We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch”
Review of Cedar Spring Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Advance Mills
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cedar Spring Inn
Suffolk, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Cedar Spring is absolutely gorgeous. The rooms are spotless, the grounds are beautiful, the breakfast was delicious everyday, and Judy/Charles were gracious and friendly. I would recommend this getaway to any and all couples. Very peaceful and a great location. Me and my husband are in our early 30's and we both had a fantastic time at the Inn and also in Charlottesville. I am very particular about my lodging and the food I eat and Cedar Spring did everything with excellance.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Oriental Express. Beautiful view...loved the hammock and the tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    3
    2
    3
    7
See reviews for
4
87
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, MD
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This privately situated B and B was more than I expected! The home, grounds, views, amenities and breakfasts were all 5 star. We were there mid-week and had the whole place to ourselves. Enjoyed the wine served at 6, the hot tub, the lovely mountain views from the porch rocking chairs, and the breakfasts - oh, WOW! There were coffee, tea and juices all ready to enjoy well before breakfast was served. Breakfast began with a fruit course, followed by a delicious nut bread, and a menu of 4 or 5 choices that ALL looked delicious. The food was cooked to order, fresh, healthy, and tasty. The many special touches made us feel pampered. We found the innkeepers to be very accomadating and friendly.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank considerthestars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I'm baffled by the small number of negative reviews of Cedar Spring Inn . The owners were very welcoming. Evening wine was available before 6 p.m., and I was able to pour coffee before breakfast was served in the morning. Small stinkbugs exist throughout the Charlottesville area -- we've seen them before at another B&B (after all, this is farm and pasture country!)-- but the owner told us that the inn had been recently treated. We saw only a couple of the little bugs all weekend. The inn was completely spotless.

Cedar Spring has combined traditional furnishings with contemporary interior architecture to give a spacious, airy atmosphere to the inn. We seek out B&B's with a contemporary flair and tend to avoid the Victorian ruffles-and-doilies clutter. Cedar Spring would appeal both to the traditionalist and modern guest.

Special touches were the breakfast menu and the day's weather note set in our room each evening. It was nice to have a choice of breakfast entrees, all delicious. We also loved the heated pool and hot tub. There's a walking path that goes around the property, where you can pass a small stream and cabin. In the downstairs common room there is a shelf of DVDs to play on the wide-screen TV. A variety of snacks is available in the common room and in the private suites.

We especially appreciated Judy's suggestion to visit Early Mountain Winery. We were in the area to visit several wineries and to attend the Monticello Wine Festival. Early Mountain is unique among the many wineries in the area.

As for the comments about the hosts' rudeness -- this was not our experience. Judy and Charles are very welcoming. We would certainly return to Cedar Spring Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dmnickel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Yes, this is a gorgeous B&B in a beautiful, peaceful setting. No question about that. However, when recently staying here with four female friends - all professionals in our 50's - we were made to feel like misbehaving teenagers before we even got to our rooms. When repeatedly told that they had "had trouble with groups of women in the past," I sensed that we had perhaps chosen poorly. We had. We were instructed to gather on the lower level so as not to disturb the other guests......then we were told we were talking too loudly, the host could hear us upstairs. Well, yes, there is an open staircase from the lower to upper levels. You would hear a cat meow, of course you will hear people talking. We were in bed by 9 each night so there was no cause for concern. When approaching the kitchen counter at 5:50 pm to pour a glass of the wine that was out for guests, one of us was told that "wine is served at 6. It's not 6 yet." What???? Really???? We were told not to "drag our suitcases on the wood floor" before we were even through the door..... refused cream for coffee at 7:50 because "it's still in the fridge, coffee is served at 8" - coffee was brewed and ready.....we were told there was "no talking on the main floor of the living area before 8 am" - this was the response when one of us greeted the host with a friendly "good morning!" at 7:50 am.
One of the main reasons I choose to stay at B&Bs is to meet interesting people - both the hosts and other guests. These hosts NEVER interacted with us in a cordial manner the entire weekend. We did, of course observe them in deep, interesting conversations with the "couples" that were staying there. They chatted over breakfast...asked about their daily activities... learned about their careers.....and on and on.
Needless to say, we were sorely disappointed by the hospitality. The hosts clearly think alot of themselves as evidenced by their bio. It really is a shame that they did not bother to get to know us...... a therapist....a doctor.....two nurses....an author & public speaker...... We are not 5 misbehaving teenagers.
Please Judy.....DO NOT ACCEPT RESERVATIONS FROM GROUPS IN THE FUTURE. YOU ARE NOT INTERESTED IN HAVING THEM. IT IS NOT FAIR TO YOUR GUESTS WHO SPEND A LOT OF MONEY TO COME TO CEDAR SPRING INN FOR HOSPITALITY.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This bed and breakfast is a beautiful contemporary home, immaculately maintained in a gorgeous natural setting. The food was exquisite. So you may ask, why a rating of one? It is because of the less then welcoming vibe we received as a group of 5 women. There just was no love. After driving in the rain we arrived and before our bags were in the door we were told not to drag them on the wooden floors. We were then told that the innkeepers had problems with groups of women and could we settle up in advance. Still standing in our wet coats we were given a set a rules that took about 20 minutes to review. No smiles, no welcomes, no wine, no rest for the weary. The rest of the weekend we were made to feel we were too loud for the other guests (I don't think we were and we were in bed by 9:00), we watched as the innkeepers interacted with the other guests (all couples), and when I asked for coffee at 7:50 was told the cream wasn't out yet. When I said goodbye, they might as well have said, Good riddance. It is fine to want to have a quiet bed and breakfast that caters to couples, but innkeepers, if you are reading this, don't accept group reservations and money if you can't give the love. Many of us go to b & b's to feel the warmth and welcome of interesting hosts.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fannychup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We just came back from this truly wonderful place - the views are beautiful, the amenities fantastic, the breakfast simply incredible and the owners are very nice, extremely helpful and they made our stay unforgettable with all their attention for little beautiful details (turn-down service at night, little card with next day´s weather, complementary wine, coffee, tea and water, an own little strawberry-bread for each table at breakfast...). We will DEFINITELY go again soon. Absolutely recommendable!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma03_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is one of THE best B&B's at which I've stayed. Judy and Charles are great people and make the stay so much more enjoyable. Their attention to detail (nice menu for breakfast, flashlights on the room key chains, next day weather on your pillow at turn-down service) makes this place fantastical.

The breakfasts options I've had -- ultra delicious. Let's see: Pancakes, the most fluffy omelets I've ever eaten, waffles, homemade baked bread (strawberry is the best!!). I could go on and on.

The place is small enough to feel quaint, but large enough where you feel like you're part of a bigger and more modern experience (interacting with guests, experiencing other parts of the house besides your room, midnight treats in the kitchen, pool, sauna.)

I highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: Any room is great. However, Orient Expressed is probably the most lovely. The music that plays in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HapyKatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Advance Mills
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottesville - Ruckersville
5.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesv...
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,365 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
905 reviews
9.1 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
8.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Spring Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Spring Inn

Property: Cedar Spring Inn
Address: 1871 Frays Mill Road, Advance Mills, VA 22968
Location: United States > Virginia > Advance Mills
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Advance Mills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panoramic mountain views, luxury and gracious hospitality await you. Five spacious guest rooms offer a selection of comforts: beautifully appointed King beds, private baths with soaking or jetted tubs, romantic fireplaces, private patios, private entrances. Spacious common areas feature massive fireplaces with abundant decks and patios. A country retreat on thirty-six acres of meadows and woodlands, river and stream. Unique for the special amenities of pool, spa, sauna, steam room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cedar Spring Hotel Advance Mills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing