We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury, Service and Relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cedar Spring Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Advance Mills
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cedar Spring Inn
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Luxury, Service and Relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2009

This is an impeccable inn, where one feels pampered and special. Charles and Judy know the definition of comfort and service, with plush towels, elegant decor and chef-creation breakfasts. Being able to wander down to the river, swing in a hammock, and watch the sunset while sipping wine on the deck were all treats. Pool and spa amenities were an extra bonus. Bravo, Cedar Spring! You set the standard for a fine B&B experience!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Met_at_Cornell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    3
    2
    2
    7
See reviews for
4
83
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
VA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2009

This was our second two night stay at Cedar Spring Inn. We were extraordinarily pleased once again. This establishment prides itself on warmth, quiet, immaculate furnishings, and the result is, of course, a relaxing stay for the lucky guests who discover its charm. The website is very accurate so anyone considering it should feel onfident in the information and that the photos actually do not fully convey the beauty of the property. This inn is a gem in Virginia wine country! It is our getaway for exploring the many varied wineries in our home state. Although I am recommending this inn wholeheartedly, there is a part of me that hopes that it remains undiscovered by the public at large. We have already made our third reservation and look forward to it with longing.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliviaonthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

We recently concluded a vacation in VA and had the good fortune to stay at Cedar Spring Inn. Judy and Charles exceed expecations in every area. The Inn and rooms are beautifully appointed and quite large. The wrap around deck provides for dining, sipping wine and relaxation. Judy and Charles are attentive but not intrusive. The attention to detail is wonderful, a weather report on a silver tray with chocolate and a turn down every nite.. We both rated the breakfast as one of the top three we have eaten at a B&B. Wine is served at 6 to enjoy on the deck. Cedar Springs is truly a cut above almost any other B&Bs that we have stayed in. A bonus, the Shenendoah area is stunningly beautiful, and you can take if all in from Cedar Spring Inn.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjdjohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2008

My husband and I decided to stay at Cedar Spring Inn for 3 days/2 nights while our son was attending a basketball camp at the Univ. of Virginia. What a delightful surprise! The Inn's location is just breathtaking. You must travel down a winding, secluded road to get to the Inn. The Inn is perched atop a cedar-lined ridge with beautiful views of the Blue Ridge Mountains. The Inn itself is lovely! The home is magnificent; tastefully decorated with large windows allowing the beauty of the environment inside. The innkeepers, Judy and Charles are also wonderful. They treat you as family and pamper you with their "attention to detail." Judy and Charles go the extra mile to make your visit memorable. From the outstanding breakfasts, to the stocked room fridge to the 6pm wine service to the nightly bed turn-down chocolates...all these extra touches make your stay so enjoyable. The built-inn pool was also a nice surprise for a B&B. It was refreshing and enjoyable to swim with such awesome views.
My husband and I would highly recommend this Inn for a relaxing, de-stressing, romantic getaway. I felt the Inn was reasonably priced for what was offered. In fact, while choosing a B&B in the Charlottesville area, most B&Bs charged much higher room rates than the Cedar Spring Inn. We will definitely return! Thank you, Judy and Charles!

  • Liked — innkeepers
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerseygirl247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensboro, Ky
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2008

After reviewing their web site and reading the reviews on tripadvisor we booked a two-night stay. It was just wonderful. The room was better then the photos on their web site. The Inn keepers were very friendly (but not too much) and helpful with restraunt selection. The Inn was lovely with beautiful views. The pool was great after a hot day at Montecello. Having a great relaxing breakfast on the porch was the start of lovely days. We didn't use the sauna or steam room but I am sure it would be nice. In cooler weather there is a fireplace on the porch. Wine was provided each evening. Breakfast was the best I have ever had. We stayed in the Charleston Room. Privacy was very nice. I just can't say enough good things about this Inn.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patellaOwensboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2008

We celebrated our first anniversary at Cedar Spring and felt we chose the perfect place to do so. The furnishings in the house and our room were absolutely to p the line. As we approached the house, we could see straight through to the other side of the yard as there are so many huge windows. Our room (Orient Expressed) was perfect--it had a huge private balcony overlooking the mountains and the pool and luxurious bedding. We took advantage of the sauna, steam room, pool and hot tub as well as the chairs set up away from the house in the perfect spot to watch the sunset. The breakfasts we had were delicious--coffee, juice, fresh fruits, homemade pastries and each day a choice of 3 main entrees--everything was presented with a fine eye for detail. The property was well maintained and we enjoyed the turn down service with the chocolates and weather forecast for the next day. Also plenty of snacks and complimentary beverages--including different wines in the evening. We loved it!

  • Liked — Luxury all around
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravenis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2008

My fiancee and I had an amazing stay at the Cedar Spring Inn recently. The house and amenities are spectacular, and the food was fantastic. I do agree with an earlier comment that Judy can come off as unfriendly, especially on the phone, but once you have a chance to speak with her you'll realize she's a very gracious host. Charles is a very friendly host too. A few minor issues (broken sink and fireplace knob). Overall, a lovely, lovely stay. I would highly recommend a stay at the Cedar Spring Inn while in the C'ville area, but make sure that stay includes a conversation to get to know your hosts.

  • Liked — wonderful views, amazing food, spectacular amenities and room
  • Disliked — unfriendly phone calll
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jordanlcoughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Advance Mills
5.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesv...
#12 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottesville - Ruckersville
8.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
#1 of 1 in Stanardsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Boar's Head
The Boar's Head
#9 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Spring Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Spring Inn

Property: Cedar Spring Inn
Address: 1871 Frays Mill Road, Advance Mills, VA 22968
Location: United States > Virginia > Advance Mills
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Advance Mills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panoramic mountain views, luxury and gracious hospitality await you. Five spacious guest rooms offer a selection of comforts: beautifully appointed King beds, private baths with soaking or jetted tubs, romantic fireplaces, private patios, private entrances. Spacious common areas feature massive fireplaces with abundant decks and patios. A country retreat on thirty-six acres of meadows and woodlands, river and stream. Unique for the special amenities of pool, spa, sauna, steam room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cedar Spring Hotel Advance Mills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing