We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveler rating
76
29
5
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
29
5
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews warm water marble cake other places a great place to stay home away from home living room green salad caves shoes el puesto puerto tamara tours glacier wifi cooking
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 116 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2018

One of our most unforgettable experiences. We were treated like VIPs as soon as we met our friendly guide aptly named Macarena aka “Maca”
We were a small group and the other couple that were with us were very helpful with translating the information that Maca freely shared with us on the way up to the glacier.
Before we started our hike out to the glacier, we stopped to get our gear at their base camp in the mountains. We packed our ice crampons, snow gaiters, sunglasses, sunblock, gloves, helmets and of course snacks. We brought only a little bit of water as Maca told us we could drink the glacier water!! We were looking forward to that!
She double checked our gear, made sure we were suitably dressed for the weather and off we went. We were impressed with how professional everything about our tour was.
But of course, seeing and hiking on an actual glacier was the highlight. And we were overwhelmed with views we saw… it was one amazing view after another!
Thank you El Puesto Expediciones for the awesome experience!

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2018

The pros: staff very helpful, tours can be arranged from there, place very nice and the breakfast was delicious!
The cons: A lot of rules, you feel more like be invited by a complicated aunt, than be paying for a hotel.
Probably It's hard to explain.... but despite that this is a very nice hotel, we didn't felt comfortable. The first thing is that they are very "green" which is a good thing, but maybe they are too green for me. They "ask to" follow their rules wich are: not use shoes in the hotel (they provide slippers), "try" to save water (the ideal is take showers not more than 7 minutes) since they use solar heaters (try to take showers in the night, in the morning you will need to wait a lot for warm water!).
Besides there's Wifi, but please do not use facebook, whatsapp, or instagram (ok, I will load a page from the 90's with just text....really?)
Again...not a bad place, but just we didn't felt like in a real hotel.

Room Tip: try to get a room in the second floor, or at the end of the corridor for less noise.
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rodrigo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2017 via mobile

A family hotel
Very nice decoration
Hospitality is at deferent level. Every morning a table with our names waited for us. Anything we ask for, response immediately answer
The none shoes hotel is very nice
The WiFi must be improved

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank yuval s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara Cynthia U, Director General at Hostal El Puesto, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2017
Google Translation

Estimada,

Nos alegra le haya gustado nuestro lugar y cualquier cosa que podamos mejorar hacemos el mayor esfuerzo dentro de las posibilidades.
Lamentablemente la conexión WIFI es no es la optima dado que el proveedor de este servicio, no tiene mas capacidad en el pueblo. Somos una región que recién se esta conectando al mundo y llega muchas mas personas conectadas de lo que permite la instalación en la localidad. Un tiempo tuvimos conexion satelital y fue peor, lamentablemente no tenemos muchas mas opciones.
Hemos pensado que quizás es mejor no ofrecer servicio Wifi e invitar a la desconexion Total de los visitantes, ya que muchas veces esto frusta a las personas. Ud Cree sera mejor no ofrecerlo?
Muchas gracias y cualquier otra mejora que podamos realizar bienvenida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2017

We stayed here for two nights, a homely, comfortable hostal. Reasonable sized room. Lots of hot water. Wifi is patchy, as it is throughout Patagonia. I would say it is the best place to stay in Puerto Rio Tranquilo.

The breakfast is plentiful. We chose to eat hear. Cooking is good complimented by the beautiful green salad, fresh from the garden. We thought the meal was a little expensive though but that seems par for the course throghout our stay. (£20 for two courses and fruit for dessert). It is approaching the end of the season so many other places seemed shut.

If you want, the hostal can arrange tours. We took a boat trip to the marble caves. Reasonable price as the boat was full. Otherwise, try the kiosks along the lake shore. I expect they are similar prices.

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPuesto, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal El Puesto, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2017

Thanks for your comments!
Is very important for us to know that you had a great experience with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2017

For kayaking (a 2+hour trip at 42,000 CLP) we used El Puesto and had a great guide with Diego. He was very knowledgeable and had a lot of experience with Kayaks. I would strongly suggest kayaking over a small boat. it was much more peaceful and you could actually navigate through the caves themselves instead of just near them. They also offer ice hiking and tours of Parque San Rafael and the glaciers there as well as rafting, sailing and fishing in the lake. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bgg_bgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews