We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely spot and wonderful rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cedar Spring Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Advance Mills
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cedar Spring Inn
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely spot and wonderful rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is a beautiful property. It is truly a modern home with a grand room that serves as the gathering area. The rooms are equal to 3-4 star hotels in terms of comfort and amenities. The grounds and pool also are also wonderful areas for a walk and relaxation. The only drawback to this Inn is that you really have to go into Charlottesville for good dining and that's 30 minutes away. This would also make a great venue for a family gathering or group get away...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwitsil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    3
    2
    2
    7
See reviews for
4
83
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is a beautiful inn! Everything about it was A+ except for the greeting we received when we showed up 1.5 hours early. My daughter was leaving for Africa for three months and I wanted to take her away before she left. I knew we would be unable to check into a room before 4pm, but wrongly assumed we could sit on a rocking chair and enjoy the quiet until then. We arrived to an angry reception and were made to feel as if we had done something terribly wrong for the remainder of the stay. To stay in an inn where you are afraid to interact with the innkeeper was troublesome, to say the least. The inn is wonderful and the breakfast was delicious. How disappointing to find the service unprofessional. We felt ill-treated. I trust you will enjoy your stay, but only if you do not arrive early.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Cedar Springs Inn & Spa ,little hard to find but well worth it.
I am now spoiled , after spending three days at the Inn with my wife. This was my first time staying at a b&b and Wow ,what a beautiful place. We stayed in the oriental room ,it was by far one of the nicest rooms I've stayed in. It came with a large bath room with more than enough towels , Plus a super large deck with a hammock , table & chairs ,and two more chairs to sit in and enjoy the view .Also the room comes with a mini refrigerator already filled with water and soft drinks. A nice touch is the chocolates and next day weather forecast placed in room every evening. The Inn also has a large heated pool ,sauna ,and steam room and a few acres to take a walk on. You can even schedule a massage . But my favorite thing about the Inn was the breakfasts . You have to experience them to understand how good they are. Judith and Charles all I can say is FIVE stars for you. One more thing would like to thank Charles for suggesting an alternative route to take home it worked out great.

Room Tip: We were in the Oriental room, would highly recommend this room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hobbo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YORKTOWN, VA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

This was our first experience at a bed-n-breakfast and we couldn't have picked a more picture perfect location. The Innkeepers Judy and Charles McBee were wonderful. The morning breakfast would rival any 5 star hotel!

Don't hesitate to add this beautiful Inn to your list!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room in the house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOVE-2-TRVL-4-FUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Wonderful two nights here at this modern bed and breakfast..no creaky floors, no thin walls, no tiny bathroom. We love doing b&b's but are often disappointed by the antiquated accommodations. This is a beautiful, large b&b with comfortable rooms, gorgeous bathrooms, and lots of great amenities.

We loved the hearty, delicious morning breakfasts on the porch overlooking the mountains. Each party had their own table (I'm more of an introvert and don't like having to sit with others for breakfast at a b&b). There was fresh baked quick bread, fruit, and a choice of four breakfast entrees (unusual for a b&b). All of it was scrumptious.

We loved the afternoon complementary wine offerings- always a nice touch.

We loved the attention to detail that the innkeepers have. Things like a well-stocked mini-fridge with a wide assortment of complementary, upscale beverages. Complementary snacks were always available in the lower-level game room. Pool towels, lounge chairs, a heated pool(so nice!), turn-down service complete with chocolates and the next day's weather forecast. I could go on!

And the innkeepers themselves were delightful. There's a fine line between innkeepers that are too overbearing and those who are hard to find when you need them. These folks were so helpful with dinner recommendations and activity suggestions but also left the house and grounds for us to enjoy for ourselves. That is just our style.

It's a very relaxing, delightful environment. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We chose the English Library room which is on the lower level with a walk out patio to the pool. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie14vball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at Cedar Springs Inn. Judy and Charles are delightful hosts. We felt very welcomed. We stayed in the “Orient Expressed” room, which was spacious and included a lovely bath. However, I think all the rooms are well appointed. We had a tour of the grounds from Judy and she filled us in on how to use the sauna and steam room. On their suggestion list of things to do was a trail ride at Oakland Heights Farm which we took our first morning there. This was after a sumptuous breakfast. All very freshly made to order selections served al fresco. The views from the porch are breath taking and the butterfly bushes were all aflutter! We had a pleasant hike around through the forested grounds. We enjoyed a swim in the pool and a trip to the steam room. The in room refrigerator was stocked with beverages and there were snacks available. Also in the room were nice robes, sandals, lots of fluffy towels, shampoos, etc. On “our” deck were a table, chairs, and a hammock. We highly recommend this charming get away!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeGe2223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando, fl
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I and 2 other couples stayed at Cedar Springs for 2 nights on a weekend into VA wine country. The accomodations were fantastic. The breakfasts were gourmet and sitting on the patio and by the pool were very relaxing. The beds were super comfortable and rooms were very nice. All in all we enjoyed the hospitality, and the relaxed sophisticiated vibe of the Inn and the innkeepers. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdtess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Advance Mills
5.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesv...
#12 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottesville - Ruckersville
8.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
#1 of 1 in Stanardsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Boar's Head
The Boar's Head
#9 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Spring Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Spring Inn

Property: Cedar Spring Inn
Address: 1871 Frays Mill Road, Advance Mills, VA 22968
Location: United States > Virginia > Advance Mills
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Advance Mills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panoramic mountain views, luxury and gracious hospitality await you. Five spacious guest rooms offer a selection of comforts: beautifully appointed King beds, private baths with soaking or jetted tubs, romantic fireplaces, private patios, private entrances. Spacious common areas feature massive fireplaces with abundant decks and patios. A country retreat on thirty-six acres of meadows and woodlands, river and stream. Unique for the special amenities of pool, spa, sauna, steam room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cedar Spring Hotel Advance Mills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing