.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Puxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florianopolis, SC, brazil
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I love "Barolo wine"... so, I was planning to be in Barolo Area and surfing in the net I found this hotel.
After some e-mails/quotation I decided to stay 2 nights during a weekend.
The hotel has the new and old area. I stayed at new are that has nice rooms (very big), TV, mini bar, phone, internet and a nice view.
Inside the hotel you could find "Brezza" restaurant and winery that is really great. Their barolo are good for a good price as well.
The price is quite expensive if you compared with B&B lodges on that area but if you´re going to stay a couple of days, fair enough.
Walking distances from Barolo Village.
Staff is very helpfull and service is Ok.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fredpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
189 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is the second time we have visited Barolo, both times stayed in this Hotel. The trails throughout the vineyards are amazing for runners, hickers, walkers. Location very central. Hotel very busy, quiet, clean and well managed. Family owned for generations with pride. Restaurant in the Hotel "Brezza" carries the family surname. Reasonably priced, home made pasta - many kinds- but the gnocchi to die for. Room rate that includes breakfast is well worth the upcharge.
Best rooms 303, 304. All communication via email from Canada prior to arrival without any issues.

Room Tip: Any room facing the pool is a great room as it is facing the picturesque village of Barolo
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2truv3l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Easy drive from Milan Malpensa airport into wine country. We arrived in early July and our room was stifling hot - the air conditioning was out in our wing. We asked the desk to reset the breakers but it took awhile. The front desk wasn't too helpful when information was solicited. The air conditioner went out again the next day and we had to request another reset. The pool was popular on the weekend but has some strange rules (shower cap, shoes???). They request payment for guests to use the pool on the weekend, which seemed odd.
The hotel restaurant had dinner on the veranda for the Spain-Italy football match, but went overboard with the courses. The included breakfast was average.
Wi-fi didn't work in the rooms so we had to go to reception to use our phones and computers, which wasn't convenient. There were a couple of good restaurants in the town, but little else to do.

Room Tip: Ours was on the main floor in the back and had a small balcony overlooking the breakfast area and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommyk770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The rooms in the old part of the hotel are large and pleasant, no air-conditioning so it was a bit hot.
The position is good in the town and so it is easy to get to the better restaurants.
There always seemed to be a group staying so there was a lot of noise and we had to move to a room at the back
The reception staff always seemed to be arguing and it was hard to even get a buongiorno

Room Tip: If you need aircon go to the new building but older rooms are nice otherwise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
656 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed at the new wing of the hotel. The rooms are nice although internet connection is slow. Its well located and you can easily walk into town. The hotel has its own winery and the wine is good. We had a fun wine tasting and bought some wine.

Room Tip: Ask them for the ones at the end of the hallway so you can see the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gzau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barolo
1.9 mi away
Le Torri - Hotel
Le Torri - Hotel
#1 of 2 in Castiglione Falletto
143 reviews
1.6 mi away
Corte Gondina Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
La Giolitta Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Agriturismo le Viole
Agriturismo le Viole
#1 of 10 in Barolo
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barolo Rooms
Barolo Rooms
#3 of 12 in Barolo
28 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Green Guesthouse Affittacamere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barolo

Property: Hotel Barolo
Address: Via Lomondo 2, 12060 Barolo, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Cuneo > Barolo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Barolo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Barolo 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Barolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing